frederick


Search St Joseph Memory Lane's Website
Need help finding a person, business, address or a thing?
Just type one or more words for a fast search
NOTE: Search does not work for DECEASED CLASSMATES
index sitemap advanced
site search by freefind

Click on a thumbnail to view a photo
NOTE:Some photos may require an extra click to view a larger photo

8th & FELIX INTERSECTS




Circa 1900
Frederick, Felix & 8th Street Intersection

Originating at the intersection of Eighth Street and Felix Street, Frederick Avenue cuts through a variety of business and residential sections of St. Joseph. At Twenty-fifth Street, the avenue changes dramatically from a bustling commercial strip to a residential street






Aerial View of Frederick Avenue

This photo is a postcard showing Frederick Avenue from 8th to about 14th Street
The Pony Express statue has not yet been installed but the new City Hall is visible
Circa: sometime between 1926 and 1939






8th & FREDERICK
CIRCA: 1909

A 1909 parade photo taken at 8th & Frederick Avenue




1 2 3 4

Schroer's Drug Store
801 Felix
Demolished during Urban Renewal

Photo #1 - Looking north at 8th & Felix - Frederick Avenue begins on the right
Photo #2 - Schroer's visible behind the young lady's head
Photo #3 - Looking northeast up Frederick Avenue. All buildings were destroyed during Urban Renewal
Photo #4 - Looking north at 8th & Felix - Frederick Avenue begins on the right




First Federal Savings & Loan
802 Frederick
Demolished during Urban Renewal




Circa 1955
One Hour Cleaners
803 Frederick
Demolished during Urban Renewal




St Joseph Beauty University
805½ Frederick
Demolished during Urban Renewal






Circa 1900
Whitham Brothers Grocery
Circa 1918
Kaul Grocery
Circa 1953
Schultz Photography Studio
807 Frederick
Demolished during Urban Renewal




Circa 1900
Felix Muleski Meats
Circa 1953
Cosmopolitan Shoe Repair #2
809 Frederick
Demolished during Urban Renewal






Circa 1900
Charles Chestnut Hardware & Tinware
Circa 1953
Sherwin-Williams Paint Company
Circa 1958
One Hour Cleaners
811 Frederick
Demolished during Urban Renewal







UNION BUS DEPOT
813 Frederick
Demolished during Urban Renewal




Circa 1900
Amos Davenport Barbershop
Circa 1908
Kinodrome Silent Movie Theater
814 Frederick Avenue

Known to be in operation in 1908
Information submitted by Terry Plumb




1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21

Circa 1927
FIRST STATE BANK
KFEQ RADIO BUILDING
BARTLETT BUILDING
HOWITT BUILDING
815 Felix
814 Frederick
Demolished during Urban Renewal

The First State Bank occupied this building in 1927

This building shared Felix & Frederick Streets thus also shared 2 addresses

Numerous committees fought to save this unique building during Urban Renewal

The Bartlett Trust Company was located in this building in the 1920's

Listed in the 1953 city directory as the KFEQ building
KFEQ radio station occupied the 4th floor

It was also once the home of KUSN radio station
(Affectionally also known as Kissin' KUSN)

Home Savings and Loan is known to have had their office here in 1962

Because of the 1970's Urban Renewal program, a rarely used and defective municipal parking lot now consumes some of this area

Photo #1 - Taken right before the wrecking ball began
Photo #2 - Taken right before the wrecking ball began
Photo #6 - 1922 advertisement for The Barlett Trust Co
Photo #9 - The razing of the Howitt Building
Photo #10 - 1962 newspaper Home Savings advertisement
Photo #12 - 1972 newspaper photo prior urban renewal
Photo #13 - 1947 advertisement for the KFEQ building
Photo #14 - J Wesley Koch KFEQ Radio station manager standing by the new FM antenna in 1945
Photo #15 - KFEQ Radio operator, Guy Saxton, who later started Cool Crest Garden Golf
Photo #16 - KFEQ Radio operator, Jacqueline Jackson-Ritter
Photo #17 - John Schraufek (standing) and Mike Fisher (seated) in the master control room at KFEQ-TV
Photo #18 - A popular quartet on KFEQ radio called Natural Quartette in the early 1900's
Photo #19 - First Banks advertisement - First State Bank was in this building in 1927
Photo #20 - The folks who entertain you on KFEQ radio
Photos #1,2 that I took before Urban Renewal razing began
Photos #3,4 & 5 submitted by Dave Sietzen
Photo #18 submitted by Leslie Harrison Wyman, great niece of Ezra Harrison




KFEQ Building
814 Frederick
Demolished during Urban Renewal

In 1953, this was the home of KFEQ radio, which was located on the 4th floor
Many companies had their offices in this 5 story building






Circa 1900
L. B. Marchain Saloon
Circa 1953
Ellinger Sporting Goods
815 Frederick
Demolished during Urban Renewal

Christian Ellinger Proprietor
In the sporting good business for 43 years when ad came out
Ellinger must have a shop earlier at another address




Circa 1900
J. N. James & Son Coal Company
Circa 1953
Elliot Marshall Insurance
816 Frederick
Demolished during Urban Renewal





American Auto Insurance
816 Frederick
Demolished during Urban Renewal




Central Surety Insurance
816 Frederick
Demolished during Urban Renewal




Barrow Brothers Investments
816 Frederick
Demolished during Urban Renewal




Circa 1900
Oscar Pash Wallpaper
Circa 1953
Branson Furnace
817 Frederick
Demolished during Urban Renewal






Circa 1913
GEORGE F. LEAPER HARDWARE
817 Frederick Avenue
Demolished during Urban Renewal





Gramer & Bullock Real Estate
818 Frederick
Demolished during Urban Renewal




Glen Venable Insurance
818 Frederick
Demolished during Urban Renewal




American Jersey Cattle Club
818 Frederick
Demolished during Urban Renewal




Circa 1900
Williams & Carroll Horse Shoe'rs
Circa 1953
Anderson Typewriter Co
820 Frederick
Demolished during Urban Renewal




Circa 1900
Gus Schumacher Grocery
Circa 1953
Davis Brothers Insurance
821 Frederick
Demolished during Urban Renewal




Circa 1900
Frederick Tietjen Shoemaker
Circa 1953
Eugene Loyd Insurance
822 Frederick
Demolished during Urban Renewal




Farmers Insurance Group
822 Frederick
Demolished during Urban Renewal




Pearl Nu-way Laundry
823 Frederick
Demolished during Urban Renewal




Ed's TV & Appliance
824 Frederick
Demolished during Urban Renewal




Bansbach Building
825 Frederick
Demolished during Urban Renewal




Circa 1900
David Waldron Contractor & Builder
826 Frederick
Demolished during Urban Renewal




Circa 1900
Charles Vogel Saloon
827 Frederick
Demolished during Urban Renewal




9th & Frederick1 9th & Frederick2 9th & Frederick3 9th & Frederick4 9th & Frederick3

Circa 1910
RED CROSS PHARMACY
RUDOLPH'S RED CROSS PHARMACY
837 Frederick Avenue
Demolished during Urban Renewal

In 1910, D. E. Curtain and H. L. Perkins obtained ownership of the pharmacy
The last owners of this drug store were Victor and Louis Randolf
The Rudolfs had operated this drug store for 45 years

It was one of the few in the world allowed to use the name Red Cross
The drug store had been in operation for 95 years. It was founded before the chartering of the Red Cross, the international aid organization so it was able to use the name Red Cross

In 1972, the city filed an eviction action against the Red Cross Pharmacy because the Urban Renewal Program was wanting the city block on which the drug store was located for parking purposes

The remainder of the block in which the drug store was located had already been acquired by the urban renewal authority

Rather than relocating to another location, the Rudolfs just went out of business
I am sure it is missed by many people

Thomas W. Paul was the 1972 Urban Renewal executive director

This was a block that was bounded by Felix, Francis and 9th Streets

Both of the 2 photos are views looking westward from 9th & Francis

Photo #1 submitted by Zet Miller
Photo #3 - January 2, 1910 "Notice of new ownership"
Photo #4 - The Red Cross Pharmacy sign comes down




1 2 3

Gard Business University
514 Francis
9th & Frederick
Demolished during Urban Renewal

Gards was originally at 514 Francis Street in the Pioneer Building

Gard Business University later moved across from the Trail theater on 9th Street

Urban Renewal removed this entire block of buildings. The city created a large parking lot consuming the block. The upper level has been deemed unsafe and has been blocked off now for many years. The city is still debating what to do about it

As per photo #2, 9th Street was a 2 way street when the photo was taken



9th & FRANCIS INTERSECTS



1 2 3 Western Auto4 5 6 7

PLATTE'S COMMERCIAL COLLEGE
YWCA
9th & Frederick
9th & Felix
3131 Frederick Ave
Demolished during Urban Renewal

Until Urban Renewal, this collage was located at 9th & Frederick
At one time, the YWCA was also located in this building
This business College moved to the NE corner of 9th & Felix, see photo #4
In 1986, Platt College moved again to 3131 Frederick




1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15


Circa 1940
PONY EXPRESS STATUE
Civic Center Park
10th & Frederick

The Pony Express Statue was unveiled on April 21, 1940

The Pony Express Statue resides on a small triangular shaped park bounded by 9th & 10th streets and Frederick Avenue & Francis Street

The sculptor was Herman Macneil (see photo #12)

Photo #1 - 2008 looking north from Faraon
Photo #2 - 1955 photo - buildings removed during Urban Renewal
Photo #3 - Pony Express Statue
Photo #4 - Pony Express Statue
Photo #5 - 1994 Harley Davidson H.O.G. members, my wife and I are in this photo
Photo #6 - Pony Express Statue
Photo #7 - Pony Express Statue
Photo #8 - Pony Express Statue
Photo #9 - Pony Express Statue
Photo #10 - April 21, 1940, unveiling of the statue
Photo #11 - Pony Express Statue
Photo #12 - Sculptor was HERMAN MACNEIL, April 1940 unveiling
Photo #13 - Proposed Pony Express Memorial
Photo #14 - Pony Express Statue before Sammy's was built






Circa 1899
THE UHLMAN STUDIO
Corner of 9th & Frederick/Francis
Demolished during Urban Renewal

Photo - 1899 Advertisement






Circa 1885
Meaher & Gleason Grocery House
Circa 1900
Henry P. Lutz Grocery & Saloon
Circa 1953
Five Corners Bar & Grill
901 Frederick
Demolished during Urban Renewal

Originally opened by Meaher & Gleason, this grocery business was purchased in 1900 by Henry P. Lutz
Henry Lutz, age 30, was born in St Joseph
It was one of the best known grocery and saloons in town
Lutz served only the best quality liquors and beers
He sold only imported fancy groceries
It was a 2 story brick building, 25 feet by 125 feet long
Mr Lutz occupied the lower floor and the basement
It later became the Five Corners Bar & Grill




Circa 1900
Pugh Brothers Coal & Wood
Circa 1953
Manning's Grocery & Parking Lot
902 Frederick

Currently a new Taco Bell occupies this area






Circa 1900
Henry Lutz Fancy Groceries
Circa 1953
Best-All Dry Cleaners
903 Frederick
Demolished during Urban Renewal

Best-All Cleaners can be seen on the lower left in this photo
All of the businesses in this photo are now gone
Notice that the Pony Express Statue has not yet been installed




Joseph Marshall Dentist
903½ Frederick
Demolished during Urban Renewal




1 2

Circa 1900
A. O. Haeglin Bakery
Circa 1950
Model Supply Shop
905 Frederick Avenue
Demolished during Urban Renewal

Back in the 1950's, I used to buy my model airplanes here
Was one of the building demolished during Urban Renewal
Photo - 1955 Advertisement






Circa 1913
SCHMIDT BAKERY
905 Frederick Avenue

Schmidt Bakery had 2 locations




Circa 1900
George Acklam Harness Shop
906-908 Frederick
Demolished during Urban Renewal




Circa 1900
Arnold Imobersteg Saloon
Circa 1953
Quality Sewing Machine Co
907 Frederick
Demolished during Urban Renewal




Circa 1900
Emma Jacobs Men's Furnishings
Circa 1930's
MELROSE MARKET
Circa 1953
CARL'S GOLDEN GLOW BEAUTY SHOP
909 Frederick Avenue
Demolished during Urban Renewal

In the early 1930's, Giuseppe "Joe" Manganaro moved his Italian grocery store from 807 Francis to 909 Frederick Avenue
By the early 1950's, Carl's Golden Glow beauty shop had occupied this location
Information submitted by Jeff Soto, Manganaro's great grandson




910 frederick

Circa 1930
Mellinger Tire & Rubber Company
910 Frederick
Demolished during Urban Renewal




Circa 1900
I. F. Trapp Meats
Circa 1953
Ring Side Grill
915 Frederick
Demolished during Urban Renewal




Civic Center News Stand
917 Frederick
Demolished during Urban Renewal

This was a very little shop that was jammed from floor to ceiling with new & used magazines, books and newspapers. It was a neat place to browse




Pony Express Barber Shop
907 Frederick
Demolished during Urban Renewal




1 2 3 4 5

Circa 2017
ST JOSEPH CONVENTION & VISITOR CENTER
911 Frederick




New Yorker

Circa 1900
John Woolman Shoemaker
Circa 1953
New Yorker Cafe & Tavern
923 Frederick
Demolished during Urban Renewal

Once located at 923 Frederick
In later years, it moved to Faraon, between 9th & 10th streets, behind Manning's Market




New Yorker

Circa 1900
Walter Kennedy Hardware & Seeds
Circa 1915
Zerbst Pharmacy
925 Frederick
Demolished during Urban Renewal




10th & JULES INTERSECTS



1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

10th to 11th & Frederick Avenue

Most buildings in these photos are now gone
The old YMCA can be seen at the far right side
The aerial photo was taken before Urban Renewal

Photo #1 - Pony Express Statue and a few buildings in the 900 block of Frederick
Photo #2 - A new Hardees now occupied this entire area
Photo #4 - YMCA and First Christian Church at 10th & Faraon
Photo #7 - Sammy's Drug Store - now a small park at this location
Photo #8 - Aerial view of the area




1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Circa 1946
SAMMY'S DRUG & PRESCRIPTION SHOP
1001 Frederick Avenue

There was an Art Deco sign on the southwest corner of the building and the combination of red and buff brick divides the building into segments. The building was enlarged in 1966 at which time the original show windows were bricked up.
Sam Freed was a long time pharmacist in the city, having worked for Herman Drug Company for a number of years before going into business for himself and building this building.
Sammy's Drug Store was once located at 10th & Frederick
At the time, it was one of the most popular in St Joseph
In the 1980's, it was purchased by St Joseph Plasma Center
When the Plasma Center closed, it sat empty for many years
The building was razed in 2014 and currently a parking lot




Risler's Music Shop
1005 Frederick

No longer exists




Prompt Printing
1007 Frederick

No longer exists




Thorton Cash
1009½ Frederick

No longer exists






Circa 1955
Crescent Hotel & Bar Supply
Metro Enterprises Television
1011 Frederick

No longer exists




Pollock Model Shop
1011 Frederick

They also owned Pollock Refrigeration Service at the same location
In later years, Morris & Robert Pollock reopened a Model Shop at 10th & Sacramento
The brothers also had their refrigeration service at new Sacramento location
No longer exists




10th & Frederick1 10th & Frederick2

Conard Grocery
W. A. Moskau A-G
1013 Frederick Avenue

Raymond and Will Conard lived in St. Joseph between about 1912-1917
They owned and operated Conard Grocery at 1013 Frederick Avenue
W. A. Moskau A-G was known to be in operation at this address in 1926
The structure no longer exists

Photo #1 - Inside view of Conard Grocery
Photo #2 - Will Conard and Raymond Conard
Photos submitted by Gordy and Juanita Conard Larson




Circa 1893
Schall's Monument Works
Launderette
1015 Frederick

No longer exists






Circa 1870's
The Civic Center Building
Various Drug Stores
John B. Ryan Butcher Shop
Jackson Plumbing Company
HFC Loans
Bray Studio
1019-1027 Frederick

This building was apparently built in four different segments, but the building has been altered to the point that separate identities are difficult to prove. There is a combination of facade changes and alterations which disguise the original appearance of the building.
The earliest section of this building is that at the corner and was probably built in the 1870's William Grill, who was listed in City Directories as selling toys, notions fancy goods and operating a saloon. For over 60 years, this building was a drug store, although operated by a number of different firms.
The west two sections of the building were probably built in the mid-1880's by Frank Werst. Werst operated a saloon in an earlier building on this lot and was the owner of this part of the lot in the 1870s and 1880s.
HFC, Jackson Plumbing and Bray Photography studio were 3 known companies occupying this building
The building has been razed and now no longer exists




1 2 3 4 5 6

Circa 1938
Bray Studio
9th & Frederick
1027 Frederick
H & R Block
1027 Frederick

Bray Studio did all of Central High Yearbooks from 1958-1962
The business was sold to an employee, Ronald Fleckal
The building has been since remodeled and is currently occupied by H & R Block

Photo #1 - Mr Cecil Bray
Photo #2 - Bray's 1027 Frederick Avenue window
Photo #3 - Photo envelope showing address as 9th & Frederick, a previous address
Photo #4 - Photo envelope showing address as 9th & Frederick, a previous address






G. Keinle Bakery
Herman Drug Store #2
1021-1031 Frederick




Avenue Primary

Circa 1874-1877
Avenue Primary School
Frederick Avenue, between 10th & 11th

Circa 1874-1877
North Side Frederick, between 10th-11th Streets
Was located across from present City Hall



11th STREET INTERSECTS





Circa 1940
Civic Center Park
11th & Frederick




1 2

Circa 1926-l927
St. Joseph City Hall & Civic Center Park
11th & Frederick

In the late l920's, there was a building boom in the city, at this time, the boulevard system was constructed, the Missouri Theater was erected and this building replaced an 188S City Hall in Market Square.
The architects were Edmund and George Eckel and Will Aldrick.
The Civic Center Park was a part of the George Burnap master plan for the City and the boulevard system.
The grounds were to contain a music hall and art gallery, but they were never completed.






Frederick Ave 11th-12th

Frederick Avenue
11th Street to 12th Street

Businesses between 11th & 12th on the north side of Frederick Avenue
Photo was submitted by Rodney Keyes




A-1 Appliance Co
1101-1107 Frederick






Circa 1914
Diamond Motor Company
Arnold Strong Motor Company
Roys M. B. Motor Company
Dodge - Plymouth Authorized Dealer
St Joseph Surgical Supply
1102 Frederick Avenue

Built in 1914 for the Diamond Motor Company
The building was enlarged in 1934 by the Arnold-Strong Motor company and in 1958 by the M.B. Roys Motor Company
The latter addition was concrete block
This building was built for one of the early automobile distributorships
Went through several ownership changes
For many years, it was the location of the Dodge and Dodge-Plymouth dealership
It has been the location of St. Joseph Surgical Supply since 1972
This was once the site of the first Nunning Brewery
From 1908 to 1917, this block was the location of the Airdome, a popular outdoor summer theater. It was the Airdome which attracted the Dubinsky Brothers (Durwood brothers) to St. Joseph in 1916. However, they stayed because of the availability of the Tootle theater





Loss Shoe Repair
1105 Frederick






Circa 1900
NASON PAINT STORE
NELSON ELECTRIC
1109 Frederick






Circa 1895
Frank Scalisi Building
F P Lee Cycle Company
1111 Frederick

Typical of the buildings along the length of Frederick Avenue
There is a shop on the first floor and residence on the second.
The building was probably built by Frank and Mary Eichenlaub, he was a barber and she was confectioner.
They purchased this lot in l895
The first owners of the lot were Henry & William Krug of the Krug meat processing industry





1 2

Circa 1900
LONG BRANCH TAVERN
1113 FREDERICK AVE

The Long branch Tavern, 1113 Frederick, resides just west of Norty's Tavern
This building was built by Theodore Fowler back in 1900
Theodore Fowler was in the real estate business
His father was William Fowler, one of the very earliest of the settlers in the Platte Purchase
William Fowler was the proprietor of the first hotel in the fledgling city of St. Joseph
This building has previously been used as a restaurant during its long life





1
Circa 1880
The McNair Building
Fred Voss Tavern
Modern Shade Shop
1115 Frederick

This building appears on the 1883 Sanborn map as a saloon. In 1881, the City Directory lists Fred Voss, early owner of this lot as a saloon keeper on the north side of Frederick between ll and 12th, later the saloon keepers at 1115 Frederick are Fred Hageman and Ferdinand Walter






Circa 1920
Producer's Oil Company
Acme Radiator Service
1116 Frederick

The building has a tile roof. The area which originally was the gasoline island has been closed-in
This building was constructed by Producer's Oil Company in 1920
This was the earliest gas station located Frederick and is of the decade which began the Automobile Age
Thus is representative of those first "service stations"
It was used as a filling station until World War II when it served as a used car lot for Roy's Motor Company
At the close of the War it was converted into the radiator shop and served as such for many years since that time
This block is the site of the first Nunning Brewery in the 19th Century and of the Airdome Summer Theater early in this century




1 2

Circa 1879
LOG CABIN BAR
Circa 1879
CABINET SHOP
Circa 1883
CARPENTER SHOP
Circa 1889
L.W. BERTRAM CONFECTIONERY
NORTY'S BAR & GRILL
1117 FREDERICK AVENUE

Norty's Tavern currently sits to the right of the Long Branch
Norty's used to reside at 24th & Messanie until burned down
The 1883 Sanborn map shows this as a carpenter shop
It lists J.W. Wilson at 1117 as a carpenter
1879, Martin Amann, a cabinet maker, is listed on the north side of Frederick
By 1889, L.W. Bertram owned this building and ran a confectionery
Their residence was upstairs. The Bertram family owned the property until the 1920s






Circa 1896
DR. JOHN AUSTIN'S OFFICE
ALBERT LaTOUR TAILOR
1119 Frederick

This building was built by Dr. John Austin, whose residence was behind and to the east of this structure
Dr Austin, whose office had been in the Westheimer building further west on Frederick Avenue, moved his office to the second floor and rented the first floor to various businesses
Dr John Austin, a native of DePeyster, New York, was born in 1843 came to St Joseph after the Civil War
Dr Austin was one of St. Joseph's leading dentists






Circa 1879
Dr. John Austin' House
1123 Frederick

Dr. James Austin whose home this was as early as 1879, was one of the city's leading dentists in the latter part of the 19th Century, and the early part of the 20th Century.
His daughters, Florence, who was a teacher and Deedie Mae, who was a journalist, were two of the outstanding "career women" of the city during the first half of the century
This is the only remaining house fronting Frederick Avenue until past 26th Street
It sits back from the street about 250 feet




1 2

Circa 1913
Automobile Garage
Willis-Lucas Cadillac
Till & Speaker Auto Works
Scanlan Motorcycles
1125 Frederick

This building was constructed in 1913 as an automobile garage.
The earliest tenants were auto supply firms.
From 1933 to 1942, this building was occupied by Willis,Lucas Cadillac Company.
Lawrence Lucas had secured the Cadillac dealership in 1918 from the Robinson Motor Company.
Mr. Lucas's son Stan was the Cadillac dealer in St. Joseph
Scanlan's Motorcycle firm is of interest because they followed a pattern similar to many Frederick Avenue merchants.
This is one of three Avenue locations of the firm.
From 1926 to 1932, the firm was at 1928-1930 Frederick, and from 1956 to 1972, they were located at 1316 Frederick.




1 2 3 4

Circa 1889
The Ryan Block
John B. Ryan Meat Market
H & S Market
Frank's Market
Hafner Hy-Klas #16
Al's Market
Steven's Cleaners
1137-1139-1141 Frederick

There was an oriole at the southeast corner of the building. This structure originally had a conical tower. The first floor had a cast metal store front and there is a raised brick string course between the first and second floors. There was pattern bond brick detailing between the second and third floors. The windows had stone lugoills and radiating voussoir window headers
This building was built by John B. Ryan who was a butcher with a butcher shop at 1027 Frederick
After construction, John B. Ryan moved his meat market into the west section and leased the other store front to a grocer. There have been many tenants throughout the years, many of them being food stores.
The apartments were lived in by the merchants who occupied the store fronts. The Greenes occupy an apartment on the second floor of their section of the building, the rest of the upper floors are now vacant.
The building is currently being restored by someone
Photo #3 submitted by Rodney Keyes



12th STREET INTERSECTS





Looking west from 12th & Frederick Avenue







Circa 1906, 1909, 1916
Morgan Building
Birkes Building
Filter Queen
Cook Gas, Plumbing & Heating Supply
1201-1209 Frederick

This building was probably built in three sections by Eljah M. Birkes, beginning in 1906.
Building permits show probable additions in 1909 and 1916.
Birkes was the early owner and continued ownership until the 1930's.
At the turn of the century, Birkes was involved in real estate, with an office in the German American Bank Building




1 2 3

Circa 1899
William Berndt Furniture store
Circa 1940's
Hartsock Osteopathic Hospital
Flinchpaugh's Pet Shop
1202 Frederick Avenue

As early as 1877, William Berndt is shown as living on this tract of land. By 1899, the City Directory lists William Berndt, Furniture, 1202 Frederick, residence same. In the 1940's, this was the Hartsock Osteopathic Hospital.
If you look closely at photo #3, you can see a CAFE sign on the front
The structure is gone, a parking lot only remains




Reynolds Boats & Motors
1206 Frederick




1 2 3 4


Circa 1888
Frederick Avenue Apartments
Kelly Flats
Samuel Lima Furnished Rooms
Verdie Robertson Furnished Rooms
1208-1210-1212 Frederick Avenue

These town houses were built by Charles Kelly who was a partner in the real estate firm of Andrews and Kelly.
He occupied the center section when the flats were first built.
For a number of years, these were occupied by professionals, some of whom combined their offices with their residences.
Before and after restoration photos - excellent restoration of both
Although not visible from the street, these buildings have 3 stories




Avenue Primary

Circa 1868-1869
Avenue Primary School
1209 Frederick Avenue

Circa 1868-1869
1209 Frederick Avenue
The school was located in the 2nd story
The 2nd story has been removed






Circa 1889
Browne Flats
Samuel Lima Home
1214-1216 Frederick

These town houses were erected by Francis Browne, who was an officer of Nave-McCord Wholesale Grocers.
A native of Ireland he came to the United States in 1851, and to St. Joseph in 1857.
In early directories this tract is shown as his residence, but by time he constructed this building, he had built a mansion
Francis Browne was a major benefactor of the Convent of the Sacrate Heart.






Circa 1909
WYCO Car Company
Electronic Business Equipment
1219 Frederick

From the time it was constructed, until about 1940, this was the location of a number of different auto dealerships and or auto supply and repair shops, including the WYCO Car Company which was the automotive outlet of the Wyeth Hardware Company.
Early listings show Houston Wyeth as president of both concerns.
In the 1940's, it was the location of Harry Korns Electric Company.






Circa 1922
Foster-Hall Tire Company
Motor Parts & Equipment Co
1217-1225 Frederick

On August 13, 1926, a radio license was issued to J.B. Abercrombie for the call letters KGBX. This was the second license issued to Abercrombie who had received the first one in St. Joseph in 1922. The studio of this radio station was in this building which was then the - Foster-Hall Tire Company.




1 2

Circa 1913
Farmer Auto Company
Lawlor Motor Company
Midland Empire Sales & Service
1224 Frederick

This structure was erected in 1913 by Mrs. Eva Roth, widow of Fred Roth.
It was one of many automotive facilities which were constructed along the length of the Avenue.
Until Midland Empire occupied this building, it housed various auto dealerships.
Before the construction of this structure, another building housed a series of wagon and carriage works at this location
William Pape,L.V. Schenk and Avenue Carriage Works.
This early building was constructed before Frederick Avenue was defined in width since it extended beyond the curb line.
Mrs. Roth was a member of the large Swiss group which emigrated to Buchanan County beginning in the 1840s



13th STREET INTERSECTS





AYERS AUTO SUPPLY
13th & Frederick

Wholesale Auto Supplies






Circa 1926
Bardahl Oil Company
Circa 1954
Virgil's Texaco Service Station
1301 Frederick

This prefinished design is an example of standardization to achieve lower costs and establish a product image.
The use of continuous light weight glass walls and enameled metal infill panels, is common to hundreds of such units built in modern days
This corner has been occupied by a filling station since 1926, when a Bardahl Oil Company facility was erected here.
In 1954, the home of Louise Bansbach was demolished on lots 5 and 6 and this modern service station was constructed.




Bozarth1 Bozarth2

Bozarth Texaco
1301 Frederick Avenue

1301 Frederick Avenue
The last owner of this full service station was Mike Bozarth
In the 1960's, his father, CJ Bozarth, operated the Bonus Isle station at 26th & Messanie just east of Kwik Carry Out
Photo submitted by Rodney Keyes




Consolidated Motors
(USED CARS)
1301 Frederick




1 2

Circa 1909
Western-Extralite
Farmer Auto Supply
Ayers Auto Supply Co
1302 Frederick

This building was constructed by Fred Roth who is listed in City Directories as a contractor. His residence was also on this site.
The importance of Frederick Avenue as an "Automobile Row" is reflected in the fact that this was the home of a major auto supply firm for over 10 years




Ayers Auto Supply Co
(Storage)
1306 Frederick






Circa 1933
St. Joseph Monument Company
1308 Frederick

This is an early filling station reflective of the early days of the automobile age when this type of facility first became popular.
King Hill Oil Company was owned by Rufus Limpp, his first station was at the corner of King Hill and East Lake.
Later he was involved in several businesses in King City, MO and was a major benefactor of South Gentry County




Ward Service Station & Ward Motor Company
1308 Frederick






Circa 1935
Breon Motor Company, Cooper Day Motors/Lucas-Fredlake Cadillac
Cooper-Day Motors Inc
Chrysler-Plymouth Authorized Dealer
Scanlan Motorcycles
Gray Manufacturing
1316 Frederick Avenue

This building was constructed for Breon Motor Company, a Chrysler-Plymouth dealer and remained such until it was occupied by the Lucas-Fredlake Cadillac dealership in 1956
Gray Manufacturing markets pneumatic automobile jacks, so that this building is still part of the auto industry






Circa 1952
Lucas Pontiac-Cadillac Used Cars
Clint Coons Pontiac Used Cars
1317 Frederick

This used car lot is significant in that it reflects the importance of the automotive industry on the development of Frederick Avenue.
The location also has significance in that it was the site of the home of Zeilda Forsee, widow of one of St. Joseph's most important early physicians and sister-in-law of John Corby




1 2

Circa 1920
Tethrow Brothers Auto
Kindred & Burke Motors
B and B Used Cars
1320 Frederick

Tethrow Brothers began their business as blacksmiths and welders.
Like many other Frederick Avenue merchants this is one of several addresses occupied by the firm.
With the coming of the automotive age they went into the auto parts and repair business
They built this structure for their business.
Photo #2 taken in 2015 by Rodney Keyes




1 2

Circa 1966
Champlin Self Service Gas Station
Woody's E-Z Mart Convenience Store
1334 Frederick

This station was originally built by Champlin as a full service station with attached garage for minor automotive repairs.
It was converted into self service, reflecting a nation wide change in gasoline merchandising.
It currently is Woody's E-Z Mart




Cooper-Day Motors
1328-1338 Frederick



14th STREET INTERSECTS



Circa late 1800's
St Joseph Lumber Company
1401 Frederick






Circa 1966
One-Hour Cleaners
Mister Hobbs Formal Wear
1401 Frederick

From the late 1800's until the 1960s, this was the location of the St. Joseph Lumber Company.
This building was built for the One-Hour Cleaner's.






Circa 1894
Schall's Monument Works
Virgil Abbett Floor Coverings
Paul's Outlet Store
1405 Frederick

Charles Schall, a native of Canada, came to St. Joseph in 1871.
He was a marble cutter and monument maker.
He was first located at 1015 Frederick.
In 1894, he built this building to house his monument business.
His residence was on the second floor.
The monument business remained here until the 1940s.
The building was later occupied by the adjacent lumber company
Paul Block later owned the building




Dan Myers Motors
1407-1409 Frederick






Circa 1962
Church's Chicken
1413 Frederick

For a number of years this was the location of the Avenue Carriage Works, but had been vacant before this construction




Circa 1883
James Flannery Saloon
Kley and Schotts Tavern
Schott Tavern
1415 Frederick

As early as 1883, James Flannery kept a saloon/grocery store on this corner.
From that time until the present, except for the prohibition years, this has been a Neighborhood watering hole.
In the early part of the century, this tavern was owned by the Goetz Brewing Company and leased it to various saloon keepers.



MOUNT MORA ROAD INTERSECTS





Circa 1913
AVENUE SILENT MOVIE THEATER
1501 Frederick

This was a short lived theater. 1501 Frederick is shown on the 1911 Map as being on the northeast corner of 16th & Frederick. A garage supposedly existed on the lot. The theater must have been built where this garage was and then later torn down. A building with a 1601 address currently occupies the lot




F C Reck & Co Upholstery
1502-1504 Frederick




Newkirk Safety Window Platform
1502-1504 Frederick




1 2 3

Circa 1935
Thames Motor Company
Miller Motor Company
Twentieth 20th Century Motors
Lasker Olds
Dishon Tires
1502-1508 Frederick

This building was built for the automobile dealership of Hal Thames.
Thames had earlier been at 1925 Frederick.
In addition to his business as an Auburn and Ford automobile dealer, Thames was the originator of a successful Girl's softball competition in this area beginning in the early 193Os.
His team was State Champion for at least four years.
In 1932 or 1933 he built Thames Stadium for his team and their league
In 1953, 20th Century Motors was at this address
In later years it became Lasker Olds
The office & showroom was located at 1502 Frederick Avenue
Their used car lot was located at 1516-1526 Frederick Avenue
In 1939 and 1940, The St. Joseph Saints of the Western Association (men's professional baseball) played in Thames Stadium.
Thames was also President of the baseball team in 1940.
The need for the stadium diminished with the construction of the St. Joseph City Stadium (which has since been named for former Mayor Phil J. Welch.) and the Thames Stadium was demolished prior to 1946.
The Missouri State Highway Patrol Office was constructed on the old stadium site.
The automobile dealership had changed hands, by 1940, with the Miller family having an Oldsmobile dealership at the Frederick Avenue location.
For over 20 years this building housed the Oldsmobile franchise.






Circa 1970
Interstate Oil Company
1522 Frederick

This was the first station built as a self service operation, to be located on Frederick Avenue.
Until World War II, this was still primarily a residential block.






20th Century Motors
Lasker Olds
1516-1526 Frederick

This was a used car lot on the south side of Frederick Avenue
At one time there was a small gas station at this location but returned to being a used car lot many times since
Photo #2 - 1953 20th Century advertisement



16th STREET INTERSECTS


There have been so many tenants in 1601 Frederick, there are 2 entries





Circa 1860
Westpheling Grocery
Chatham Furnace and Air Conditioning
Rag-Don Corporation
1601 Frederick

This is one of the oldest extant buildings on the Avenue.
It or one very like it appears in the 1868 lithograph of St. Joseph and the 1868 City Directory shows F. Westpheling, grocer at this location.
It was a grocery store until the second decade of this century when it became an auto repair garage.
Since then there have been a variety of tenants.




1 2 3 4 5 6

Circa 1891/1893
Peter Alders Saloon w/John Sebus
Brunner Home Furnace Company
Smokerz Outlet
1601 Frederick

Peter Heinrich Alders, born on March 3,1854 in Herman, MO.
Peter Alders died on March 28,1920 in St Joseph
On Oct 2,1888, Peter married Regina Mary Carolus at the St Joseph Immaculate Conception Church
1900 & 1910 Census lists Peter as being a retail liquor Saloon dealer
Peter was a member of the Pocahontas tribe of Red Men
Photo #3 - Peter Alders photo
Peter was buried in Mount Auburn Cemetery
John Sebus, was Peter's partner & cousin.
John was born on June 24, 1856 in Weston, MO.
John Sebus married Christina Thinnes on June 3,1879.
Christina died in 1940 in St Joseph
John Sebus died on January 13,1939 in St Joseph
In the summer of 1879, John engaged with Mr. Danckmeyer at the OLD NARROW GARAGE, 6th & Messanie and 2nd & Robidoux
In 1891, John Sebus & Peter H. Alders opened & operated Alders Saloon at 1601 Frederick
From 1883 until 1919, John Sebus & Peter H. Alders operated the Eagle Bar & Restaurant, 1216 South 6th




Apartment House (4 tenants)
1601½ Frederick






Circa 1929
Henry Whitman Tire Shop
Harrison Plumbing
State Farm Insurance Agency
1602 Frederick

This building which was originally two-stories, was remodeled in 1929 by Henry Whitman for use as a tire store.
It remained a tire store until World War II.
Since then it has had varied uses, including as a portion of the Harry Korns electrical company.






Circa 1927
Norris Building
Norris Drug Store Warehouse
H&R Block Tax Service
1603 Frederick

This building was erected by James M. Norris in 1927 as an addition to his drug store on the east side
Immediately before it became vacant it was the location of the H & R Block Income Tax Service.




Apartments (3)
1603½ Frederick




1 2 3 4

Circa 1899
Seaman and Schuske
Karrasch Electric
Harry Korns Electric Company
Welsh Plumbing & Heating
Ragdon
1604 Frederick

This building was built by the Seaman Schuske firm on the site of Charles H. Seaman's home.
He was the son of Charles Seaman, a native of England who had begun a tin shop on the north side of the Avenue in 1870.
While living at this location, and before going into business with Schuske, Seaman had built his tin and cornice shop on the rear
This was the location of this firm until they built across the street at 1611 Frederick in 1914.
This has also been the location of the Karrasch Electrical Company and the Harry Korns Electric Company, both companies are major electrical contractors of the city
Would later become Ragdon
Photo #2 - 1899 Advertisement




1 2

Circa 1890
Hagemann Saloon
Willman Medical Company
Norris Drugs
Chet's Barber Shop
1605 Frederick

This building was constructed by Frederick Hagermann, a saloon keeper who was the first occupant.
A later occupant was Reinhold Willman, a physician who also sold patent medicines
In 1913, it became a Norris Drug Store.
James N. Norris opened his first St. Joseph drug Store on Good Friday, April 13, 1906 at 1608 Frederick
The drug store moved across the street five years later.
This was the parent store of what eventually became a local chain of stores, the last of which, located at 2601 Frederick was sold by the Norris sons, Lee and J. Doyle in 1968.
J. Doyle Norris served on the State Board of Pharmacy for 16 years.
For many years, the Norris family lived in the upstairs apartment.
In later years, it became Chet's Barber Shop




Mrs Emma Norris
1605½ Frederick

Mrs Norris lived above the pharmacy




1 2 3

Circa 1899
Seaman and Schuske Sheet Metal Works
1604 Frederick Avenue
Hodson Cleaners
1606 Frederick Avenue

In 1899 Charles Seaman and his son, a partner in the firm of Seaman and Schuske, constructed this two-story brick building with an elaborate cast metal storefront in 1899
Photo #3 - 1899 Advertisement






Circa 1892
Columbia Bakery
Cunliffe and Hines Grocers
Hodson Cleaners
1606 Frederick Avenue

This building was built by Frank Erath as the location of his Columbia Bakery.
Erath had been in business across the street for a number of years in the old Muchenberger building.
Following its use as a bakery, it became a grocery store and has been the site of a cleaning shop since the early 1930s.






Circa 1892
Shirley's Beauty Shop
Chet's Barber Shop
Dyna-Mag Inc.
1607-1609 Frederick Avenue

This building was built by Thomas Banniford (Bamford) who was a tobacconist and confectioner.
By 1895 the tenancy had changed and changes were frequent in the early years.
There have been such divergent uses, as a creamery and a machinist.




Lee Riley 2nd Hand Furniture
1608-1610 Frederick




Cheryl's Quilting Shop
1608 Frederick




Jesse Lizar Barber Shop
1609 Frederick




1 2

Circa 1914
Seaman and Schuske Metal Work
Moore's Welding Supplies
Ken Smith Body Shop
1611 Frederick

This building is built on the site of the Dandurant home.
John Dandurant was listed at this location in the 1868 Directory, as was his son Dr. Louis Dandurant in the 1898 Directory.
In 1914, this building was erected and occupied by the Seaman Schuske Metal Works.
This firm was founded in 1870 by Charles Seaman, in this same block





Griffith's Used Cars
1612 Frederick




1 2 3

Circa 1889
Christian Sachau Saloon
American-Gertsch Glass Inc.
American Mirror & Plate Glass
1613-1615 Frederick

This building was constructed by Christian Sachau, who operated a saloon in the east section of the building and lived upstairs.
Sachau also was the proprietor of a bakery in a building to the east of this one.
In the early years of the century, Fannie Cliff who was also a German teacher operated a feed store in the west
The Gertsch firm has occupied the building since before the First World War.






Circa 1963
Kwiki Car Wash
1614-1622 Frederick

This was one of the earlier self-service car washes built in the city
Before their demolition, this was the location of three homes, all of which at one time were owned and occupied by members of the Seaman family.




1 2 3

Circa 1908
Muchenberger Garage
Quinn Brace Company
Roderick Neon Sign Company
1617-1621 Frederick

This is actually two buildings which have been tied together.
The small shop on the west where Quinn Brace was, may well have been here before the garage was built in 1908.
There is a cast metal pediment and cornice which are actually a Boomtown feature.
Other facade details have been obscured by imitation stone sheathing.
This building is on a tract of land known as the Muchenberger tract which reflects the early and long ownership of this property by a single family.
In 1875, Leo Muchenberger is listed as a baker on the north side of Frederick between 15th and 16th Streets.
Muchenberger was a native of Germany, born in the_l830's who came to the United States after the Civil War.
His eldest son Leo J. became the President of the Muchenberger Wallpaper and Paint Company in St. Joseph and in 1929, donated his warehouse at 5th and Sycamore to the City of St. Joseph as a recreation center.
This center is no longer in active use and is still owned by the Parks and Recreation Department
John Muchenberger who built this garage and later operated it was the second son of Leo, (the baker).
The Muchenbergers family also operated the Columbia House Hotel on this location in the 1880s and 1890s.
The small shop on the west was the location of a barber shop operated by Joseph Frank, both before and after the construction of the garage.




Dancer Tile Company
1617 Frederick




Bee's Lunch
1620 Frederick




Tetherow Brothers Platers
1623 Frederick






Circa 1880
Lydia Mercer Notions
Ozenbergers Outlet Store
Miller Lawn mower & Saw Shop
1624 Frederick

This building is designated on the 1883 Sanborn map of Frederick Avenue.
No tenant has been located here before 1886.
Lydia Mercer was there in 1886 and operated a notion store.
This is of interest because there were a number of dressmakers and milliners in this section of the Avenue at that time.
Later tenants have been of a wide variety.




B E Long Contracting
1625 Frederick






Circa 1870
Charles Seaman Store and residence
Ozenberger Outlet Store
Acme Appliance Shop
1626 Frederick

The first floor has been somewhat altered, with concrete blocks having been put in under the window level.
In 1870, Charles Seaman, a native of Birmingham, England started a stove and tinwear shop on the north side of the street in this block.
This small stove and tin shop has grown into one of the industrial giants of St Joseph, Seaman and Schuske Metal Works Company
Seaman and Schuske are still major stockholders of the company
By 1883, Seaman's oldest son Charles H. had joined the business and Seaman moved across the Avenue.
The tin shop was in the rear of this lot and Seaman was operating a General Store.
The Seaman family occupied this building and several others in this block in the 1890s.
In approximately 1890, Charles H. moved the business to the rear of his home at 1604 Frederick
Charles maintained his store until his death.
Later tenants of this building were J.R. and Hattie Ward, who are later found on the north side of the street one block east.




1 2 3 4 5 6

Circa 1895
MIAMI CLUB
STOUT & PUMPHREY GROCERY
MARC'S PLACE
ORVAL'S COCKTAIL
LOUNGE & RESTAURANT
COACH HOUSE
CARRIAGE HOUSE
FREDERICK INN
1629 Frederick Avenue

The building permit for this building lists "D. McDonald" as the grantee.
This was probably Dr. Daniel McDonald, son of Dr. Silas and Sarah Donnell McDonald.
Daniel married Anne Cribbs Landis, daughter of Israel Landis.
Although a graduate of medical school, Daniel never practiced, but was a hanker, lumberman and a partner in the wholesale dry goods firm of Kemper Hundley and McDonald.
Daniel's son was a dentist and his grandson and great-grandson are doctors in the city of St. Joseph.
One of the earliest tenants was Thomas Farthing who had commenced his dry goods business in the building to the east of this and after the completion of this building, moved his business and residence here.
Two of Thomas Farthing's daughters, Isabelle and Ethel, were prominent in their own right.
Isabelle was a business woman and Ethel was an elementary educator
In 1921, this was Stout & Pumphrey Grocery
A barber shop can be seen in the left side of photo #5
The newly remodeled building is the Frederick Inn
Evidently, this was Marc's Place at one time
It later became Orval's, then the Carriage House and finally Frederick Inn
A fine steak house with great fried chicken, salad bar and a tavern in another section of the building
In 2013, Frederick Inn voluntarily became a non-smoking establishment
On February 24, 2015 the Frederick Inn was sold to Amber and Jeffery McKnight III




1 2 3

Circa 1920
G. H. Prinz Tire Shop
Reliable Radiator Shop
il Lazzarone Napolitan Pizzaria
1628 Frederick

This building was constructed in 1920 by August "Gus" Prinz.
Prinz was the son of Peter Prinz, an early day barber and first foreman of the Volunteer Fire Department.
Gus's brother, Edward operated the Prinz School of Dance for Young Ladies and Gentlemen for fifty years.
Edward Prinz's son was Leroy, the Broadway and Hollywood impressario
Gus moved his tire store next door to the east in the early 1930's
Reliable Radiator was in this building for many years
In 2014, il Lazzarone Napolitan Pizzaria opened for business in this location






Circa 1920
Voorhies Garage
Prinz Tire Shop
Shaeffer News Service
Palmer News Service
1630 Frederick

Facade details have been covered with pre-finished panels.
Garage door has been filled in with windows and a single leaf door
This building was erected by A.C. Voorhies as an auto repair garage.
During the 1930s and into the 1940s, this was the location of Gus Prinz's Tire shop.
Since that time, it has been a wholesale news service.




Marvin's Food Mart
1631 Frederick






Circa 1906-1912
A feed store
Various Auto sales
Various Repair garages
Roderick Sign
Polsky Body Shop
1632 Frederick

This building was built as rental property by Dr. Daniel Morton, prominent physician of the day and partner of John McDonald who was the son of Silas
Earliest tenant was probably a feed store.
After the building was enlarged in 1912, tenants were a variety of auto sales agencies and repair garages.
In the 1940s, Roderick Neon sign company was located in this building




Kirby Company
1633 Frederick




1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

Circa 1887
Welch Heating and Plumbing
Players Cocktail Lounge
Frederick Inn & Parking Lot
1631-1635 Frederick Avenue

The entire building had been painted yellow.
The first floor facade has had the windows closed up and doors boarded up so that it is difficult to tell what the original features might have been.
Second floor windows have stone lug sills and segmental window headers with keystone.
Above what would have been the doorways to the stores at 1631 and 1631 there are door hoods which are at the same level as a dentil stringcourse.
Each segment of the building is separated from the other by a pilaster which simulates quoin's.
The cornice of coffered brick has dentil trim and brick medallions beneath
The early city directories list this corner as the location of the Avenue House, a boarding hotel.
This business block was built prior to 1888 possibly by Issac Brady who was the owner of the Avenue House.
One of the earlier tenants was Thomas Farthing who operated a dry goods store in the west section and lived upstairs.
It would appear that the cast metal oriole is an addition to the building.
Other tenants have been grocers, a hardware store, a marble and tile company and a plumbing and heating firm.
It had been a night club since the mid-1950's
In 1949, this was Welch Heating and Plumbing
In 1953 it was listed as the Players Cocktail Lounge which offered cocktails and dancing with live music
In later years, the Players Cocktail Lounge became a night club with strippers
Some time after 1985, after sitting empty for years, the property was purchased by Dave Polsky and was immediately torn down
The empty lot now serves as a parking lot for Frederick Inn

Photo #1 - The Players Lounge when it was open for business
Photo #2 - The new parking for the Frederick Inn restaurant
Photo #3 - Photo of the Frederick Inn west of the Players lot
Photo #4 - Newspaper advertisement
Photo #5 - Sign on outside front wall
Photo #6 - Sign on outside front wall
Photo #7 - Player's Marquee




Pete Shuler Body Shop
1636 Frederick



17th STREET INTERSECTS



1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Circa 1929 & 1967
Goodrich Silvertown Inc
Packard St. Joseph Motors
Delmark Tire Company
Firestone and General Tire
1700 Frederick Avenue

This building was the corporate design of the Goodrich Tire Company.
The northwest portion of the building is entirely large show windows with fixed transom above.
This section has a low hip roof of asbestos.
The garage section has two Spanish Mission pediments of stucco with tile barageboard between the two.
A contemporary garage addition was constructed at the northeast of the lot in 1967.
In the 1879's, this was for a brief period, the location of the City County Hospital.
In about 1895, J.W. Lehr opened his carpenter shop on this corner.
This carpenter shop grew into a planing mill.
In 1929, the Lehr Contractors moved to their present location farther east on the Avenue.
Lehr is today one of the major contracting firms in the city.
For a period of about ten years following World War II, this building was in use as a Packard Auto agency and then as a Buick agency.
By 1957, it had returned to use as a tire dealership and service garage
Delmark Tire is still in business at this location
This once was a Packard Automobile Dealership
It also both sold Firestone & General Tires
Jim Coffey was president in the 1040's-1950's
Mr Coffey relocated to St. Louis in 1955
They no longer sell gasoline and some building modifications have been made
Photo #1 - Delmark Tire as it looked in the 1920's
Photos #2-4 as the building looks currently
I received an email & photos from Bob Turpin (his uncle once owned it):
Photo #5 - April 1947 News-Press article Packard sales at 1700 Frederick
Photo #6 - 1951 clipping shows Jim Coffey as president of the Packard dealership
Photo #7 - 1978 Jim Coffey obituary; Packard dealership and General Tire
Photo #8 - 1952 clipping about an elephant & the Packard dealership
Photo #9 - WWII clipping indicating Jim Coffey was selling Firestone tires




St Joseph Packard Motors
1700 Frederick

The 1953 city directory listed this address for St Joseph Packard Motors
This building has always been and still is Delmark Tire company in 2015
St Joseph Packard had a dealership here. Delmark Tire was owned by Packard Company



UNION STREET INTERSECTS



1 2 3 4

Circa 1950
Dill-Wood Motor Company
Polsky Lincoln-Mercury Dealership
ACME Music & Vending
1701 Frederick

As early as 1868, the Carolus family was living and operating businesses on this plot of land.
In that year, George Carolus operated a saloon on the corner.
It remained a saloon until prohibition.
Immediately, before this building was built, there was a Coryell Service station built on the corner.
F.S. Dillingham and Willis Weodman who had a Buick agency in the 1800 block of the Avenue since the mid-1960's, had this building constructed for their Dill-Wood Motor Company in 1950
ACME Music & Vending has been in St. Joseph for over sixty years
ACME was originally located at 14th Olive Street

ACME provides a full line of Amusement, Vending, and Office Coffee services to local and out of state businesses, bars, manufacturing plants, bowling centers, schools, and many other types of facilities

On a personal note, I purchased a high quality pool table from ACME a couple years ago, they had the best price I could find in a 100 mile radius, plus they delivered and set up the pool table in my home free of charge. In my opinion, a great company to deal with

For those interested, they have a website: Click Here






Polsky Lincoln-Mercury
1701 Frederick Avenue

Casey Meyers was the owner
Photo: 1988 Mercury Advertisement




Dill-Wood Motor Company
(Used Car Lot)
1711 Frederick






PENDERGAST HOME
1715 Frederick Avenue

Building no longer exists






Circa 1970
Van Vickle Monuments
1717 Frederick

This area was the location of at least one Carolus home and one which belonged to a Grassloff family who were barbers in this block.
Lee Van Vickle - Proprietor






Circa 1880
Hickman's Barber Shop
1721 Frederick

There is a building at this location on the 1883 Sanborn map and there was a barber in this block at that time.
Fred Grassloff, barber lived at 1617 (1717) for most of the last half of the 19th Century.
Before it became vacant this building was used as a barber shop.




Pete the Tailor
1723 Frederick






Circa 1895
Dodderer And Eberhardt Shoe Company
Sollars Rexall Drugs
1723 Frederick

Before this building was constructed this was the location of the blacksmith shop of F.A. Steussi.
In 1895, Louis Eberhardt, a native of Wertenberg, born 1854, constructed this building.
The first tenant was the Dodderer and Eberhardt shoe store.
A later tenant was Oscar Eger, milliner.
For a number of years, there were tenants associated with the auto industry.
In the late 1950s, the Sollars Drug Store expanded into this space.
This building was razed on April 16, 1985




1 2 3

Circa 1886
Burvenich Pharmacy
Sollar's Rexall Drug
1723-1727 Frederick

This building and the adjacent one were built by Louis Eberhardt
Eberhardt was a sausage maker who lived and ran his business at the Southwest corner of 18th and Calhoun
The first tenants were the Frederick Avenue Drug Store and Avenue Bakery.
The manager of the Avenue Drug Store was A. Burvenich Jr. and his brother Anton
The cornice frieze was an ornate pattern of laid brick.
The stone and brick pediments had the date 1886 on them.
The 18th Street facade is only slightly less ornate.
This building was razed on April 16, 1985
The building now gone, it is currently a parking lot




1

Circa 1886
1825 Colhoun
G.V. Koch Drugstore
Shir1ey's Beauty Shop

The building was erected in 1932 by Gerard Koch for use as his residence and drug store.
Gerald Koch, who had been at 1832 Frederick since before the turn of the Century, was one of three brothers, all of whom were druggists.
The Koch brothers and their parents were residents of Clinton, Louisiana.
Mrs. C.A. Pfeiffer, their elder half sister, sent money to the three Koch brothers,(John, Gerard and J.M.) to come to St. Joseph when they had a chance for a better education.
After finishing school, the boys apprenticed at the drug store of their elder half brother, C.A. Koch, in Maryville, Missouri.
Following their apprenticeship, they returned to St. Joseph and each operated his own store.



18th STREET INTERSECTS




1 2 3 4 5 6 7

Circa 1917
H.O. SIDENFADEN FUNERAL HOME
10th & Frederick Avenue
18th & Frederick Avenue
3609 Frederick Avenue

In 1917, Sidenfaden Funeral Home was on the corner of 10th & Frederick
No longer in business at this address
Combined with Heaton-Bowman to become Heaton-Bowman-Smith & Sidenfaden now located at 3609 Frederick Avenue






Circa 1878
SCHAEFFER PRODUCE & GROCERY
18th Street & Frederick Avenue





Welsh Plumbing & Heating
1800 Frederick

Also was an incorporated Skelgas Service Company




1 2 3 4 5 6 7

Circa 1884
W.H. Croy General Merchandise
Kessler & Company
Pat's Market
Circa 1925
George Kersey A-G Grocery
Pat's A-G Super Market
Leo Robertson Tire & Motor Supply
1801-1805 Frederick Avenue

The western part of this building is shown as being under construction on the 1883 Sanborn map.
This property has a long ownership by the Kessler family so they are the probable builders.
By 1923, the Kessler's enlarged the building, doubling it in size.
The corner was a general store or grocery, until it was occupied by the Robertson firm in 1957.
They added a masonry garage to the north.
This structure fronts Frederick Avenue which is a business sector with buildings which were constructed in circa 1860-1980.
Within one-half of a block on either side of the street is a residential area.
Located on the northeast corner of 18th & Frederick
It is unknown what all was originally occupying this building
In 1925, George Kersey A-G Grocery occupied the building
Two A-G grocery stores are known to have occupied in this building
It later became Leo Robertson's Tire and remained so for many years
Since Leo Robertson, many companies have come and gone at this location

Photo #1 - pre-1900 circa
Photo #2 - current photo submitted by Rodney Keyes
Photo #3 - Leo Robertson ice scraper
Photo #4 - Pat's A-G Supermarket advertisement
Photo #5 - 1925 St Joseph News-Press George Kersey advertisement
Photo #6 - Leo Robertson as it appeared in the early 1970's
Photo #7 - Leo Robertson service area as appeared in early 1970's




1 2

Circa 1958
Bill & Jim's Phillip 66
Virgil's Phillip 66
AutoGlass Center
The Performance Stop
1802-1804 Frederick Avenue

As early as 1924, this was the location of a Standard Oil Service station.
This building was built in 1958 in Phillip's corporate design style.
Photo #2 submitted by Rodney Keyes






Circa 1900
Leonhard Hauber Bakery
Conrad Kropp Bakery
Everett Hawks Grocer
Windsow Marble & Tile
1809 Frederick Avenue

In 1900, Leohard Hauber, who had been operating a bakery in the 1700 block of Frederick moved into this new bakery which he had built.
This location remained a bakery until 1924, when E.A. Hawks, who had been the butcher at the grocery store on the corner went into business for himself
Hawks occupied this location into the 1940's when it became the Windsor Marble and Tile Company.
This firm had previously been located in the building at the Northwest corner of 17th and Frederick.
Thomas Windsor was the person who executed the tile seal of the State of Missouri under the dome of the Buchanan County Courthouse




Circa 1940's
Windsor Marble Company
1809 Frederick




Woods Motors
1810 Frederick






Circa 1906
Durnett Auto Parts
1811-1813-1815 Frederick Avenue

Originally, this was three shops, but was altered to one entrance, probably during the tenancy of Burnett Auto Parts.
There is a cast metal cornice which is supported by triangular brick brackets.
The cornice frieze and the parapet are also of cast metal
This building was constructed in 1906 by W.R. Millan as rental property.
It has had a variety of tenants, from barbers to a pool hall to an auto parts firm.
Millan was the son of J.A. Millan, who had come to St. Joseph in 1853.
W.R. Millan had operated one of the first newspapers (The Commercial Cycle) and the first exclusive dry goods store and the first job printing establishment in St Joseph.
W.R. Millan was in the hardware business on Felix at the time this building was built.




1 2 3 4 5 6 7

Circa 1882
Petrie Saloon
Bauer Saloon
Circa 1895
Herman Kley Saloon
Circa 1947
Curry's Tavern
HI-HO BAR & GRILL
1817 Frederick Avenue

The facade has been sheathed with barn siding, obscuring the facade features.
This is one of the older extant buildings on the Avenue.
Petrie was keeping a saloon at this location as early as 1882.
By 1895, the saloon keeper was Herman Kley, a native of Germany
Herman Kley was born 1857 and came to St. Joseph in 1885
Kley owned a saloon where the Firestone Store is
In the mid-1930's, Kley moved to the building at the northwest corner of Frederick and Mt. Mora.
For over one hundred years, except for the prohibition era, this has been a popular "watering hole".
This structure fronts Frederick Avenue which is a business sector with buildings which were constructed circa 1860-1980.
Within one-half of a block on either side of the street is a residential area .
In 1910, Herman Fley owned the saloon at this location
In 1947, the location was purchased by Francis Curry
Francis Curry named it the HI-HO Bar and Grill
Francis operated the HI HO until his death in 1969
Francis' son, Ed Curry, took over the business

Photo #1 - 2012 photo submitted by Rodney Keyes
Photo #2 - 2012 photo submitted by Rodney Keyes
Photo #3 - Andrew A. Scott and his son Bill Scott standing outside
Photo #4 - 2010 photo of the store's lighted sign
Photo #5 - This was taken before Hi-Ho existed
Photo #6 - How the Hi-Ho looked in the early 1970's
Photo #7 - Curry's Hi-Ho Tavern




1 2 3 4

Circa 1888
Emil Woellner Meats
Frank Schaub Meats
Leonard Maeder Meats
Magner's Harley-Davidson Sales
1819 Frederick Avenue

The first floor facade has been altered, probably in the 1930s, leaving no outstanding features.
There is a center recessed door with large show windows on either side.
By 1940, this location was the Harley Davidson Motorcycle Agency and Walter Rounds Radio Shop.
Rounds is another of the merchants who served the public from more than one Frederick Avenue location
Photos #1 and #2: Advertisements
Photo #3 - as the building looked in the early 1970's




Circa 1955
The Grillette
The Coffee Pot
1820 Frederick




John Tourbier Chiropractor
1821 Frederick




1 2

Circa 1889
Sommerhauser-Whitlow Grocery
Dr. J.H. Tourbier D.C.
Ralph Jones Barber Shop
Chet & Jim's Barber Shop
Don Bisig Barber Shop
1821 Frederick

This is a double building with stores on the first floor and residence on the second floor.
Like the adjacent building,access to the second floor is from Calhoun Street.
The first floor facade has been altered, probably in the 1930s.
The second floor facade has a set of three windows on each side.
These windows have stone slip sills, and ornate semi-elliptical brick label window headers.
A stringcourse at the bottom of the window headers utilizes a soldier course of brick at 45' angle.
This building was constructed as rental property by J.W. Boyd.
Boyd was one of the more prominent attorneys of the city having served as Worshipful Master of Zeradatha Lodge AF&AM and a lecturer in forensic law at the Northwestern Medical College in St. Joseph
Gerard V. Koch, druggist was a tenant soon after the building was built until he built his own building in 1932 at 1825 Calhoun.
The Donut Shop has been here since Koch moved out.
Photo #2 - Chet is getting a haircut by Jim
Don Bisig is the current owner and barber at this address






1 2

Circa 1927
Norton Reo Motors
Consolidated Motors Kaiser
Thames Auto Laundry & Service
Modern Motors Paint & Body Shop
C & L Body Shop
Missouri Glass Inc.
1822-1824 Frederick

This garage was built as rental property by S.L. Simkin, a real estate broker of the 1920s.
It is on the same part of the block where James Pendleton had his contractors shop.
This block had also previously been the location of the Silas McDonald home.
The first tenant of the garage was apparently the Norton "Reo" Car Agency.
There have been various automotive related tenants over the years




1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Circa 1929
Agranoff Shoe Repair
Marshall Auto Supply Store
Avenue Veterinary Hospital
Gold-N-Glaze Donuts
1823-1825 Frederick

This "flatiron" building is built of buff brick.
This building was built by Moses Nemzoff, who operated a grocery store across the street east.
It was apparently built as rental property.
Two long time occupants were Baris Agronoff, who ran a shoe repair business and the Marshall Auto Stores.
Gold-n-Glaze had used this building for storage for a number of years.
St Joseph's oldest, most popular and still operating donut shop
Still in business in 2014 (but with a temporary closing)
In late 2014, the current owners & operators of Gold-n-Glaze: Mr & Mrs Robert (Bob) Sullwold sold out
Kendall Randolph has purchased the Gold-N-Glaze building, the recipes and the name
Mr Randolph is doing a total restoration of the structure, even the neon sign
He is hoping to re-open mid-January 2015 as Gold-N-Glaze Donuts and Coffee Shop
Photo #8 - taken in early 1970's
Photos #4,5 and 6 were taken the last day they were open in 2014




Bares Agranoff Shoe Repair
1825 Frederick






Circa 1922
Service Ignition Company
Wilson & Weipert Sheet Metal
Missouri Glass Inc.
1826 Frederick

F.C. Bolliger, a native of New Basel, Kansas, born in 1884 was in the blacksmithing business just east of this building when he had this building constructed as a sales and service shop for automobile batteries as well as ignition service.
The shop was operated by Porter Srite, Jr., son of the assistant City Comptroller of the day and James L. Pendleton, son of the contractor, James H. Pendelton whose shop was at 1822 Frederick Avenue






Marshall's Auto Store
Avenue Veterinary Hospital
1827 Frederick

Photo - 1940 St Joseph News-Press ad for Marshall's Auto Store
Listed in 1953 city directory as Avenue Veterinary Hospital



COLHOUN STREET INTERSECTS





Circa 1924
Willis-Lucas Cadillac
Jewell T
Consolidated Motors Inc
Kessler and Harvey Garage
1828-1834 Frederick

This building was built in 1924 by J. Porter Srite Jr. and James Pendleton
They were in business next door at the time
Whether they intended to move here is unknown but their first tenant was the Willis-Lucas Cadillac Company
This was the first of their three Frederick Avenue locations.
In the late 1930's, and early 1940's, Jewell T. had it's distribution center here
In the 1950's Consolidated Motors Inc. offered Kaisers and Frazers for sale.






Circa 1907-1924
James H. Craig - Blacksmith
F.C. Bollinger - Blacksmith
Bollinger Motor Company
Bug Surgeon Auto Repairs
Yu's Academy of Martial Arts
1834 Frederick

This building was originally erected for F.C. Bolliger, as a blacksmith shop.
From what can be seen on the 19th Street facade it was a barn-like structure.
In 1924, at the same time as the construction of the garage next door, Bolliger had a new front constructed which is the same as that of the next door building.
Bolliger went from blacksmithing to wagon and automobile repair and then finally to only automobile repair during the tenature business on the Avenue.
In the 1950s, this was the showroom for the Kaiser-Frazer dealerahip




Irwin A-G Grocery
1835 Frederick Avenue

Known to be in operation in 1926


19th STREET INTERSECTS



1 2 3

Circa 1928
Foster-Hall Tire Company
Firestone Tire Store & Retread Center
Expert Tire
19th & Frederick Avenue

This building was constructed in 1928 for the Foster-Hall Tire Company, which had previously been at 1221 Frederick.
In addition to being the Firestone dealers in the city, Foster-Hall was also the operator of the second commercial radio station in the city.
The call letters of the station were KGBX
The studio was located in ½ of the center section of the building.
Ralph Foster, president of Foster-Hall moved to Springfield, Missouri in the early 1930's.
One-half block North of this building at the Southwest corner of 19th and Howard is the building built by M.A. Ashbrook in 1860 and which he operated as the Ashbrook Hotel until 1894 or 1895.
M. A. Ashbrook was the founder of Ashville, Ohio in 1845 and came to St. Joseph in 1859.
This building is located on the northwest corner of 19th & Frederick Avenue
The building was Firestone Tires for many years, the building was painted red and white
Expert Tire repainted the building a light purple when they moved in
As of 2015, the building is still unoccupied




1 2 3 4

Circa 1970
Beckley Brothers Filling Station
/Lunch Box Cafe
Pinzino's Music Box Cafe
Dante's Italian American Cusine
1900 Frederick Avenue

This is the site of the first McIninch Dry Goods Store.
For a number of years, this corner was owned by the Beckley Family and they operated a filling station, a restaurant, a used car business and a repair shop.
The present realty company building is the sum of all these parts.
Located on the south side of the street at 19th & Frederick Avenue
Originally called the Lunch Box restaurant
It was owned by Bradley & Stella Christie who were also the owners of the Snow White
Emillo "Jimmy" Pinzino purchase the Lunch Box from the Christies in 1945 and called it the Music Box
The Music Box became a popular young adult hangout
The Music Box was later renamed to Dante's Italian American Cusine
It became well known around town as just Dante's
The restaurant closed on New Year's Eve, 1973 and was later sold
There have been numerous businesses in this building since
Photo #3 - Photo of when it was the Lunch Box






Circa 1963
Midwest Federal Savings & Loan
1901 Frederick Avenue

Midwest Federal Savings and Loan was founded by W.J. Schneider in 1923.
The first office of Midwest was at 1924 Frederick in the Real Estate and Insurance Office of Schneider
It was organized under a state charter and received its Federal Charter in 1935.
In 1963, MWFS&L built this new office and vacated their long time offices on the other side of the street




Don's Bar
P & M Cafe
1901 Frederick




Gold-N-Glaze Donut Flour Company
1903 Frederick






Circa 1903
Farmers & Traders Bank
St. Joseph Electrical Supply Company
1906 Frederick Avenue

This building was constructed by A.A. Mcininch for the Farmers and Traders Bank.
As early as 1868, David and Amos Mcininch were listed at this location in the City Directory.
The Fanners and Traders Bank was organized in 1903 by Mr. Mcininch who served as the Banks first president. Later presidents were Peter Ozenberger, A.M. Dougherty, Robert Archdekin and C.O. Cornelius.
J.M. Ford II, the chairman of the board of the First National Bank of St. Joseph received an early part of his banking experience as Cashier of this bank, from 1937 until 1942 when the bank was purchased by the First National.




Jennings Arthritis Clinic
1906 Frederick




Rexair Sales & Service
1907 Frederick




Mel's Hardware
1907 Frederick Avenue




Irving Woptom Bath
1909 Frederick




Richeys Carpet & Linoleum
1911 Frederick






Circa 1880
A. A. McIninch
Schrier & Schneider General Merchandise
I.O.O.F Hall
Balsiger Hardware
St. Joseph Electrical Supply Inc
1910-1912 Frederick Avenue

A.A. McIninch built this building for his Dry Goods and General Merchandise Store .
As early as 1868, he and his brother are listed at this block.
In addition to the store the second floor was a Public Hall.
From the mid-1890's to 1918, Invincible Lodge #470, I.0.0.F. and Enterprise Lodge #140 Rebekkahs met here.
In the 1920s the Frederick Avenue Christian Church was located here and more recently the Fred Siefert Lodge of the V.F.W. occupied the building.
Other tenants of the building were the Balsiger Hardware Store, operated by brothers August and William T. Balsiger and the George Swide Hardware store.
Immediately after the Mclninch tenancy ended the Field Brothers operated a grocery store here.
Siegel Field operated the hack to the State Asylum from his barn at the Northeast corner of 26th and Frederick.
Following the Fields occupancy, we find W.J. Schneider and his partner in a general store.
From the turn of the century until about 1920, this was a hardware store operated first by the Vogel Brothers and then the Balsiger Brothers.
In 1921, George Swide was operating the C.B. Auto Salvage Company.
Since that time there have been various auto and hardware supply stores, until the occupancy by the present firm.




Kamler Sheet Metal, Furnace & Roofing
1912 Frederick




Fred Seifert Corps Post 1668 VFW
1912½ Frederick




Circa 1920
B. E. Rucker Coal Company
1914 Frederick




1 Ridpath Market2

Circa 1910-1925
W .J. Schneider Feed Store
Tourbier & Schneider Grocery
Ridpath A-G Market
D & G Restaurant & Tavern
1914 Frederick Avenue

This building was built as a two-story building by W.J. Schneider in 1910.
W.J. Schneider was the son of Nicholas Schneider, one of the early Swiss settlers in the 102 River Valley Washington Township and adjacent Andrew County.
W.J. Schneider moved to St Joseph in 1898
He first ran a general merchandise store at 1910 Frederick
Then he bought out the Woodson & Penney feed store at 1918 Frederick
After running a feed store for several years, W.J. Schneider built this building and moved the feed store to this location.
After a fire in 1921, the building was remodeled into a one story building with a new front.
In the 1930's, Chris Schneider and J.H. Tourbier (who later practiced as a Chiropractor at 1823 Frederick) operated a grocery store in this location.
Chris Schneider was a cousin of W.J. Schneider.
From the late 1930s to the 1950s, Edwin Ridpath operated a grocery store at this location.
Ridpath Market was located in the area beneath the BUD LIGHT Sign where it says Parking In Rear
It was annexed onto the Judy's D & G Tavern & Restaurant
Photo submitted by Rodney Keyes




1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

Circa 1915
Ozenberger Ice Cream
Baskin-Robbins
1915 Frederick Avenue

This building was built about 1915 and was occupied by a shoemaker, J. E. Smith.
At the time, Lawrence Ozenberger built his new automobile garage he put a new facade on the Frederick Avenue and east sides.
In 1932, Homer Ozenberger, the great grandson of one of the early Swiss settlers in the 102 River Valley of Northeast Washington Township and graduated from law school and was to enter practice when his elder brother Nelson was killed in an auto accident.
Not wishing to begin the practice of law at this time, Homer began making and selling ice cream in this shop which is adjacent to the ice house which his father had operated.
The business which Homer began with was a one counter freezer capable of making two or three gallons of ice cream
It grew into a wholesale operation which supplied stores in a four state area as well as this retail outlet and for a few years
He also owned an outlet store on the south side at King Hill and Lake Avenue.
The former Ice House was turned into the manufacturing plant for Ozenberger Ice Cream
This was once one of St Joseph's great ice cream shops
Photo #4 - is their rubber stamp
Photo #7 - was taken when it was Baskin-Robbins
Photo #7 - submitted by Michael Miller
Photo #8 - Antique Wooden Parlor Chairs from Ozenberger's
Photo #9 - Taken in the early 1970's



Louis Tenyer Barber Shop
1916 Frederick

Became part of the D & G Tavern




1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

Circa 1910
Woodson and Penny Feed Store
Thomas Boulware,Paperhanger
Anton Burvenich, Drugstore
Judy's D & G Restaurant & Tavern
1916-1918 Frederick Ave

The first floor facade has been covered with board and batten siding.
A false shake roof extends from the facade, acting as a sort of awning.
This is two-thirds of the original building, the one-third to the west having been lost in a fire.
W.J. Schneider, a native of Andrew County and a member of the Swiss colony of the 102 River Valley moved to town from the family farm and soon after apparently bought out the Woodson and Penny Feed Store at this location.
By 1910, he constructed the new building at 1914 Frederick for his feed store and this building as rental property.
The D & G building is a combination of numerous buildings that once were adjacent to the original structure
At that time he also stacked baled hay in the back of this building.
The first tenant in this building was Thomas Boulware, a paperhanger who had previously been with Henry Voss.
In 1924, Anton Burvenich had moved his drug store to this location from 1725 Frederick.
Since the mid-1930's, there has been a restaurant and tavern in the east half of this building.
D & G was one of the most popular restaurants in the City of St. Joseph.
This was once the home of a fine restaurant and bar

Every wall was loaded with old time photos and memorabilia

My parents would take me to the D&G some 62 years ago, over the years there had been some minor changes

Such as removal of the bowling game machine I loved to play

The manager/owner, Pete Miner, finally retired and sold the business

I don't remember how long the new D&G was open, but it didn't last very long

They held an auction for all of the antique memorabilia and fixtures and closed the doors

In April 2012, Napolis Italian restaurant purchased the D&G and moved from their downtown location

They appeared to be doing great. They had the best Italian dishes in town

However due to financial problems they closed their doors in 2013

As of 2013, the D&G structure is once again for sale






Circa 1888/1925
Puritas Food Company
George Bauer Nut Foods
Western Dairy branch depot
W.C. Burt Hardware
Ray Burri Drugs
Universal Auto Supply & Hardware
Schneider enterprises
Midwest Federal Savings and Loan
1920-1922-1924 Frederick Avenue

This building was built by Henry Mack who was a hostler at Ashbrooks Pennsylvania House immediately after the Civil War
During the 1870s and 1880s, he operated a saloon across the street from this location.
At the time he built this building, his residence was about where Joe Welty's Garage was
It was always rental property.
Among the tenants are the Puritas Food Company, in 1889, George Bauer was manufacturing and selling nut foods and cereals, Western Dairy Ice Cream had a branch Depot, W.C. Burt Hardware, Ray Burri Drugs, Universal Hardware (since 1940) and of course the various Schneider enterprises, including Midwest Federal Savings and Loan






Midwest Federal Savings & Loan
1924 Frederick

Currently part of the D&G building




L N Schneider Insurance Agency
1924 Frederick




1 2

Circa 1920/1930
Ozenberger Ice House
Thames Motor Company
Carnes Motor Company
National Biscuit Company
Sherwin Williams Paint Store
St. Joseph Auto & Furniture Fabrics
1925 Frederick

Lawrence Ozenberger, a grandson of one of the four Swiss brothers who settled in the 102 River Valley in Northeast Washington Township began an ice business about the turn of th Century.
He dug ice from the 102 River and initially sold it from an ice house that was at the river site.
By 1923, he had moved his ice business to this location on Frederick Avenue. (See photo #2 for photo of ice house)
In 1930, he constructed this building as an Auto Sales garage whose first tenant was Hal Thames. Thames sold the Auburn Automobile.
Later tenants were the Carnes Motor Company which sold Studebakers, the National Biscuit Company and Sherwyn-Williams Paint Store.




National Biscuit Company
1925 Frederick






Circa 1870
Horse Car Stables
Street Car Stables
Reynolds Livery Stable
Hatfield Rifle Works
St. Joseph Gun Exchange
1926-1928 Frederick

This has a false front which was added onto a much older building
There is a garage door in the center of the facade and two shop fronts on either side
In 1878, the Frederick Avenue Horse Car Lines was built, running from the corner of 8th and Edmond to the end of Frederick Avenue. (which was at that time about 24th Street).
The front-portion of this building was the horse stable.
The Frederick Avenue line was acquired by the Peoples Street Railway Electric Light and Power Company and the route was electrified.
This building was then turned into a livery stable and remained such until it was converted to an automobile repair garage in 1922
1922 is probably the date of the false front being added.
In the 1940s and 1950s, at least a part of the building was used as a warehouse for the 7-Up bottling Company.
In the late 1950's, this was the first of three locations in the immediate vicinity of St. Joseph Auto Fabric.
Current tenant, the Hatfield Rifle Works is a maker of handcrafted black powder rifles.




7-Up Bottling Warehouse
1926-1928 Frederick




1 2

Circa 1922
Avenue Veterinary Hospital
Joe Welty Garage & Welding
1930 Frederick

The front section of the garage was brick, and the rear section was block.
Built in the early 1920s, as a veterinary hospital, it was the office of at least three different veterinarians in a period of about five years.
In l928, the Welty brothers extended the building and moved their auto repair business into this building
It remained a garage for many years under the same name but with new ownership by a mechanic who worked for Welty




1 2

Circa 1936
Raymond Robertson's Conoco Service
Daniel Woodson Barnett Conoco
Osgood State Farm Insurance
1932 Frederick

This service station is built in the Continental Oil Company Corporate style of circa 1930.
Large multi paned windows have flat arch brick voussoirs as does the entrance door.
Windows in garage section are glass block with pivoted window at low center.
The facade is of white glazed brick.
This corner was a service station site as early as 1923.
Conoco began using this site in 1933 with Clyde Whittington as the lessee.
In 1936, Conoco built this new station and in 1939 Raymond Robertson became the lessee.
Robertson was here until 1955 when he left the service station business.
The station remained in operation until about 1965, since that time it has been used as office space.





1 2 3 4

Circa 1936
Daniel Woodson Barnett Conoco
1932 Frederick Avenue

Check out those old gasoline pumps and the price of oil
Photo #1 Circa: 1936
Photo submitted by Blair Carmichael



CALHOUN STREET INTERSECTS



1 2 3

Circa 1900/1915
Adam Knapp Feed Store
Herff Brooks Motor Sales
Apex Garage
Burger Motor Company
Eierdanz Poultry House
St. Joseph Auto Fabric
Blanche's Antiques
Double J & S Industries
Safety Lane Garage
1934 Frederick

The facade of the building has recessed door with large show windows on either side.
This configuration apparently dates from the 1915 renovation which altered this building from a feed store to a motor car agency.
The window and door surrounds have been covered with metal panels.
The building has a stepped gable and the parapet has a diamond inset of brick.
This building was built in 1900 by Adam Knapp to house his feed store.
Adam Knapp, a native of Germany, born 1862, had first settled in the 102 River Valley with his parents, Adam and Eva Knapp.
After his marriage to Lena Walters, he moved into St Joseph and started this feed business.
In 1915, this became an automobile agency which sold the Herff-Brooks and Pullman Autos.
In 1924, it was the location of Joe Welty's Apex Garage
In 1928, Joe Welty's Apex Garage moved across Calhoun Street to its present location
For a short period of time the Burger Motor Company occupied this building while waiting for the construction of their new building across the street east.
After Burger's move to their new quarters, this became the Eierdanz Poultry House.
In the late 1950's, the St. Joseph Auto Fabric Company was in this location, where they remained until moving to 1925 Frederick



20th STREET INTERSECTS



1 Frederick Ave. Colored School2

Circa 1885-1888
Frederick Avenue Colored School
Alex Kearful, harness maker
Alex Kearful General Merchandise
School District Carpenter Shop
Ernest Dunavant, Barber
Pat Hatfield Realty
2001-2003 Frederick

The contemporary sheathing has totally obscured building.
This building was originally two-story on the west with a one-story addition on the east.
Phillip Slattery had a grocery store at this corner in the early 1880s
In the 1889 City Directory, the Frederick Avenue Colored School is in this building as well as Alex Kearful, harness maker.
In 1892, the building was enlarged and the listing becomes Alex Kearful General Merchandise.
By 1897, John Shaefer has joined the firm as a clerk and by 1902 as a partner.
John Shaefer's son, Andrew, recalled that there were "blackboards" painted on the wall of the second floor living quarters.
Andrew Shaefer, was a native of Bavaria who had come to the U.S. in 1867-1868 with his parents.
Andrew Shaefer was a fine furniture maker who was employed by Louis Hax Furniture Company.
Andrew's residence was located on the site where the Meierhoffer-Fleeman Funeral Home would later exist.
John Schaefer was in business on this corner until the early 1930's.
There have been various tenants since that time including Ernest Dunavant, a barber, and Pat Hatfield Realty.
The colored school was located on the northeast corner of 20th & Frederick Avenue
It became the School District Carpenter Shop




Alkire Roofing & Siding
2001 Frederick






Circa 1929
Burger Motor Company
Seven-up Bottling Co.
The Carpet Center
2002 Frederick Avenue

This building was constructed by J.C. Mann in the late 1920s for the Burger Motor company
The Burger Motor company were Oldsmobile dealers and who had previously been at 1800 and 2014 Frederick.
It remained an Oldsmobile dealership until the 1940s
In the 1950's it was used as a bottling plant for 7-Up.
Since that time, it has been the Carpet Center carpet sales




Circa 1955
Dodger Beverages
Seven-Up Bottling Company of St Joseph
2002 Frederick




Ernest Dunavant Barber Shop
2003 Frederick






Circa 1924,1933/1941
Wilholt Oil Company Service Station
Phillips Petroleum Service Station
Tire Repair Shop
Round Radio Service
Thompson's TV Sales & Rental
2005 Frederick Avenue

Originally, this building did not extend to the corner.
The area in which the gasoline pumps were located was filled in with cement blocks
The large show windows at the time were converted to a tire shop.
Original portion of building has large show windows which is ornamented by a soldier course of brick which is red and thus stands out on the buff brick of the building.
The parapet is also capped by a course of red brick.
This property was originally owned by the Hubbard family who built a store building on the corner.
In 1924, John Shaeffer sold this part of the block to the Wilholt Oil Company which constructed a service station.
In 1933, Phillips Petroleum built a filling station facility.
It remained a filling station until its conversion into a tire shop in 1941
In the 1950s, Round Radio Service occupied this store.
(Incidentally Walter Round had been one of the original Missouri Theater ushers.
Walter Round had previously owned other locations on the Avenue.




Round Radio & Television
2005 Frederick



HOWARD STREET INTERSECTS



Uptown Revival Center
Corner of Frederick & Howard




1 2 3 4 5 6

Circa 1946
Avenue Feed Mills
Hatfield Hardware & Sporting Goods
2028 Frederick Avenue

The building has large show windows across the front and the side front of the building. It has no important features other than this. The building is covered with signs.
This particular address was first occupied by a feed mill business in 1881
C.H. Cliff built a feed mill on this site in 1881
Cliff was born in St. Louis County, Missouri in 1844 and came to St. Joseph in 1852. He was one of the original Pony Express riders, riding a segment from St. Joseph to Seneca, Kansas.
At the turn of the century, H.F. Winteford was the operator of the feed mill and maintained a small cattle yard to the rear of the building as well.
In the early days, farmers would drive their hogs and cattle down the Avenue to be sold either to butchers along the way or to early packing plants and/or the stockyards after they were organized.
W.G. Foge was the long time 20th Century operator of the Feed Mill.
Roy Hatfield succeeded Fogg as operator of the Feed Mill, but in 1946, the old mill was demolished and the present building was constructed.
Hatfield began selling hardware in addition to feed and by 1959, sporting goods had been added.
In 1929, a cafe area was added to the east side of the building
For a number of years the cafe was operated by Wade Goff who was famous for his brain sandwiches.
At some point in time, Wade Goff built Wades Hamburgers at 2030 Frederick Avenue
In 1951, the Wades Hamburgers building was demolished and Wade moved his business to a new location at 16th & Mitchell Avenue, thus Wade's Indian Grill was born.
At one time, this was the largest and most popular hardware & sporting goods store in town
Hatfield's Hardware was established at the turn of the 20th century by Roy C. Hatfield
Hatfield's Hardware started out selling coal, feed, hardware and a few shotguns and pistols
By the mid 1900's, they sold about everything from guns, boats, boat motors, motorcycles, hardware and even had a cafe attached to the east side of the building that served a great breakfast and lunch
The shop will officially close on Sept. 1, 2013 with a two-day gun and sporting goods auction on Sept. 15-16, followed by an Antique Auction later in the winter
For the past 20 years, the 8000 square foot building has been an antique mall
Photo #2 - Tim Hatfield




Wades Hamburgers1 Hatfield Cafe2

Hatfield's Sandwich Shop
2030 Frederick Avenue

Prior to 1953, Wades Hambergers, owned by Wade Goff, was located at 2030 Frederick Avenue
(see photo #1)
In 1953, Hatfield's Sandwich Shop was listed for this address
Hatfields later tore down the small shop and built an addition onto the east side of their store
In later years, Wade Goff moved his business to 16th & Mitchell Avenue location
Photo #2 displays the small cafe attached to the east side of Hatfield's Hardware at 2028 Frederick Avenue
They served a very good breakfast back in the 1960's, I ate breakfast there many times




1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11

Circa 1934
Rivoli Theater
Uptown Theater
Lehr Construction Company
2113 Frederick Avenue

This theater building was built by the Durwood chain as a neighborhood theater at the time when movies were most popular.
The cost was as $20,000.
The first manager was Edward Peskay, and the theater was the first in the City to run Al Jolson's Jazz Singer movie.
The theater was an important entertainment spot for the neighborhood until the late 1950s when movies became less popular than television.
At this time the Lehr Construction Company bought the property and expanded their warehouse into the structure.
Uptown Theater Information
Last date open: Tuesday March 1,1955
Last shows played:
Humphrey Bogart in The Caine Mutiny
Alan Ladd in The Black Night
In 1934 this was the Rivoli Theater. It was later known as the Uptown Theater and it was located at 2113 Frederick Avenue, it had 700 seats. It was rebuilt in 1941 and closed in 1955
Durwood Theaters owned it from 1951-1952
This is currently the home of Lehr Construction Company
The last movie I saw here was Stalag 17 back in 1954 or 1955
When Lehr workers have the big door open in the summer, you can see parts of the old theater walls inside
Rick Boyd recently took some interior photos while Lehr workers were in the building
Thanks to Rick Boyd, we are able to see some of the old theater interior now
The far right photo is a 1955 photo of David O. Williams, the theater owner selling tickets in the box office. He did everything in the theater except rolling the film
On the wall behind him is a poster announcing the weekly free drawing for everything from a turkey to a TV set
Photo #9 - 1934 Rivoli Theater advertisement





11

Circa 1929
Lehr Construction Company
2115 Frederick Avenue

J.W. Lehr was born in Bremen, Indiana in 1855 becoming a carpenter at the age of 18.
In 1880, he came to Missouri, settling in Bethany.
In 1886, he moved to St. Joseph and went to work for Hohn DeClue who was the City's leading contractor.
In 1889, Lehr went into business for himself.
By 1897, he was operating a planing mill.
His son Arthur L. grandson J. W. and great-grandsons James and Jonathan have followed him into the construction business.
The equipment yard is shielded from view by a brick wall which connects the office and the former theater building





Circa 1936
Leo Robertson Tire & Motor Supply Company
1306 Frederick




Kentucky Bar-B-Q
2117 Frederick




1 2



Circa 1923/1960
Central States Oil Company
Datillo Brothers Fruit Stand
Crane Service Station
Delbert Weddle DX Service Station
Estes DX Service Station
Lawhon Glass & Tint
2135 Frederick Avenue

This building was built in Sunray DX corporate style with a large vertical aluminum panel at the center.
To the left of the panel is the office and to the right a two-bay service garage.
In 1923, a filling station was constructed on this corner by the Central States Oil Company.
A part of this plot was occupied by an open air fruit stand operated by the Comella and Datillo Brothers who had a grocery store on lot 15 of Highly Addition.
The building is still located on the northwest corner of 22nd & Frederick Avenue
Photo submitted by Rodney Keyes




Standard Oil1 Standard Oil2

Circa 1972
Standard Super Service Station
& Standard Oil Training Station
Standard Service Station
S & H Standard
AMOCO
City Star
22nd & Frederick Avenue

This is a American Oil Company corporate style building being built by this company at that date.
There is a free standing service island which is covered by a gable roof.
The service station has a center gable with the AMOCO identification sign on it.
The office is to the left and had show windows and pedestrian door.
There is a five bay garage, four bays having plastic pane doors and the fifth a solid pane door.
The first Standard Oil Station was built on this corner in 1926
However it was much smaller and the corner itself was the location of an A & W Root Beer stand constructed in 1931.
Until the construction in 1951 of the first part of the present station the corner was largely grass and trees.
In 1972, the station was enlarged and the corner was paved
Located on the southwest corner of 22nd & Frederick Avenue
This was the largest Standard Oil station in St Joseph
It served as a training station in the 1950's
S & H Standard was the last Standard station at this location
It had a 2 bay service center and a free car wash with gas purchase
One night back in the mid-1960's I saw the CHAMPS (music group that made Tequila) gassing their vehicle here, they had a trailer with THE CHAMPS painted on the sides
Since Standard Oil Station sold, there have been numerous other gas stations at this location
Photo submitted by Rodney Keyes



22nd STREET INTERSECTS



Uptown Motors
2201 Frederick




Ping Sinclair Service Station
2201 Frederick Avenue




Clark Oil1 Clark Oil2 Clark Oil3 Clark Oil4

Circa 1956
Home Oil & Gas Filling Station
Mcndell's Service
Clark Service Station
2201 Frederick Avenue

The rear wall is brick veneer, the rest of the building is glass.
Parapet is sheathed with prefininshed panels. This is a very small building.
There has been a filling station on this corner since at least 1928, when a station was built by Home Oil and Gas.
Clark has been on this corner since 1957, when they moved from across the street
When it was Clark Oil, it used to be painted orange, white and black
The building is still standing but the pumps are gone
It has been a used car lot off and on since Clark Oil closed






Circa 1959
A & P Grocery Store
2204 Frederick Avenue

This market is constructed in the style being built by the Atlantic and Pacific Company at that time.
There is a center pediment with the chains logo affixed.
There is a Williamsburg style lantern above the pediment and a widows walk at the roof peak.
Almost the entire front wall is large show windows.
Until the ground was cleared for the construction of this building, this block had been_residential.
In 1888, both George Mcininch, son of A.A. Mcininch and Frank Kaucher (who was a contractor and also had his offices in this block), built houses fronting the Avenue.
In 1909 J.C. O'Hair, who had a lumberyard at the Northeast corner of 23rd and Frederick also built a home here.
The A & P chain of grocers had been in St. Joseph since 1938 when they opened a store at 218 S. 7th.
In 1940, Standard Oil Company, who owned the land, built their store across the street west which is now occupied by the T.G.& Y. Variety Store.
In 1959, this new A & P Grocery store was constructed and the one across the street was vacated.






Circa 1929/1953/1981
Bill's Service
Ritter Service
Frank's Mobilgas Service Station
Rainbo Bread Service Garage and Outlet Store
2214 Frederick Avenue

Until the late 1950's, this location was the site of at least one residence and a small service station.
The station had beenĀ·built by Paul Sauvain in 1929
Sauvain was a salesman for the Noyes-Norman Shoe Company and later for Brown Shoe of St. Louis which had bought out Noyes-Norman.
The station was a Shell Oil outlet
In 1953, Bill's Service Station was located at 2214 Frederick Avenue
It later became Ritter Service Station and then Frank's Mobilgas
The location is currently part of Kovac's grocery store parking lot
The photo is a construction photo of the upcoming Rainbo Bread Service Garage and Out let Store




1 2 3 4

Circa 1909
FIRE STATION #9
HOSE COMPANY #9
2217 Frederick Avenue

In 1858, this section of the city was added when, Milton Tootle, John Colhoun, John S. Wilson, H.B. Wallace, Joseph Jennings, Marshall Jones and Henry Stites plotted St. Joseph's Eastern Extension.
When even more land was added to the east and with the Asylum growing in size it was apparent that fire protection had to move east and so in 1909, this station was constructed for hose company #9 and it was for many years the station which was closest to all of the Belt Highway development.
Of course, when it was built it was operated with horse drawn equipment and John Schaefer remembers with affection the matched pair of coal black stallions which were at this station.



23rd STREET INTERSECTS



1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10

Circa 1926
Cripe Baking Company
Circa 1927
Rainbo Bakery of St. Joseph
Breadeaux Pizza
2300 Frederick Avenue

A.J. Cripe, who operated a bakery in Hutchinson, Kansas entered the St. Joseph market in about 1925.
He sent Harold Stevenson to St. Joseph to contact the merchants and together they selected this site for the bakery.
Stevenson became president of this company and served in this position until his retirement.
During the mid-1930's, Campbell-Taggert baking company bought out the Cripe Baking Company
The name was changed to Rainbo
Mr. Stevenson served as president of this subsidiary.
Campbell Taggert had 63 plants in the United States at the time
In 1926, Mr Cripe had conveyors and other baking equipment installed in his new 2 story bakery in St Joseph
The Cripe Baking Company was located at 23rd & Frederick Avenue

A. J. Cripe had operated bakeries in Garnett, Hutchison and St. Joseph, Mo

He had been in the baking business his entire life

According to records I have found, he sold his St. Joseph plant in 1927

Rainbo Bread Company of St Joseph was formed on 11/01/1927 by C T Corporation System

Rainbo Bakery occupied the building until the Cripe Baking Company closed down

For many years, Rainbo Bread served St Joseph with fresh bread on a daily basis

After Rainbo Bread shut down operations, Breadeaux Pizza occupied the building

Photo #1 - Cripe Bakery at 23rd & Frederick Avenue - circa: Unknown
Photo #2 - Rainbo Bread delivery truck
Photo #3 - 1966 photo of the inside of the bakery
Photo #4 - Rainbo bread wrapper
Photo #5 - Rainbo Bread newspaper advertisement
Photo #6 - 1932 newspaper Advertisement for Cripe Baking Company and Rainbo Bread
Photo #7 - Grocery store screen doors with Rainbo Bread advertising on them
Photo #8 - 1940's Rainbo Bread wax paper wrapper - side view
Photo #9 - 1940's Rainbo Bread wax paper wrapper - end view



JONES STREET INTERSECTS



1 2 3

Circa 1927
THE SWAFFORD BUILDING
J.C. O'Hair Lumber
Philley Advertising Company
Olendorf Advertising Company
Hargrove Advertising Company
Swift Finance Company
2301 Frederick

This plot was the location of the J.C. O'Hair Lumber and Contracting Company.
This building was constructed by Clarence U. Philley for his advertising business which was primarily an outdoor sign company.
Philley had previously been the Manager of the Tootle Opera House and the Lyceum Theater and president of the Lyceum Garage Company
outdoor sign companies which occupied this location are the Olendorf Advertising and the Hargrove Advertising Company.
This building was converted to multiple use office space by George Swafford in 1967.




1 2 3

Circa 1929
Won Stop Auto Service
Spartan Sporting Goods
Ziph's Car Wash
2311 Frederick Avenue

Built in 1929, for the Pendleton, Bowen Company this was apparently the first full service auto center in St. Joseph and certainly an early one in the U.S.
J.I. Pendleton and Porter Srite, Jr., had been operating an ignition service in the 1800 block of the Avenue.
With the construction of this building all of the services, gasoline and oil-tires-batteries
Located at 2311 Frederick Ave, this building was once Ziph's Car Wash
It was the first fully automated car wash in town
Your car was towed through the wash via a chain through a series of brushes and sprayers
At the end of the wash there were several people who would dry your car off with towels
It was so popular that they opened a 2nd Ziph's Car Wash at the Belt Highway & Mitchell Avenue
The car wash was operated by the Mortimer family
This building later became a sporting wear shop and since has been occupied by several different businesses
Photos #1 & 2 - 2008 Photos submitted by Terry McGinnis




Wonstop Service Company
Service Station & Tires
2311-2317 Frederick




1 2 3 4 5

Circa 1946
Wickersham's Waffle Shoppe
Johnsons Junior Bootery
Smock Movie Rentals
Tattoo Parlor
Sturgis Leather
Deann Rene Dance Studio
2327 Frederick Avenue

F.W. Wickersham, who had operated cafes in St. Joseph for a number of years opened a waffle shop at 118 N. 9th in 1939
His business outgrew the small shop and so in 1940, he built another restaurant at the corner of 4th and Francis.
Having received his induction notice for the army, he sold out his business and then was not called up after all.
He then built this restaurant in 1946 and was in business here until he was forced to retire for health reasons.
Since that time, the store has been occupied by Johnsons Junior Bootery, a shoe store specializing in children's shoes.
In later years it was Johnsons Junior Bootery, a very popular shoe store for children
Donnetta Smock had a movie rental store here
Sturgis Leather store sold leather apparel for a few years
In 2011, it became a tattoo parlor
In 2013 it was Deann Rene Studio of Dance
Photo #4 submitted by Janice Johnson



24th STREET INTERSECTS



1

Circa 1912-1980
Theissen Residence
Connors Residence
Cardinal Oil Company
1002 North 24th Street

This house was built in 1912 by Otto Theissen who operated a saloon at 302 Edmond.
In later years, this house was owned by Mr. & Mrs. Joseph Connors.
Mr. Connors was a nephew of the Theissens and was raised by them.
The present owner is the son of True Davis, Jr. international banker and former ambassador to Switzerland and great-grandson of W. Frank Davis early stock yards commission man and in 1911 organizer, with his son True and E.A. Poe, of the Anchor Serum Company.






Circa 1892
WATSON GROCERY
2400 Frederick Avenue




1 2 3 4 5

Circa 1916/1956
NOYES HOSPITAL
MO METHODIST NURSES HOME
ANCHOR SERUM
FREDERICK TOWERS
2400 Frederick Ave

The Noyes Hospital was built in 1916 with a bequest from the will of Charles W. Noyes.
Noyes who was a native of New Hampshire had come to St. Joseph from White Cloud, Kansas
Noyes had been president of Noyes-Norman Shoe Company.
In 1894, after the death of their children, he and Mrs. Noyes had built the home for Little Wanderer's and endowed it.
The original entrance was removed, however, pictures show that it was a ground level with paired columns which extends to an ornate hood above the first floor level.
The door itself was double level with a semi-elliptical transom.
This institution is still in operation
The hospital was in operation until the late 1920's.
In 1931, Missouri Methodist Hospital purchased the building, intending at first to use it as a chronic care center.
Deciding not to use the building for this purpose, the hospital converted it into their nurses home.
In 1956, the Methodist Hospital constructed a new nurses home adjacent to the hospital and sold this building to True Davis, Jr., president of Anchor Serum Company.
Davis converted the building into corporate headquarters and moved the pharmaceutical laboratory here.
In 1976, Garland Wilson, retired president of the Seitz Packing Company purchased the building.
He has converted the 5th floor into luxury penthouses and is renting the rest of the building as office space. Noyes Hospital was located at 24th & Frederick Ave
In 1953 it was listed as Missouri Methodist Hospital Nurses Home
Anchor Serum acquired the building in 1955
Anchor Serum moved their operation to Belt & Gene Field
It is now called Frederick Towers, it houses many business offices

Photo #1: Noyes Hospital
Photo #2: Frederick Towers
Photo #3: October 1955 Newspaper article about Anchor Serum acquiring Noyes Hospital
Photo #4: 1917 photo of Noyes Hospital
Photo #5: Early 1970's photo of Frederick Tower




Cooper Radio & Television
2401 Frederick




Roche Sandwich Shop
2403 Frederick

George Roche Proprietor




1 2 3 4 5 6

Circa 1925
Avenue Flower Shop
George Roche Luncheon
Henry Whitman Tire Company
Dr. H.E. Petersen Office
Larry Jones & Lawrence Pilgrim, DDS
2401-2403 Frederick Avenue

This building was built in 1925 by E.S. Murphy, apparently as rental property.
Early tenants were the Avenue Flower Shop (a Stuppy Greenhouse branch) and George Roche who ran a restaurant in the east section of the building.
Roche's specialty was chili and the entire neighborhood frequented the restaurant.
In 1940 Henry Whitman's Tire shop was on the corner, one of three Avenue locations he occupied.
In the early 1950's, Dr. H.E. Petersen, prominent local pediatrician moved his office into this building
Dr. H.E. Petersen remained here until his retirement.
Lawrence Pilgram had his dental office here for 12 years, 1973-1985
The building was owned by Dr Peterson
Dr Hollingsworth DDS followed Dr Pilgram
The building was later sold to Dr Larry Jones DDS
Dr Nelson & Wife, both dentists, followed Dr Jones and is still in the building as of 2012






Circa 1962
Charles Willman, M.D.
Lipira & Piper, Podiatrists
2405 Frederick Avenue

This addition to the doctors office was constructed by Dr. H.E. Petersen while his pediatric practice was occupying the Murphy building.
One of the first tenants was Dr. Charles W. Willman, M.D




Pings Service Station
2405 Frederick




Myers Sinclair Service Station
2405 Frederick Avenue






Circa 1964
Home Oil & Gas Station
Collins Oil Company
Sinclair Oil Station
2407 Frederick Avenue

This building has an inverted V shaped roof which extends from a center pedestal of striated plastic. The north end of the building is enclosed with glass.
For many years this corner had a horse trough which had water run to it by the water company
In 1922, R.F. Ginn built the first of several filling stations at this location.
Ginn was the manager of this outlet for the Collins Oil Company as well as an officer of the Ginn Auto Supply Company on South 4th.
In the early 1930s, Ginn moved to Kansas City where he built the first two Dutch Mill Service Stations
In 1935, Sinclair Oil built another station on this site.






Circa 1980
Convenient Food Mart
2420 Frederick Avenue

There had been a service station on this corner since the early 1930s when Cities Service first built one.
In 1959, Cities Service demolished the two residences which were also on this half block and built a new station
The Cities Service station later became Champlin.
It seems worth noting that with construction of this store we have returned to an earlier style of grocery store with gasoline pumps out front




Sherman Service Station
2424 Frederick




Norris Service Station
2424 Frederick Avenue



25th STREET INTERSECTS



Warner's Service Station
25th & Frederick Avenue




1 2 3 4 5

Circa 1911
Dr. Jacob Geiger Mansion
Maud Wyeth Painter Residence
United Missouri Bank of St. Joseph
2501 Frederick Avenue

This was originally the Dr. Jacob Geiger Mansion
United Missouri Bank purchased the property and turned it into a bank
In 2011, United Missouri Bank gave the building to the city of St Joseph
The city had planned on turning the building into a fire station but later decided not to do so
Photo #5 is a overview of Dr Geiger's life




1 2 3

Circa 1941
Safeway Store
Mr Bee Hardware
Modern Cleaners
Frederick Avenue Cleaners
2506 Frederick Avenue

This building was built in the corporate style of this grocery chain.
There is a suspended canopy.
The bottom of the facade below the large show windows is laid in lark green ceramic tile.
The top of the facade has a three tier concrete cap.
There has been an addition on the rear of the building.
Until this building was built in 1941, the 1888 home of Gustave Andriano, who had been a wholesale liquor merchant, stood on this site.
For years, there had been stores in this block of Frederick.
Safeway vacated this store in 1966, when the new super-store was built as a part of East Hills Shopping Center.
Before building this store and several others of like design were in the city
Safeway had been located at 9th & Frederick




1 2

Circa 1948
Modern Cleaners
2510 Frederick Avenue

This very plain front is an infill to replace an older building on this site.
There is a recessed door with show windows on either side.
Above the door and windows there is a panel of prefinished tiles, which has the neon light name of the firm attached.
A soldier course of brick acts as a window header and another combined with a header course serves as a type of cornice.
The building is very shallow and the actual cleaning plant is some 15 feet to the rear.
Henry Anthes, who was a confectioner, built a building here in 1919 to house his grocery and confectionary
Henry Anthes had lived in a house which straddled the line between lots 4 and 5
As early as 1916, he is shown as the clerk of Post Office Station F.
In 1922, he moved to a new store at 2327 Frederick and this address became the location of Martin Feiden's grocery store
The present building, which has always been occupied by Modern Cleaners was built in 1948.
Photo #2 - Circa 1965






Circa 1931

Westminster Barber Shop
Kroger Grocery
Anns Cafe
Westminster Shoe Service
Worn Sole Antiques
Brunner & Thompson T.V. Service
U.S. Post Office
Worn Sole
Gee Whiz Cafe
Ollie Forbes Shoe Service
Ann's Cafe
2512-2514-2516 Frederick

This is a three section building with different depths on each of the sections.
The facade is separated into the three sections by brick piers which extend above the roof line.
The doors are recessed and originally there was tile beneath the windows.
The transom area has been covered with prefinished tile panels.
This two lot section is particularly interesting because in 1868 John Neucom was operating a hotel at this location.
This of course brings to mind that Frederick Avenue is found on the 1840's Surveyor's Map as "the road to Robidoux's" from the northeast into St.Joseph
Neucom and/or his family are at this address until the late 1890's.
In 1889, he built a small store at the northeast corner of lot 7 and this was for a time the office for the hack which ran out to the asylum.
These buildings were gone by 1911 having been replaced by another house.
In 1931, Meyer Block, built these buildings as rental property.
Since before 1940, the Fairleigh Station Post Office has been at either 2516 or 2514 Frederick.




United Department Store #5
2518 Frederick






Circa 1903/1924
Baldwin Grocery
Post Office Station
Westminster Pharmacy
Norris Drug Store
Herman Durg Store
United Department Store
The Bazaar
2520 Frederick

This is a false front attached to an older building in 1924.
Windows on second floor have a vertical multi paned upper sash, brick lug sills set in header pattern.
A soldier course of brick forms a continuous window header for the windows.
The first floor has a set of recessed doors in aluminum framing.
Show windows have striated metal sheathing beneath them.
Window and doors are surrounded by a panel of prefinished tile.
A large addition has been added to back of building.
This lot has had commercial property on it as far back as 1873
Isaac Keywood is listed as harness maker for Israel Landis and Looney as grocer, both at 2516 Frederick which was the early address on this lot.
By 1899, Siegel Field is listed as operating his grocery store at this address.
Siegel Field had earlier been at 1910 Frederick
In 1904, Siegel Field would build the building at 2601-2605 Frederick.
At the time he was at this location he was also operating the Asylum Hack, quartering his horses in a barn where he would build the building at 2601-2605.
In 1903, William L. Whittington, who was a doctor at the Asylum, built the front part of this building for rental.
It was a grocery store until the 1930's when it became a drug store.
It was a drug store until 1949.
United Department Stores opened a branch of their downtown store at this location in the early 1950's and remained until the mid-1960's






Circa 1953
McEnaney Skelly Service
2521 Frederick

Photo by Artcrafts Engraving Company




1 2 3 4

Circa 1948
HERMAN DRUG STORE
DONALDSON DRUGS
ROGER'S PHARMACY
2524 Frederick Avenue

Facade is almost entirely of glass with metal sheathing under windows aluminum frame door and suspended metal canopy.
End panel of building is sheathed in prefinished ceramic tile. Above the canopy is very plain brick parapet
At one time there was a grocery store operated by Lida Beverly on this lot but it was vacant before 1923 and remained so until the Hermans built this structure.
In 1949, they moved to this building from across the street at 2601 and Norris moved from 2518-2520 Frederick to 2601 Frederick and remained here until their retirement when it was occupied by Herman Drugs
The Herman Drug store opened on March 26, 1949
After many years, it became Donaldson Drugs
Later it became Roger's Pharmacy
Roger's Pharmacy is still in business today

Photo #1 - Herman Drug Store Grand Opening Advertisement
Photo #2 - Currently photo of Roger's Pharmacy
Photo #3 - Roger's Pharmacy




1

Circa 1924
Ike Rositzsky Residence
Ovid Crouch Residence
Jim Hartley Residence
925 Ashland Court

This house was built by Isaac Rositzsky who was President of the United Department Store as is his son Simon.
In the 1940's, the house was purchased by Ovid Crouch one of three brothers who operated Crouch Truck lines.
In the mid-1960's, Mr. & Mrs. Crouch were killed while on a far eastern trip when their plane crashed into Mount Fuji in Japan.



26th STREET INTERSECTS



Bundy's Service Station
26th & Frederick Avenue




Buckley Skelly Service Station
26th & Frederick Avenue




1 2 3 4

Circa 1889-1900
Saxton Heights School
Circa 1904
Siegel Field Grocery
Westminister Pharmacy
Circa 1937
Scanlan's Drug Store
Circa 1941
Herman Drug Store
Circa 1949
Norris Drug Store
Zercher Photographic
Athletic Attic
Dr. John Mothershead, MD
Dr. J.A. Jewett
2601-2605 Frederick Avenue

This building was built by Siegel Field, a grocer and butcher who had previously been in business at 1910 and 2516 Frederick.
When he first built the building, he operated his grocery store and meat market here.
By 1910, the corner was occupied by the Westminster Pharmacy whose manager was Thomas Elfred
(there had been an Elfred Drugs at 9th and Frederick before the turn of the century) Stephensons were running a grocery in the 2603-2605 section of Frederick Avenue.
The corner remained a drug store until circa 1960, with the tenants, Charles McRoberts, Harold Carlton (who also maintained the Post Office Station F), the Scanlan Drug Company and the Norris Pharmacy following in that order.
The east section of the building remained a grocery store with Mrs. G.M. Wilson, Siegel Fields, Beatty Store #52 and the Kennedy Grocery Company being the proprietors, until the early 1950's.
While the Noyes Hospital was in operation, the second floor of this building was the nurses home
Saxton Heights School was originally at this location (1889-1900)
In 1900, the elementary school was abandoned, the students were moved to the new Noyes School at 26th & Delaware
It is uncertain if the school was razed or incorporated into this building
After it was a school, Westminster Pharmacy was located at this site (1907-1913)
In 1937, Russell Scanlan took over the drug store and renamed it Scanlan's Drug Store (1937-1941)
It later became Herman's Drug Store (1941-1948)
By 1949, Herman's Drug Store had moved across Frederick Avenue into a newly constructed building on the south side of Frederick
Norris Drug Store then moved into this building at 2601 Frederick
Zercher Photographic was the last company I remember in this building

Photo #1 - taken when it was Westminister Pharmacy (1907-1913)
Photo #2 - taken in 2010
Photo #3 - Zercher Photographic advertisement
Information was provided by Jack Quinn
Color Photo submitted by Rodney Keyes




Frederick Ave 26th

Norris Drug #5
Kennedy Grocery
Dr Mothershead
2601-2605 Frederick Avenue

Located at 26th & Frederick Avenue
Left to right: Norris Drug, Kennedy Grocery, Dr Mothershead
Photo was submitted by Rodney Keyes







Circa 1969
Summers Apartments
2602 Frederick Avenue

This apartment house was built in the late 1960's
The land had not had a structure on it before
There had been a address of 2602 Frederick before but it was further to the west







Circa 1893
Randolph Davis Residence
James Norris Residence
Landmark Apartments
2604 Frederick Avenue

This house was built by W.G. Fairleigh as a wedding gift for his daughter Mary.
Mary and her sister, Jennie were married in a double wedding at First Presbyterian Church in January, 1893.
Mary's husband was Randolph Davis, son of W .T. Davis who was reportedly the first white child born in Buchanan County.
The Davis family occupied this house until the 1940s.
James Norris, Jr., owner of the Norris Poultry Company converted the residence into apartments and living there himself.




Hy-Klas #52
2605 Frederick Avenue






Circa 1972
7-11 Convenience Store
2607 Frederick Avenue

The building has overhanging roof with rectangular center pediment which carries the firms logo. Front wall is almost entirely full length glass.
The age of the convenience store came to Frederick Avenue with the construction of this store in 1972.
There had been 2 houses at this location which had been built back in 1911






Circa 1893
Charles Enright Residence
W.F. Enright Residence
Auxier Apartments
2610 Frederick Avenue

This house was built as a wedding gift for his daughter Jennie by W.G. Fairleigh.
Jennie and her sister Mary were married in a double ceremony at the First Presbyterian Church in January 1893, Jennie married Charles Frederick Enright.
Enright, a banker, was the son of Dr. M.C. Enright, a native of Ireland, who had come to St. Joseph in 1855 from Minnesota
Mrs. Enright died in 1900 and their son was raised by his grandparents, the Fairleighs.
Mr. C.F. Enright rented the house for some years until Fairleigh Enright returned from college and occupied the house




Apartments
(6 Apartments)
2610 Frederick






Circa 1902
Jacob Kruker Residence
Swan Johnson Residence
Dr. Jack Jewett , D.C. Office
2615 Frederick Avenue

This house was built early in this century by Jacob Kruker, a violin maker.
The Kruker family lived here until about 1920.
It was for years the residence of Swan Johnson, who was a local photographer.




Apartments
(6 Apartments)
2610 Frederick






Circa 1913/1939
Frederick Derge Residence
Lloyd Steckling Duplex
Judge Emmett Crouse Duplex
Mary Lee Price Duplex
2625 Frederick Avenue

This house was constructed by Frederick Derge, President of the Derge-Bodenhausen Clothing firm.
In the mid-1930s, it was occupied by Lloyd Steckling, who was the area manager for the Southwestern Bell Telephone.
Mr. Steckling converted this to a duplex in 1937
Other occupants included Circuit Judge Emmett Crouse and the Orval Andersons who owned and operated Schmaltz Florists.






Circa 1901
Louis W. Hax Residence
Hax Duplex
Sauvain Duplex
Melvin Wigersma Duplex
2627 Frederick Avenue

This house was built by Louis W. Hax, President of the Louis Hax Furniture Company.
Louis W. Hax was the son of Louis Hax, the early Market Square furniture manufacturer.
Louis W. Hax married Sarah Erwin, who survived her husband by a number of years.
After her husband's death in 1921, Mrs. Hax converted the house to a duplex, her daughter Louise lived upstairs with her. Mrs. W.W. Watkins and husband lived downstairs
In the 1950s, the house was purchased by Paul Sauvain who lived downstairs and rented the upstairs.
Sauvain was the longtime owner of the corner where the Rainbo Bakery is building their new service garage
He was a salesman for the Noyes-Norman and later the Brown Shoe Company






Circa 1902
J.O. Fairleigh Residence
Jeremiah Reeves Residence
Dale Holcomb Residence
2635 Frederick Avenue

This house was built by James O'Neill Fairleigh, son of W.G. Fairleigh.
James O'Neil Fairleigh and his wife, the former Forrestine McDonald, spent the first several years of their life at the family mansion across the street, but moved here in 1902.
The house was occupied by this same family until in the 1950s.
It was later owned by Jerry Reeves, a grandson of Henry Krug, Jr






Circa 1922
Henry Hesse Residence
John Engel Residence
Roy Bermond Residence
Edward Hunt Residence
2640 Frederick Avenue

This house which was built by Henry Hesse Vice-present of the Hesse-Rix Glass Company, stands approximately where the Fairleigh Mansion stood.
After the death of Mr. & Mrs. W.G. Fairleigh, the house which had been built in 1858, was torn down and the Fairleigh estate platted as Fairleigh Place in 1915.






Circa 1900
S, Woodsoon Hundley Residence
Fanny Boder Residence
Mrs. Bartlett Boder Residence
2649 Frederick Avenue

This house was built by S. Woodson Hundley, an officer of the Hundley Smith Dry Goods Company.
Hundley was the son or John Boring Hundley, a native of Tennessee, who had come from that state to Missouri in 1839.
His Boot and Shoes business grew into the giant wholesale dry goods house.
S.W. Hundley married Elaine Keith of Kansas City.
Their daughter, Eustis (Mrs. Ned Biles) was born in this house, but the family did not remain here long.
After ownership by August Wehrman, the house was purchased by Mrs. Fanny Bader, widow of Louis in 1913 and it has been in the Boder family since.



ASHLAND AVENUE INTERSECTS



1 2 3 4

Circa 1972
Standard Station
Erwin Standard Station
Don Smith Ashland Standard
AMOCO Oil
Maid-Rite
Crumbly Burger
2701 Frederick & Ashland

This building is a corporate style building with few architectural details other than steel and glass panels
There had been a Standard Service Station here since 1917.
This corner is historically important because it is at about this place that the "Road to Robidouxs" turned north-northeast
At a later date this would be Rochester road which went through the settlement and past the lands owned by Isaac Miller
The very early date of the gasoline company construction reflects the traffic which went by this corner.
Located on the Northeast corner of Frederick & Ashland
For many years, a Standard station was at this location
After Don Smith closed it was the home of Maid-rite for many years
Maid-rite closed all of the St Joseph restaurants
The building is currently the home of Crumbly Burger
Crumbly Burger offers an array of items on their menu

Photo #1 - Current photo of Crumbly Burger
Photo #2 - Photo of Don Smith's Tow Truck
Photo #3 - 1999 Maid-Rite advertisement marking 50 years in St Joseph
Photo #1 submitted by Rodney Keyes






Circa 1923
Hillcrest Apartments
2709-2711-2715 Frederick Avenue

This is an 18 unit apartment house.
The east and west sections are identical with screened porches on the first and second floors.
This building was built in 1923, by Rudolph Heim, a St. Joseph architect who specialized in designing multiple dwelling buildings.
He was born in Hamburg, Germany in 1874.
The nephew of F.F. Gensen, the secretary-treasurer of the Pfeiffer Stone Company, came to the United States in 1888 and was an apprentice stone cutter.
In 1895, he returned to Germany and entered the technical school at Holzmiden, from which he earned the degree of Master Builder.
Upon his return to the United States in 1897, he entered the firm of Edmund Eckel and remained until 1901 when he established his own practice.
His wife was the former Helen Haefeli.
This building has always been one of stable long term tenancy by upper middle class families.






Circa 1919
L.W. Lawing
E.A. Roselius
John C. Engle
James 0. Price, Jr.
Stanford Thomas
Jack Tootle
2723 Frederick Avenue

This house has been remodeled several times.
The front porch which is centered has a gable roof with eave returns, the gable end is shingled porch columns and balustrade a buff brick.
Facade of lower floor is brick also.
Windows on the first floor have arch voussoirs.
The door has shuttered outer door.
Sidelights are shuttered.
The second floor windows have wood label surrounds.
The roof has rather deep overhang.
Ashed roof dormer has apparently been added.
There is a two-story sun-room wing on the east.
The apartment and three of the houses on this block were all built within 15 years of each other in the first two decades of this century.
They reflect the first move out of the city center which became more rapid with development of the auto






Circa 1949
Lester Einbender Residence
Abisch Residence
2727 Frederick Avenue

This house was built by Lester Einbender in 1949
In 1949, Lester had entered the family business
Einbenders was a large national firm that was a leading womens wear store in the Midland Empire.






Circa 1911/1932
Judge W.K. Amick Residence
A.J. E1nbender Residence
2729 Frederick Avenue

This house was built in 1911
In 1932, remodeling of the house cost two thirds as much as the original construction price
This house was built by Judge W.K. Amick, a prominent attorney in the city.
Amick was born in Trenton, Missouri in 1867
He was a graduate of the University of Missouri in 1889
After which he came to St. Joseph and set up a practice.
He was elected a member of the Missouri General Assembly in 1898
After Amick's death this house was purchased by Mr. & Mrs. A.E. Einbender.
Sylvia Einbender was the merchandising genius who built a small neighborhood general store into the Einbenders, Inc. of today which is a national concern with many outlets.






Circa 1924
Charles Geiger Residence
Milton Herman Residence
2731 Frederick Avenue

This house was built in 1924 by Charles Geiger, a great-nephew of Dr. Jacob Geiger.
Charles Geiger came to St. Joseph from Kansas in 1916 and established one of the city's first grain commission businesses.
The Geiger Grain Company was for many years one of the largest firms associated with the St. Joseph Grain Exchange.



NOYES BOULEVARD INTERSECTS



Buchanan County Society for Crippled Children
2820 Frederick



29th STREET INTERSECTS





Missouri P.E.O. Home
2912 Frederick Avenue





1 2 3 4 5 6

Huston Wyeth Estate
30th-34th & Frederick

This was once the Huston Wyeth Estate that laid north of Frederick Avenue
The mansion was built in 1888
The estate had tall black wrought iron fencing all along Frederick Avenue for several blocks
Most of the estate is now gone, it was replaced with assorted office buildings
The estate covered an area of about 4 blocks long by 2 blocks deep
The mansion was totally remodeled and still remains in the rear area and has been used for various businesses
Doctors, lawyers, Water Company and other businesses also reside in several buildings that were constructed on the Wyeth property
As of August 2014, the Huston Wyeth Mansion is currently the headquarters for American Business & Technology University




Roy Kackley Contractor
3024 Frederick




General American Life Insurance
3032 Frederick

Sam Utz






American Angus Association
3201 Frederick Avenue




1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11

Circa 1874
State Lunatic Asylum No. 2
3408 Fredrick

The original "State Lunatic Asylum No. 2" opened in November of 1874 with 25 patients
It was built on land located east of the City of St. Joseph
In 1994, the State Hospital moved across the street to 3405 Frederick Avenue
The state turned this building into a prison or correctional center




St Joseph Catholic Boys Orphanage
St Marys Catholic Girls Orphanage
Sisters of St Francis
State Hospital #2
3501 Frederick

Also included:
St Marys Catholic Girls Orphanage
Sisters of St Francis
State Hospital #2




1 2 3 4

Circa early 1900's
J. J. Tootle's Cloverly Farm
Circa 1924
Catholic Home for Children
3529 Frederick Avenue

Circa: early 1900's
This mansion was one of the J. J. Tootle homes in the early 1900's
Circa: 1924
It was a Catholic Orphange for 36 years
The orphange closed in 1959 - see photos #3,#4 newspaper article
The mansion no longer exists
Bishop LeBlond High School is located on the property




1 2

BISHOP LeBLOND HIGH SCHOOL
3529 Frederick Avenue

Bishop LeBlond Memorial High School is the successor to the Convent of the Sacred Heart and Christian Brothers High School
Bishop LeBlond was founded in 1960 by the Benedictine Sisters of Mount St. Scholastica of Atchison, Kansas
In 1970, when Christian Brothers High School for boys closed, Bishop LeBlond became co-educational
The founding principles and missions of both predecessor schools remain alive at Bishop LeBlond High School
The school is now a diocesan high school of the Diocese of Kansas City-St. Joseph
Photo #1 - 2014 photo
Photo #2 - Class of 1965



36th STREET INTERSECTS



Building Bridges & Mgt. School

Building Bridges & Management School
3600 Frederick

3600 Frederick
(Woodson Building)




Bruner Service Station
Larry's Texaco Service
People's Furniture
3601 Frederick

For many years Larry's Texaco was located on the northeast corner of 36th & Frederick
When Larry's Texaco was razed People's Furniture built a wall and a structure at this address
People's Furniture closed in 2014




Bruner Cafe
3601 Frederick

In 1953, there was Bruner Cafe at this address




Carl's Service Station
3606 Frederick




Herb's Country Store
3606 Frederick Avenue




Hoffman's Champlin Station
3606 Frederick Avenue




Skateland
3615 Frederick

Skateland is listed at this address in the 1953 City Directory
Something doesn't jive address wise
I have 3605, 3615 and 3727 addresses for Skateland
I do not think the 3615 address is correct




1 2 3 4 5

Skateland Roller Rink
3727 Frederick
3605 Frederick
People's Furniture
3603 Frederick

In 1946, Carl Johnston built the first Skateland at 3727 Frederick
In 1950, he moved to his 2nd Skateland at 3605 Frederick
In September 1974, a new Skateland was constructed at 4314 South 40th Street

In 1974, the Skateland building was sold to People's Furniture
People's Furniture expanded the building into a large furniture store
People's Furniture closed it's doors forever in July/August 2014

Photo #1 - People's Furniture
Photo #2 - old Skateland advertisement
Photo #3 - 1974 newspaper article about the new Skateland
Photo #4 - People's Furniture going out of business sale July 2014






KROGER GROCERY
GIBSON DISCOUNT CENTER
3607 Frederick




Building under construction
3617 Frederick




MFA Central Co-operative Association
3635 Frederick




Stewart Service Station
3641 Frederick



IN 1953 THIS WAS THE CITY LIMITS





HOWARDS COURT MOTEL
36th & Frederick

This was located in the area where Commerce Bank is currently located






US Army Reserve Training Center
36th St & Frederick Ave

Newspaper photo & article about construction of the new Army Reserve Training Center that the Government is wanting to build 600 feet north of 36th & Frederick




Welch Stand Service Station
3715 Frederick




1 2

EAST SIDE AIRPORT
North of Flinchpaugh's Reptile Garden

East Side airport belonged to Oscar Cooke
It was located roughly about 300 feet north of Flinchpaugh's Reptile Garden
It and the Reptile Garden no longer exist
The airstrip can be seen at the top center of photo #2
Photo #1 submitted by Rick Boyd
Photo #2 partial aerial photo submitted by Paul O'konski




1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

FLINCHPAUGH'S
REPTILE GARDEN & ZOO
3727 Frederick

Flinchpaugh's was located one block east of Junction US 36 & US 71 Highways
The owners were Jon and Marjorie Flinchpaugh
Flinchpaugh's Zoo and Animal Farm. What an attraction for children and adults
After WWII, it was located at the NE corner of the Belt and Frederick
It was razed sometime during the early 1960's
Alligators, monkeys, birds, and various other animals populated the building

Photo #1 - Flinchpaugh Zoo Photo submitted by Larry Flinchpaugh
Photo #2 - Newspaper advertisement
Photo #3 - 2011 photo of Larry Flinchpaugh
Photo #4 - 1958 photo of Jon Flinchpaugh & a gator
Photo #5 - Black & white photo of Flinchpaugh's
Photo #6 - 1954 newspaper advertisement
Photo #7 - Buffalo at Flinchpaughs in 1951
Photo #8 - Vicky Lynn the Chimp
Photo #9 - Front view as it looked in the 1950's

Watch Larry Flinchpaugh's 1959 10 minute video of his parent's attraction
Flinchpaugh's Reptile Garden and Zoo




Welch's Service Station
Standard Oil
Belt & Frederick Avenue





SIZZLER FAMILY STEAK HOUSE
McALISTER'S DELI
3815 Frederick Avenue

For many years this was a popular steak house
McAlister's purchased the building and totally remodeled it
McAlister's offers sandwiches, salads and potatoes
They also sell their sweet tea by the gallon




Gary Rhodes Phillips 66
Trexmart #5 Phillips 66
3927 Frederick Avenue
(Woodbine & Frederick)





Woodbine School


Woodbine School
Woodbine & Frederick

Southeast corner of Woodbine & Frederick
Applebees now sits on this site






INTERSTATE I-29 Construction
Frederick Avenue

Looking south from Frederick, I-29 nearing completion at Frederick Avenue




Woodbine Country Store
40th & Frederick Avenue






Saint Paul Lutheran Church
4715 Frederick Avenue

Photo submitted by Rodney Keyes






Joe Klein's East Hills Dairy
4718 Frederick Avenue

Joe Klein was the owner and operator of this popular home town dairy
Photo - 1975 Calendar




1 2

Frederick Boulevard Baptist Church
5502 Frederick Ave

Photos submitted by Rodney Keyes




PLEASE SIGN MY GUESTBOOK



Feel free to email me with any photo donations, comments or questions
Rick Drozd rickdrozd@gmail.com


Return To Main Menu