free-counter-plus.com

Search Engine for St Joseph Memory Lane's Website
Need help finding a person, business, address or a thing?
Just type one or more words for a fast search
index sitemap advanced
site search by freefind



LISTED IN ALPHABETICAL ORDER





St Joseph Breweries of the past

This is a list showing many past breweries in St Joseph






LOOKING SOUTHWEST FROM 8th & EDMOND

This view looks Southwest from the old Post Office at 8th & Edmond
The Missouri River is in the background. Virtually all of downtown is visible






BIRD'S EYE VIEW OF SOUTH ST JOSEPH

This bird's eye view shows South St Joseph. The stock yards can be seen in the distance






Circa 1978
ALEXANDER FUNERAL HOME
2017 Angelique Street





Circa 1894
JOHN AUGUSTINE CIGAR MANUFACTURER
1705 Olive Street





Circa 1925
CHARLES HARRISON PLUMBING & HEATING
1309 South 10th Street





Circa 1925
JOHN GORDON PLUMBING & HEATING
2721 South 22nd Street







Circa 1977
ESCO CB MART
3214 South 169 Highway





Circa 1960
BEACON TRAILER COURT
821 South 36th Street





Circa 1925
M. J. DONEGAN PLUMBING & HEATING
110 South 4th Street





1 2

WONDER BREAD BAKERY
1205 South 11th Street







Circa 1905
MARY BRADY GROCERY STORE
2715 Locust Street
Circa 1905
NICHOLAS & MARY BRADY HOME
2713 Locust Street

In 1905, the grocery store belonged to Mary Brady
Grocer store was gone by 1912
The house on the left was built and owned by Nicholas Brady
None of the buildings in the photo still exist




1 2

27th & Locust Street prior to paving

Locust is now a paved street






Circa 1938
ACME MUSIC COMPANY
1410 Olive Street
Circa 1974
ACME MUSIC COMPANY
1701 Olive Street
Circa 1998
ACME MUSIC COMPANY
1701 Frederick Avenue

In 2018, Acme Music and Vending Co. is celebrating their 80th year in business in St. Joseph.
Walter and Margaret Cobb started Acme in 1938. In 1948 they moved to 1410 Olive
A new building was constructed at 1701 Olive in 1974, remaining there until 1998.
Acme Music purchased the old Polsky building on Frederick Avenue where they remain today.
Both former buildings of Acme locations still stand today.
The above information was submitted by Thomas Cobb (son of Walter and Margaret Cobb






AERIAL VIEW OF I-229 HIGHWAY







AERIAL VIEW LOOKING NORTHEAST
CENTERING ON WESTERN TABLET AREA
CIRCA 1940'S

The Western Tablet complex (Westab) is visible in the center of this photo





1

AERIAL VIEW LOOKING WEST
CENTRAL HIGH SCHOOL AREA
CIRCA 1945

Central High School, the old Municipal swimming pool surrounded by trees, the athletic track and the tennis courts are visible

Sherwood Elementry at 29th & Edmond is visible at the very bottom right

Just to the left of Sherwood the upper playground is visible





1 2 3 4

AERIAL VIEW LOOKING NORTHEAST
CIRCA 1940-1950'S

Photo #1 is a very large overview looking northeast
Central High School area is in the center of the photo
State Hospital #2 can be seen above the Central High area

Photo #2 is Central High School, Municipal Swimming pool and Noyes track
Note that the Municpal swimming pool is surrounded by trees

Photo #3 is Sears & Roebuck and the parking lot at 22nd & Messanie

Photo #4 is State Hospital #2, the narrow dirt road below the hospital is Faraon





1 2 3 4 5

AERIAL VIEW LOOKING NORTHWEST
CIRCA 1940-1950'S

Photo #1 - A very large aerial overview looking to the northwest

Photo #2 - In the top right corner is the State Hospital #2

Photo #3 - Central High School, Municipal Swimming Pool and Noyes track

Mark Twain and Myrtle Miller schools are seen at the bottom of the photo

Photo #4 is Mark Twain and Myrtle Miller schools

Photo #5 is the houses in the Meadow Lane addition at 32nd & Messanie street




1 2 3 4 5

AERIAL VIEW LOOKING SOUTHWEST
CIRCA 1940-1950'S

Photo #1 - Large aerial overview of the midtown area

Photo #2 - Sears & Roebucks, St Peter & Paul Catholic church and Barlett Colored High school

Photo #3 - Barlett Colored High school & St Peter & Paul Catholic church

Photo #4 - Central High School, Municipal Swimming Pool and Noyes Track

Photo #5 - Sears & Roebuck store at 22nd & Messanie





1 2

Circa 1961
AMERICAN CAN COMPANY
Easton Road
CONTINENTAL CAN COMPANY
Easton Road

Photo #1 - Feb 16,1961 Land Construction building American Can Co
Photo #2 - Aerial view of Continental Can Company on Easton Road




1 2

AERIAL VIEW LOOKING WEST
CIRCA 1960'S

Photo #1 - Large aerial photo looking west from Interstate I-29

The old Highway US 169, which no longer exists, in the top of photo

The railroad overpass which also no longer exists can be seen

Photo #2 is Continental Can Company on Easton Road




1 2 3

Circa 1958
I-29 Under Construction
Pigeon Creek Area
Circa 1960
I-29 Under Construction
Picket Road Overpass Circa 1958
I-29 Under Construction
Pigeon Creek Area

Photo #1 - May 1958 St Joseph News Press Photograph
Photo #2 - February 1960 St Joseph News Press Photograph
Photo #3 - May 2, 1958 St Joseph News Press Photograph






Circa 1960
I-29 Under Construction
Pickett Road Overpass

Photo - Feb 1960 St Joseph News Press Photograph






AERIAL VIEW LOOKING SOUTHWEST
FROM 12th & OLIVE STREET
Circa: 1905

The old Everett Grade School at 12th & Olive is visible at bottom left






Circa 1910
AMERICAN HAT & DRY CLEANERS
2321 Olive Street




1 2

AMERICAN FAMILY MUTUAL INSURANCE
4802 Mitchell Avenue

American Family Insurance in St. Joseph remains one of the city’s largest employers.
Employment counts for the St. Joseph office have remained steady over the years. There were 758 employees in 2017 and 766 as of January 2018.
American Family is the seventh-largest employer in St. Joseph, just behind Missouri Western State University, which employees 820, according to the St. Joseph Chamber of Commerce records.
Photo #1 - 1981 St Joseph News Press photo
Photo #2 - 2018 St Joseph News Press photo






ARNOLD NURSING HOME
701 South 11th





1 Artesian2 3 Artesian4 Artesian5

Circa 1890
ARTESIAN ICE & COLD STORAGE
Main & Jules
Circa 1920
2nd & Atchison
SW Lower Lake Road
1604 Cross

The Artesian Ice Company was formed in 1890
A warehouse was constructed at Main & Jules Streets to service the Goetz brewery
A warehouse was constructed at 2nd & Atchison to service the railroad & stockyard industries
A new warehouse was constructed on Lower Lake Road
The office is currently located at 1604 Cross




Hatcher Potato Chips1 Groves Checker Foods2 3

Circa 1951
GROVES CHECKERED FOODS
2633 Lafayette Street
HATCHER POTATO CHIP FACTORY
2633 Lafayette Street
Circa 1970
ARTS & CRAFTS SHOP
2633 Lafayette Street

There has been a lot of different businesses in this building
Photo #1 was submitted by Rodney Keyes




1 2

Circa 1981
B-7 WESTERN CLOTHING STORE
I-29 at South 169 Exit

This western clothing store was located just west of Paint Pony Lounge
They specialized in western clothing
They had 3 stores, located in King City, Cameron and St Joseph
Why the store's name B-7 (B bar 7) was named as such:
B for Bashor and the 7 was the number of family members
The store was owned by Bonnie & Eddie Bashor
At the time this photo was taken it had became an antique shop
Photo submitted by Rodney Keyes






BASEBALL LEAGUE IN 1910
2611 South 6th Street





1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

ST JOSEPH DRUMMERS BASEBALL LEAGUE

St. Joseph Drummers, named so for all the salesmen in the wholesale Mercantile warehouses in St. Joseph

I believe they played around 1900 to 1914 at a field somewhere around 6th and Mitchell

Anyway, standing in the top row, 3rd from left, is Dutch Zwilling. Dutch went on to play for the Chicago White Sox - 1910

American League, the Chicago Whales - 1914 and 1915

Federal League, and the Chicago Cubs - 1916 National League

He led the Whales with 29 home runs in 2 years, and was awarded a silver bat that is in the baseball hall of fame

He also managed the Kansas City Blues, was a scout for the NY Yankees and NY Mets (friend of Casey Stengle)
Photo #1 - and information above submitted by Brooke Hickman
Photo #2 - 1911 Drummer team
Photo #3 - 1911 team members on the back of a postcard
Photo #4 - 1911 Drummer roster
Photo #5 - 1912 Drummer Team - St Joseph newspaper photo
Photo #6 - 1912 Drummer Team - St Joseph newspaper photo
Photo #7 - 1912 Drummer roster
Photo #8 - 1915 List of Drummer Home games
Photo #9 - Dutch Zwilling newspress article

Photos #2-9 submitted by Kathy Blachly Daly




1 2

BATTERS BOX RECREATION COMPLEX
CLUBHOUSE RESTAURANT & BAR
Highway US 169 & Highway A

Photo #1 - Drink coaster
Photo #2 - Group sitting outside of the Batters Box




1 2

BELLON'S BAKERY
2601 Lafayette
BURNSTEIN BAKERY
2601 Lafayette
LEO'S BAKERY (CHRISTMAN)
2601 Lafayette
KATHY'S KLOSET
2601 Lafayette


Located on the northeast corner of 26th & Lafayette Street
3 different bakeries have occupied this building over the years
Photo was submitted by Rodney Keyes




1 2 3 4 5 6

BEE WAYNE BAKERY
521 Edmond
521 Edmond Was Demolished during Urban Renewal
2516 Mitchell
221 South 22nd

Bee Wayne bakery was once located on the northwest corner of 6th & Edmond

The downtown Bee Wayne sign is visible in photo #1

This is the only photo I have of Bee Wayne at this location

The downtown building no longer exists, it is currently a city parking lot
In the 1950 City Directory, Bee Wayne Bakery was listed at 2516 Mitchell

In 1935, 2518 Mitchell was Norris Drug Store and later became a Herman Drug Store

Bee Waynes was located on the west side of the drug store as photo #2 shows a bricked up wall and a doorway

The middle door is access to the apartment above

By 1960, the Bee Wayne bakery had moved to 221 South 22nd Street

It was one of St Joseph's most popular bakeries

John (Jake) Jacobs purchased the bakery building on South 22nd and converted into a garage to service his used cars and also served as his office for many years






BELCHER'S FUN HILL
2512 Pear

This was a small miniature golf course. They later had trampolines you could jump on for a small fee
Photo - 1971 newspaper advertisement






BIRD'S EYE VIEW SHOWING INDUSTRIES





Circa 1958
BLUE TOWN SHOPPING CENTER
1002-1020 South 10th Street

None of Blue Town buildings exist in 2018




1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12


BLUE TOWN
South 10th

Several business buildings on South 10th Street, between Seneca & Penn Street, were painted blue, thus the area was called Blue Town
  • 1002-1020 Blue Town Shopping Center
  • 1002 South 10th - Blue Town Tavern
  • 1004 South 10th - Blue Town Cafeteria
  • 1006 South 10th - Blue Town Barber & Beauty Shop
  • 1006½ South 10th - Blue Town Apartments
  • 1008 South 10th - Blue Town Apartments
  • As of August 2012, the last of the Blue Town buildings was torn down
    Blue Town Packard was located at 1016-1020 South 10th Street
    Everett Seward was the owner of Blue Town Packard
    All of the Blue Town buildings are now gone

    Photo #1 - Blue Town Tavern - Taken prior to razing in 2012
    Photo #2 - Blue Town Tavern - Taken prior to razing in 2012
    Photo #3 - Blue Town Tavern - Taken prior to razing in 2012
    Photo #4 - Blue Town Tavern - Taken prior to razing in 2012
    Photo #5 - Blue Town Tavern - Taken prior to razing in 2012
    Photo #6 - Blue Town Tavern - Taken prior to razing in 2012
    Photo #7 - Blue Town Tavern - The last Blue Town building is gone
    Photo #8 - Blue Town Packard advertisement
    Photo #9 - Blue Town Packard advertising paper weight
    Photo #10 - Blue Town Packard advertisement
    Photo #11 - Blue Town Packard advertisement
    Photo #12 - Blue Town on South 10th





    Circa 1958
    BLUE TOWN CAFETERIA
    1004 South 10th Street

    None of Blue Town buildings exist in 2018






    Circa 1966
    BLUE TOWN MOTORS COMPANY
    1005 South 10th Street

    Photo - 1966 St Joseph News Press advertisement




    Circa 1958
    BLUE TOWN BARBER & BEAUTY SHOP
    1006 South 10th Street

    None of Blue Town buildings exist in 2018




    Circa 1958
    BLUE TOWN APARTMENTS
    1006½ South 10th Street

    None of Blue Town buildings exist in 2018




    Circa 1958
    BLUE TOWN APARTMENTS
    1008 South 10th Street

    None of Blue Town buildings exist in 2018






    BOB MADGET INC
    2425 South 6th Street

    St Joseph's oldest demolition company
    Building Demolition, Heavy Hauling and used building materials
    Photo - 1915 Bob Madget calendar
    The Bob Madget company razed many buildings during the Urban Renewal program






    BOLIN AUTOMOTIVE
    1211 South 10th Street





    BON TON CLEANERS
    1528 Mitchell Ave
    S&S PLUMBING
    1528 Mitchell Ave

    Bon Ton Cleaners are out of business
    The building is currently occupied by S&S Plumbing




    BUIS BEAUTY SHOP

    BUIS BEAUTY SHOP
    30th & Lafayette

    Located on north east corner of 30th & Lafayette
    This used to be Buis Beauty Shop, owned by Gale Buis' parents
    Various shops occupied the adjoining space, at one time it was a grocery store

    2008 Photo submitted by Terry McGinnis




    BURLINGTON BANNER CAFE
    Florence Road & King Hill Avenue

    Florence Road & King Hill Avenue
    Florence Road was closed off many years ago by Burlington Railroad
    Structure is now gone




    1 2

    BURNSTEIN BAKERY
    817 South 8th

    Tokens redeemable for a 5 cent loaf of bread
    Burnstein Bakery made some great rye bread
    I was never in the store but in the 1950's, my grandfather brought rye bread home from their bakery numerous times a week
    The building still stands, St Joe Laser occupies the building






    BUTCHART GREEN HOUSES
    3316 Pickett Road




    1 2

    BYERS TRANSPORTATION
    801 Hickory





    1 2 3 4 5 6

    Circa 1924
    A. F. GROCERY
    2642 Lafayette Street
    Circa 1928
    BASKET GROCERY STORE
    2642 Lafayette Street
    Circa 1932
    NATIONAL MEAT & GROCERY
    2642 Lafayette Street
    Circa 1935
    BARNES & COMELLO GROCERY
    2642 Lafayette Street
    Circa 1937
    PETER COMELLO GROCERY
    2642 Lafayette Street
    Circa 1939
    PETER COMELLO MEATS
    2642 Lafayette Street
    Circa 1939
    JAMES ANDREWS GROCERY
    2642 Lafayette Street
    Circa 1940
    LEWIS JENSEN GROCERY
    2642 Lafayette Street
    Circa 1940
    PETER COMELLO MEATS
    2642 Lafayette Street
    Circa 1942
    MURPHY'S JACK SPRAT GROCERY
    2642 Lafayette Street
    Circa 1946
    MURPHY'S JACK SPRAT GROCERY
    2642 Lafayette Street
    Circa 1947
    LEE & PARKER GROCERY
    2642 Lafayette Street
    Circa 1949
    ST JOSEPH INVISIBLE WINDOW COMPANY
    2642 Lafayette Street
    Circa 1950
    GREGORY HOME MODERNIZING
    2642 Lafayette Street
    Circa 1951
    EVERETT HOME MODERNIZING
    2642 Lafayette Street
    Circa 1953
    BUCKEY HOME MODERNIZING
    2642 Lafayette Street
    Circa 1957
    LAUNDROMAT
    2642 Lafayette Street
    Circa 1981
    OK TROPHY SALES
    2642 Lafayette Street





    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

    Circa 1905
    JOSEPH TRAPP GROCERY & MEATS
    2641 Lafayette
    Circa 1912
    JOSEPH TRAPP GENERAL MERCHANDISE
    2639-2641 Lafayette
    Circa 1915
    JOSEPH TRAPP GENERAL MERCHANDISE
    2639-2641 Lafayette
    Circa 1924
    PETER VOMELLA MEAT SHOP
    2641 Lafayette
    Circa 1930
    MILLER BEATY No 28 FOOD STORE
    2641 Lafayette
    Circa 1940
    MILLER BEATY No 28 FOOD STORE
    2641 Lafayette
    Circa 1951
    GORMAN'S HY-KLAS FOOD STORE
    2641 Lafayette
    Circa 1957
    HY-KLAS FOOD STORE No 28
    2641 Lafayette
    Circa 1961
    ST JOSEPH CLEANERS
    2641 Lafayette
    Circa 1981
    OK TROPHY SALES
    2642 Lafayette
    Circa 1989
    CABBAGE ROLL GERMAN RESTAURANT
    2641 Lafayette

    Want a unique dining experience? Try the Friday night buffet at the Cabbage Roll
    It is owned and operated by 2 gentlemen of German descent
    Larry Matt and Andy Halamar opened the restaurant Aug. 1, 1989
    Both men come from German backgrounds
    The restaurant has extensive German decor
    Superb home cooked German and other cusines are served buffet style on Friday evenings
    The Buffet is available only on Friday beginning at 5pm by reservation only
    Beside the buffet there is also a desert section filled with homemade deserts
    They serve sandwiches for lunch Monday-Friday from 11-2 PM
    The Cabbage Roll is closed on Saturday and Sunday
    Ask them for a copy of the buffet schedule, their buffets change every month
    The building was once Gorman's Hy-Klas grocery store

    Photo #1 - Cabbage Roll restaurant submitted by Terry McGinnis
    Photo #2 - Cabbage Roll restaurant submitted by Rodney Keyes
    Photo #3 - Example of a buffet menu July through September 2014
    Photo #4 - Larry Matt and Andy Halamar, Owners of the Cabbage Roll
    Photo #5 - Current photo of the entrance
    Photo #6 - Business card with owner names
    Photo #7 - The backside of the business card showing open schedule
    Photo #9 - 1981 St Joseph News Press advertisement





    CAIN'S GARAGE & TRAILER SALES
    2926 Pear

    Photo submitted Rodney Keyes




    1 2 3 4 5 6

    Building Circa 1890
    Circa 1932
    JEFFERSON DRUGS
    2407 Messanie
    Circa 1935
    WAPOLE DRUG STORE
    2407 Messanie
    Circa 1950
    MIDLAND PHOTO SHOP
    2407 Messanie
    Circa 1978
    MIDLAND PHOTO SHOP
    2407 Messanie
    The building was razed in 2014

    The large brick building was built in 1890
    From 1950 to 1961, Midland Photo Service was here
    John & Martha Branson were the proprietors
    In later years, other businesses occupied the building
    In 2014, the brick building was razed, currently an empty lot exists
    Chuck's Barber Shop was the smaller building on the east side of it




    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11

    C B & Q OVERPASS
    NOYES BOULEVARD & MESSANIE
    The old railroad bridge has been removed
    Over the years, many trucks had gotten struck the low bridge
    As seen in photo #9, Officer Ron Davis issuing truck driver a ticket for hitting the overpass

    Photo #1 - Noyes & Messanie intersection looking north
    Photo #2 - Across from Moila looking north
    Photo #3 - Frederick & Noyes - looking north
    Photo #4 - Further north on Noyes - looking north
    Photo #5 - 1937 view of the CB & Q Railroad bridge
    Photo #6 - Only the east bridge abutment remains in 2013
    Photo #7 - View from 28th Street, Henry's or Parkway Broasted Chicken visible
    Photo #8 - Blown up view of the railroad bridge
    Photo #9 - Officer Ron Davis issuing truck driver a ticket for hitting the overpass
    Photo #10 - Removal of the bridge
    Photo #11 - Removal of the bridge






    Circa 1925
    CENTRAL OIL COMPANY
    Station #6
    10th & Mitchell






    Circa 1981
    CHUCK'S CAR WASH
    36th & Mitchell
    Behind Green Hills




    1 2

    Circa 1955
    CROUCH BROTHERS TRUCK LINES
    802 South 7th
    The building no longer exists




    Circa 1930
    A. J. EINBENDER DEPARTMENT STORE
    1501 Sacramento

    Listed in 1930 City Directory at this address
    The building no longer exists, only a vacant grass lot remains




    1 2 3

    Circa January 1,1931
    A. J. EINBENDER DEPARTMENT STORE
    (Temporary location due to fire)
    Circa 1951
    DAVID'S DEPARTMENT STORE
    2102 South 10th Street

    The building no longer exists, only a vacant grass lot remains
    Photo #2 - 1951 St Joseph News Press advertisement
    Photo #3 - 1931 St Joseph News Press advertisement




    1 2 2

    Circa 1937
    HENRY VEGELMAN
    WHOLESALE BAKING COMPANY
    1524 South 10th Street
    Circa 1946
    BEADNALL ELECTRIC CORPORATION
    1524 South 10th Street






    Circa 1924
    O'HARA BROTHERS GARAGE
    1220 South 10th Street
    Circa 1935
    VACANT
    1220 South 10th Street
    Circa 1940
    VACANT
    1220 South 10th Street
    Circa 1946
    ST JOSEPH STAMPING COMANY
    1218-1220 South 10th Street
    Circa 1949
    DOLLY MADISON CAKE COMPANY
    1220 South 10th Street
    Circa 1957
    DOLLY MADISON CAKE COMPANY
    1220 South 10th Street
    Circa 1959
    ST JOSEPH DISTRIBUTING COMPANY
    1220 South 10th Street

    Located north of Phillip Ice Cream on South 10th Street




    1 2

    Circa 1900
    GEORGE GITZ SALOON
    1224 South 10th Street
    Circa 1920
    GEORGE GITZ SOFT DRINKS
    PROHIBITION ERA
    1224 South 10th Street
    Circa 1932
    ROY HEATER SOFT DRINKS
    PROHIBITION ERA
    1224 South 10th Street
    Circa 1937
    ALF ROMIG TAVERN
    1224 South 10th Street
    Circa 1937
    JOHN BAKER RESTAURANT
    1224 South 10th Street
    Circa 1940
    ALF ROMIG TAVERN
    1224 South 10th Street
    Circa 1946
    ALF ROMIG TAVERN
    1224 South 10th Street
    Circa 1946
    PAPADAS RESTAURANT
    1224 South 10th Street
    Circa 1951
    GUS PAPADAS RESTAURANT
    1224 South 10th Street
    Circa 1957
    ALF ROMIG TAVERN
    1224 South 10th Street
    Circa 1957
    ALF ROMIG LUNCH
    1224 South 10th Street
    Circa 1960
    ALF ROMIG TAVERN
    1224 South 10th Street

    Photo #1 submitted by Rodney Keyes
    Photo #2 submitted by Terry McGinnis




    1 2 3 4

    FLASH TAVERN
    CARMEN'S TAVERN
    DALE'S INN
    THE HIPPOPOTAMUS
    3735 So 11th Street Road

    The Flash Tavern opened back in the 1950's and after numerous taverns occupying the building, it was torn down in the late 1970's or early 1980's
    It was a small tavern located on the south side of 11th Street Road, just west of 16th Street
    The building in now gone, just an empty field





    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

    Circa 1939
    CENTRAL POLICE STATION
    710 South 9th

    This was Central Police Station for many years
    It was constructed in 1939
    Greg Filardo purchased the building and is storing his collectibles within
    In August 2, 2010 - the History Channel's American Pickers visited & filmed Greg's collectibles. He has some fantastic items
    You can see the video here. Click Here Watch Video
    Photos #1-6 taken in 2013 by David Osgood
    Photo #9 - Submitted by Roger Seward






    CENTRAL STATES RACEWAY
    5211 Easton Road

    Photo: 1984 newspaper advertisement for Family Go-Kart Racing




    1 2 3

    Circa 1954
    CHAPMAN CABINET SHOP
    1401-1403 Sacramento

    This shop was located 1401 Sacramento
    Photo #1 - submitted by Rodney Keyes
    Photo #2 - 1960 Chapman News Press advertisement
    Photo #3 - 1954 Chapman News Press advertisement




    Charm Girl Beauty Shop

    CHARM GIRL BEAUTY SHOP
    1615 South 33rd Street

    This shop was located 1615 South 33rd Street
    Photo was submitted by Rodney Keyes






    CHUCK'S HAIR CENTER
    24th & Messanie

    Chuck's barber shop was a popular barber shop in the 1960's
    In 2014, both buildings were razed, currently a large empty lot now exists




    1 2 3 4 5 6

    Circa 1910
    CIRCUS FAIRGROUNDS & CONCESSION STAND
    6th & Atchison
    Circa 1950
    DAILEY BROTHERS 5 RING CIRCUS
    6th & Atchison
    Circa 1950
    DAILEY BROTHERS CIRCUS
    6th & Atchison

    The Fairgrounds located at 6th and Atchison was used for circuses and other events

    In photo #1, Rick Stafford's grandfather, James (Jimmy) Byrne, the man leaning on the pole, and his crew sold Coca Cola at the concession stand

    Look at those shirts, they have Coca Cola written all over them

    Check out those old Coca Cola bottles & cases

    This area no longer exists, the Light & Power company and Highway US 36 overpass consumes this area

    Photo #1 - Concession stand in the early 1900s at the Fairgrounds
    Photo #2 - A circus is set up and ready for business
    Photo #3 - St Joseph Trolley stopped at the circus at 6th & Atchison
    Photo #4 - 1940 St Joseph News Press photo about the Barnum & Bailey Circus
    Photo #5 - May 6, 1950 St Joseph News Press photo/article Dailey Bros 5 ring circus
    Photo #6 - May 7, 1950 St Joseph News Press photo/article Dailey Bros 5 ring circus
    Photo #1 was submitted by Rick Stafford






    CITY STADIUM
    Circa 1930's
    27th & Messanie






    Circa 1924
    C. O. WHEELER GARAGE
    Auto Painting
    1613 Messanie Street




    1 2

    Circa 1910
    TURNER & COOK GAS COMPANY
    7th & Slyvanie
    Circa 1937
    COOK GAS PLUMBING & HEATING SUPPLY
    3rd & Sacramento

    Photo #1 - 1953 Aerial News Press photo of Cook Gas
    Photo #2 - 1953 Captions explaining the objects in the aerial photo




    CRANE SUPPLIES HARDWARE STORE
    5010 King Hill Avenue







    Circa 1951
    CRANE TV
    26th & Lafayette

    Television repair shop
    In 1960, I purchased a used pinball machine from Mr. Crane for $50




    CREVERLING CABINET & HARDWARE
    1415 Messanie Street




    CUT RATE LUMBER COMPANY
    5th & Patee Street




    1 2

    Circa 1955
    CRISWELL OIL COMPANY
    917 South 9th Street

    Was located between Olive and Lafayette on South 9th Street
    Currently an automotive repair shop




    Schmidt Carriage1 Schmidt Carriage2 Schmidt Carriage3 Schmidt Carriage4 Schmidt Carriage5 Schmidt Carriage6 Schmidt Carriage7 Schmidt Carriage8

    Circa 1890
    D. H. SCHMIDT CARRIAGE & WAGON CO
    923-925 South 9th
    (9th & Lafayette)

    Dietrich Hermann Heinrich Schmidt, Birth: Dec. 10, 1861
    Gandesbergen, Nienburger Landkreis, Lower Saxony (Niedersachsen), Germany
    Death: Jan. 1, 1928, Saint Joseph, Buchanan County, Missouri, USA
    Photo #1 is the original building when the business began
    Located at 9th & Lafayette. Manufactured moving vans, trucks, carriages, buggies and business wagons
    Photo #1 - submitted by Wheeler Schmidt
    Photo #2 - submitted by Wheeler Schmidt
    Photo #8 - 1922 St Joseph News Press advertisement




    1 2 3

    HICKORY HALL
    Circa 1923
    HICKORY THEATER
    2235 South 11th Street
    11th & Hickory
    Circa 1940
    HICKORY THEATER
    2235 South 11th Street
    11th & Hickory
    Circa 1958
    HICKORY THEATER
    2235 South 11th Street
    11th & Hickory

    Hickory Theater was located on northeast corner of 11th & Hickory
    Hickory Theater opened Saturday September 15, 1923
    Movie playing: William Farnum in Without Compromise
    Last date open: Monday, May 5, 1958
    Last shows played:
    Audie Murphy In The Quiet American
    Pamela Duncan in Gun Battle at Monterey




    1 2 3

    Circa 1936
    DEGGINGER FOUNDRY
    611 Hickory
    Circa 1977
    DEGGINGER FOUNDRY
    611 Hickory

    Robert H Jones, Owner
    This business is now closed
    Photo #3 - 1977 St Joseph News Press advertisement




    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

    DEVIL'S BACKBONE

    This area was originally called France's Hill
    Back in the 1970's Don Burns and Rick Drozd began creating some paths for motorcycle riding. Soon afterwards, many guys on motorcycles showed up and with their help, the entire area became a hill climbers & trail rider's paradise
    Also in the 1970's, police found marijana growing here, they cut it down and had a huge bonfire going
    In recent years the city leveled most of the mountain
    A city park called Carden Park was created here
    In 2014, a new city school called Carden Park School was constructed in this area

    Photo #1 - Devils Backbone as seen from the southern downtown area
    Photo #2 - Devils Backbone as viewed in the 1700 block of south 12th Street
    Photo #3 - Rick Drozd hillclimbing on Devil Backbone back in the early 1970's
    Photo #4 - A view in the heart of the mountain
    Photo #5 - House at 2101 South 14th St that was built in 1893
    Photo #6 - 1947 photo of Devils Backbone
    Photo #7 - 1889 photo of France's Hill, AKA Devils Backbone
    Photo #8 - Circa 1851 view from Devil's Backbone
    Photo #9 - Looking north from Devil's Backbone, Westab is visible




    1 2 3 4 5 6

    DEVIL'S BACKBONE AREA
    NEW SCHOOL CONSTRUCTION

    Some years ago, the city escavated & removed most of Devil's Backbone
    In it's place, the city created a new city park called Carden Park
    The city later decided to build a new school at that location
    During 2013, Carden Park School began construction
    My wife and I decided to see where the new school was being constructed
    It took us a while to find where this new school is being built
    The area is fairly surrounded by narrow and hilly streets
    Maybe the city will widen the streets by the time the school is ready to open
    EASY DIRECTIONS TO THE NEW SCHOOL SITE:
    Go to 22nd & Duncan, then go west on Duncan to 14th & Duncan
    At 14th & Duncan, the new school will be visible on the southwest corner
    Photos #1-6 were taken on October 1, 2013




    Dick Ruoff Grocery

    DICK RUOFF HYKLAS GROCERY
    29th & Edmond

    Once a white wood sided building, this store was located on the NE corner of 29th & Edmond
    This was a popular HyKlas grocery store owned and operated by Dick Ruoff
    I remember in the early 1950's my grandmother giving me a quarter, telling me to get a loaf of bread and quart of milk, allowing me to buy a 3 Musketeer candy bar and still have change to give her back
    The bread was wrapped in wax paper and the milk had a cardboard stopper
    2008 Photo submitted by Terry McGinnis




    1 2

    Circa 1950
    DOUBLE M CHINCHILLA FARM
    36th & Pacific







    Circa 1979
    DOUBLE M VARIETY & WESTERN STORE
    1611 Mitchell Avenue





    1 2

    Circa 1899
    DOUGHERTY & MOSS LUMBER CO.
    10th & Mitchell Avenue
    Circa 1918
    DOUGHERTY & MOSS LUMBER CO.
    10th & Mitchell Avenue





    1 2

    DUGDALE PACKING COMPANY
    South 11th Street

    Dugdale Packing was once was a major beef packing company that was located a few blocks south of Quaker Oats on 11th Street
    Photo #1: As the building appears in 2012
    Photo #2: 1950 Dugdale Fleet photo




    DYER HARDWARE STORE
    1013 Hickory




    1 2

    PAUL'S TIRE SHOP
    2608 Messanie
    Circa 1972
    EDWARDS TELEVISION SERVICE
    2608 Messanie




    E & M Dress Shop1 2 3 4

    Circa 1930
    BASKET STORE #81
    3304 Mitchell Avenue
    Circa 1983
    E & M DRESS SHOP
    3304 Mitchell Avenue
    Circa 1984
    E & M DRESS SHOP
    3304 Mitchell Avenue

    E & M was the 2nd building (red & white building)
    Photo #1 - submitted by Rodney Keyes
    Photo #2 - 1984 News Press advertisement
    Photo #3 - 1983 News Press advertisement






    Circa 1987
    BRUNNER TV
    3224 Mitchell Avenue

    Photo - 1987 News Press advertisement






    EAST END HARDWARE
    3222 Mitchell Avenue
    C & M HOME APPLIANCE CENTER
    3222 Mitchell Avenue

    Chuck Combs his wife were the owners & operators of the East End Hardware store. Chuck told me that Mrs Combs passed away in 2002
    This was a full service hardware store, if he didn't have it, he would get it for you. Several businesses have occupied the location since the hardware store closed
    Ron Coons currently owns and operates C&M Home Appliance Center
    We have purchased appliances from him since 1986
    Ron also repairs appliances
    Photo - Circa 1984 St Joseph News Press advertisement




    Circa 1930
    E.J. CHARTERAND SHOE REPAIR
    3227 Mitchell Avenue





    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

    Circa 1930
    C. E. OWENS GROCERY
    3229 Mitchell Avenue
    Circa 1940
    GEORGE GOLL GROCERY
    3229 Mitchell Avenue
    Circa 1942
    MUNY INN RESTAURANT
    3229 Mitchell Avenue
    Circa 1947
    PLOWMAN PIKE TAVERN
    3229 Mitchell Avenue
    Circa 1949
    MUNY INN
    3229 Mitchell Avenue
    Circa 1955
    MUNY INN
    3229 Mitchell Avenue

    Located on the northwest corner of 33rd & Mitchell Avenue
    This was a popular bar for many years, owned by Virgil Basnor
    Virgil cut his own french fries by hand, they were very good

    Photo #5 - Owner Virgil Bashor
    Photo #7 - Owner Virgil Bashor
    Photo #1 submitted by Rodney Keyes
    Photo #2 submitted by Terry McGinnis




    Circa 1930
    STANDARD OIL FILLING STATION
    3301 Mitchell Avenue





    1 2 3 4 5 6

    EINBENDER'S CLOTHING STORE
    701-705 South 8th Street

    Einbender's 1st clothing store was once located on the Southeast corner of 8th & Locust

    It was built in 1940 by Lester Einbender's parents, Mr & Mrs A.J. Einbender, and the store had doubled in size by 1948

    The above photo was taken looking SE from 8th & Locust
    The photo was taken on January 25, 1957

    Five fire companies, included 20 on duty firemen and half a dozen off duty firemen, battled the fire in 20 degree weather for 8 hours and 35 minutes

    It took them 4 hours to get it under control trying to prevent the fire from spreading to a warehouse directly south of Einbenders

    The Heitman Mattress Company was located directly south of the warehouse at 715 South 8th. Mr Heitman thanked the Fire Department for preventing the fire from reaching his building

    Almost a dozen policemen were directing traffic

    Damage was estimated at $800,000 (a lot of money back in 1957)




    Einbenders

    EINBENDERS WOMENS CLOTHING
    POLLOCK REFRIGERATION
    POLLOCK HOBBY SHOP
    10th & Sacramento

    This shop was located on the SE corner of 10th & Sacramento
    Once owned by Lester Einbender, later Maurice & Bob Pollock had their refrigeration & hobby shop here






    ELECTRO TV REPAIR
    807 South 8th Street

    E.R. Sullwold owner




    Circa 1921
    TRAPP BROTHERS GROCERY
    2638 Lafayette Street




    1 2 3 4

    Circa 1921
    S. J. WILSON GROCERY
    2642 Lafayette Street
    BUCKEY HOME MODERIZING COMPANY
    2642 Lafayette Street
    Circa 1951
    EVERETT HOME MODERIZING COMPANY
    2642 Lafayette Street

    Photo #2 - 1951 St Joseph News Press advertisement
    Photo #3 - 1951 St Joseph News Press advertisement
    Photo #4 - 1951 St Joseph News Press advertisement




    3

    Circa 1930
    E. W. RAY & SON LUMBER COMPANY
    7th & Patee Streets




    1 2 3

    Circa 1922-1924, 1958
    FAIRVIEW GOLF COURSE
    33rd & Pacific

    Fairview Golf Course, 136.8 acres southwest of Duncan Street on the Southwest Parkway, is an 18-hole course with clubhouse, pro shop and concessions
    Photo #3 - Sept 2, 1940 - The Fairview Clubhouse burns down






    FARBER SEED COMPANY
    South 4th Street







    Circa 1930
    SHOE REPAIR
    2613 Lafayette Street
    Circa 1951
    MITCHELL AVENUE CLEANERS
    2613 Lafayette Street
    FARLEY PLUMBING & HEATING
    2613 Lafayette Street





    HILLYARD APARTMENTS
    715 South 13th Street

    Circa 1924
    APARTMENTS
    715 South 13th Street






    Circa 1952
    FARM BUREAU OF MISSOURI INSURANCE
    Francis O. Waller
    715 Atchison Street




    FARMER'S STORES
    311 Cherokee





    Fisher Grocery

    Circa 1900
    JOHN EGLI MEAT MARKET
    2310 South 11th Street
    Circa 1915
    JOHN EGLI MEAT MARKET
    2310 South 11th Street
    Circa 1921
    CLARENCE FISHER MEAT MARKET
    2310 South 11th Street
    Circa 1930
    CLARENCE FISHER MEAT MARKET
    2310 South 11th Street
    Circa 1937
    CLARENCE FISHER MEAT MARKET
    2310 South 11th Street
    Circa 1940
    CLARENCE FISHER A-G GROCERY
    2310 South 11th Street
    Circa 1951
    CLARENCE FISHER A-G GROCERY
    2310 South 11th Street
    Circa 1958
    NATIONAL WELDING SUPPLY
    2310 South 11th Street
    SUGAR SHACK BAKERY
    2310 South 11th Street

    Photo submitted by Rodney Keyes






    J S HOPKINS AUTO & TRUCK SERVICE
    1701 South 4th




    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

    Circa 1951
    FLORA'S CAFE
    1310 South 6th


    Flora's Cafe was on the south end of a block across from Union Depot (photo #7)
    The block had a hotel, drug store, barber shop with baths & a saloon
    A BATHS sign can be seen in photo #4
    Barber poles are in front of Flora's, it may have previously been a barber shop
    The Flora's Cafe structure is the only remaining structure in 2013
    Some photos submitted by Rodney Keyes



    COAL DEALERS - RETAIL YARDS

    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13

    Circa 1882
    ST JOSEPH COAL COMPANY
    SE Corner of 6th & Patee
    Circa 1899
    SEYMOUR COAL COMPANY
    1402 South 6th Street
    Circa 1900
    KANSAS & TEXAS COAL COMPANY
    925 South 6th Street
    Circa 1900
    GEORGE PAYNE COAL & WOOD
    810 South 6th Street
    Circa 1900
    ROSS & TODD HARD & SOFT COAL
    420 South 6th Street
    Circa 1900
    MENDOTA COAL & MINING COMPANY
    120 South 6th Street
    Circa 1900
    SEYMOR COAL COMPANY
    402 South 6th Street
    Circa 1900
    FULLER LUMBER & COAL COMPANY
    901 South 6th Street
    Circa 1900
    J. W. NOLD & COMPANY
    Coal, Wood & Feed
    901 South 6th Street
    Circa 1905
    FOGARTY-KNEIB & COMPANY COAL
    1110-1112 Mitchell Avenue
    Circa 1915
    JOHN W. BRUCE
    Coal, Lime, Cement, Sewer Pipe, Fire Brick & Clay
    6th & Olive Street
    Circa 1915
    CENTRAL COAL & COKE
    901 South 6th Street
    Circa 1915
    SUNSHINE COAL COMPANY
    402 South 6th Street
    Circa 1915
    FOGARTY-KNEIB & COMPANY COAL
    1402 South 12th Street
    Circa 1915
    RICHARD TODD COAL COMPANY
    414 South 6th Street
    Circa 1918
    WILLIAM SANDERS COAL YARD
    1911 Garfield Avenue
    Circa 1919
    HUTCHISON LUMBER & COAL
    SW Corner 14th & Mitchell
    Circa 1920
    MANNAN-SMITH COAL SUPPLY
    1002 South 6th Street
    Circa 1920
    TODD-SUNSHINE COAL COMPANY
    414 South 6th Street
    Circa 1920
    ELWOOD COAL COMPANY
    615 Monterey Street
    Circa 1930
    FOGARTY KNEIB & COMPANY
    1312-1318 South 10th Street
    Circa 1930
    AKERS COAL COMPANY
    6323 King Hill Avenue
    Circa 1930
    ARTESIAN ICE & COLD STORAGE
    1918 Olive Street
    Circa 1930
    ARTESIAN ICE & COLD STORAGE
    223 Main Street
    Circa 1930
    BAKER COAL COMPANY
    Industrial City
    Circa 1930
    CENTRAL COAL COMPANY
    203 South 7th Street
    Circa 1930
    COMMERCE COAL COMPANY
    1302 South 15th Street
    Circa 1930
    DITTEMORE COAL COMPANY
    328 Arizona
    Circa 1930
    FEUQUAY COAL COMPANY
    5114 Lake Avenue
    Circa 1930
    GILLESPIE BROTHERS COAL
    6309 King Hill Avenue
    Circa 1930
    GREAT WESTERN JUNK & COAL COMPANY
    801 South 7th Street
    Circa 1930
    HANSEN SUPPLY COMPANY
    1223 North 4th Street
    Circa 1930
    HURST & SON COAL COMPANY
    6311 King Hill Avenue
    Circa 1930
    HYATT COAL COMPANY
    124 North 8th Street
    Circa 1930
    INDEPENDENT COAL COMPANY
    6027 Lake Avenue
    Circa 1930
    JOHNSON FUEL SERVICE COMPANY
    1225 North 15th Street
    Circa 1930
    KELLER COAL COMPANY
    1738 Commercial Street
    Circa 1930
    JOE LETTS COAL COMPANY
    1210-1212 South 16th Street
    Circa 1930
    MATNEY COAL COMPANY
    511 Main Street
    Circa 1930
    ZACK MITCHELL COAL COMPANY
    315 West Cherokee
    Circa 1930
    C. H. NOLD LUMBER & COAL
    1224 North 4th Street
    Circa 1930
    JOHN PRESTON SUPPLY COMPANY
    801-811 South 5th Street
    Circa 1930
    AUSTIN READY COAL COMPANY
    808 North 3rd Street
    Circa 1930
    RUSON COAL COMPANY
    724 Monterey Street
    Circa 1930
    ST JOE COAL COMPANY
    SE Corner 16th & Penn Streets
    Circa 1930
    ST JOSEPH PRESSED BRICK
    19th & Garfield
    Circa 1930
    J. A. SCHROER COAL COMPANY
    745 South 5th Street
    Circa 1930
    CARL SMITH COAL COMPANY
    1704 St Joseph Avenue
    Circa 1930
    SOUTH SIDE COAL, FEED & SUPPLY
    5511 Lake Avenue
    Circa 1930
    STEINMAN-MONAGHAN COAL COMPANY
    702-712 South 6th Street
    Circa 1930
    TEE & SON COAL COMPANY
    2017 St Joseph Avenue
    Circa 1930
    TODD-SUNSHINE COAL COMPANY
    720 Olive Street
    Circa 1930
    UNION COAL COMPANY
    1211 South 16th Street
    Circa 1930
    WILLIS COAL COMPANY
    1707 Garfield Avenue
    Circa 1942
    INMAN COAL COMPANY
    1736 Commercial
    Circa 1946
    CONNETT COAL COMPANY
    10th & Garfield
    Circa 1958
    INMAN COAL COMPANY
    1736 Commercial

    The Fogarty building is currently painted white

    Photo #1 - Three St Joseph coal suppliers were Fogarty, Kneib and Oliver
    Photo #2 - Fogarty Coal & Grain when it was at 1312 South 10th Street
    Photo #3 - Fogarty Coal & Grain when it was at 1312 South 10th Street
    Photo #4 - Oliver Coal company on the southeast corner of 16th & Penn (now a vacant lot)
    Photo #6 - Submitted by Wheeler Schmidt






    FOGARTY HARDWARE
    1301 South 9th

    Photo submitted by Rodney Keyes




    1 2 3

    Circa 1951
    FOX LAUNDRY AND DRY CLEANING
    2602 Messanie
    Circa 1967
    FOX LAUNDRY AND DRY CLEANING
    2602 Messanie

    Photo #1 - Fox Laundry advertising plastic letter opener
    Photo #2 - 1951 StJoseph News Press advertisement
    Photo #3 - 1967 StJoseph News Press advertisement






    Circa 1947
    FOX STORES
    10th & Pacific






    FRATERNAL ORDER OF POLICE
    Pear Street

    They have moved several times since they occupied this structure
    They are currently located at 501 Faraon






    Circa 1899
    FULLERTON LUMBER COMPANY
    8th & Patee Streets

    Photo - Circa 1899






    GARY's BARBER SHOP
    AND JAK's TROPHY SALES
    22nd & Lafayette St

    Located on the northeast corner of 22nd & Lafayette Street
    Gary's Barber Shop was located in the right half and Jak's Trophy in the left
    Jak's still operates in this building




    GEIWITZ HARDWARE
    5026 King Hill Avenue




    1 2

    GENERAL MARINE (SPEEDLINER BOATS)
    AMG RESOURCES MIDWEST
    2435 South 6th

    In the 1950's, General Marine manufactured Speedliner boats and other marine items
    The building is currently occupied by AMG, which is a recycling company
    Photo #1 - 1950 magazine advertisement
    Photo #2 - 1959 magazine advertisement




    1 2 3 4 5 6

    Circa 1930's
    GENERAL WOODWORKING
    8th & Mitchell Avenue

    General Woodworking was located on the southeast corner of 8th & Mitchell
    Carl H Wellenkoetter born on July 5, 1906 in Germany, passed away Nov. 20, 1976
    The master woodworker came to St. Joseph in the 1930s from Germany
    He started a woodworking company near to what used to be Schreiber's Mill
    The company went by various names over the years
    During World War II, it was called Wellenkoetter Sash and Door
    For most of it's life it was called General Woodworking
    During the war he had a government contract to make mahogany glider seats and wing spars
    Inside photos #4 & 5 were taken in 1970
    Photo #6 is a photo of Carl H Wellenkoetter taken in the 1950's






    GEORGE FRANCIS HY-KLAS GROCERY
    31st & Penn

    Located on northwest corner of 31st & Penn
    Later sold to John Warden who ran the store for numerous years
    2008 Photo submitted by Terry McGinnis




    1 2 3 4

    GERHARDT MUSIC
    1802 Edmond

    Previous owner was a house cleaning service
    Gerhardt purchased the building, remodeled the interior & utilities






    GLEN SCHULER BODY SHOP
    901 South 9th Street

    Glen Schuler's Body Shop once stood on the southeast corner of 9th & Olive Street, across Olive Street from Leaverton Auto Supply - currently a large parking lot occupies the space




    Circa 1908
    RAY GLIDEWELL'S DRUGS
    3001 Lafayette Street

    Ray A. Glidewell - Proprietor




    1 2 3 4

    Circa 1930
    GLIDEWELL'S PHARMACY
    3002 Lafayette Street
    Circa 1940
    GLIDEWELL'S PHARMACY
    3002 Lafayette Street

    Glidewell Pharmacy, located at 3002 Lafayette, served one neighborhood for 84 years
    Ray Glidewell had opened the original pharmacy at 3001 Lafayette in 1908
    The pharmacy is out of business now and another business resides there

    Photo #2 - submitted by Rodney Keyes
    Photo #3 - 1940 St Joseph News Press advertisement






    Circa 1949
    GOLDEN RULE CHINCHILLA FARM
    Donald L. Fulk
    2417 South 28th Street





    Circa 1978
    HURD'S FURNITURE AUCTION
    12th & Penn Street





    Railroad Bridge1 2 Railroad Bridge3 Railroad Bridge4 Railroad Bridge5 Railroad Bridge6 7 Railroad Bridge8 Railroad Bridge9 Railroad Bridge10 Railroad Bridge11

    Circa 1873
    ST JOSEPH & GRAND ISLAND BRIDGE
    OVER THE MISSOURI RIVER

    This was the first railroad bridge built to cross the Missouri River at St Joseph

    It was built by the St. Joseph Bridge Building Company

    The bridge opened on May 20, 1873

    The St. Joseph & Denver City Railroad made the initial crossing

    The original bridge had six piers with three spans of 300 feet and one fixed span of 80 feet

    It had a draw span of 365 feet making the total span 1,345 feet long

    On June 16, 1879, the bridge was transferred to another party and operated under the name of the St. Joseph & Grand Island Railroad Company

    The bridge was primarily used by the Union Pacific railroad

    The Atchison, Topeka and Santa Fe Railway and Chicago, Rock Island and Pacific Railroad also had trackage rights to the bridge

    In 1903, construction began on a new steel swing bridge, it was completed in 1906

    Although the bridge today is totally covered by rust, it is still operational

    Photo #1 - 1875 article about the bridge
    Photo #2 - Newspaper article about rebuilding of the bridge beginning in 1903-1904
    Photo #3 - 1873 postcard
    Photo #4 - Looking down the tracks
    Photo #5 - View with the bridge swung open
    Photo #6 - Old photo with bridge swung open
    Photo #7 - 1937 photo of locomotive on the bridge
    Photo #8 - Late 1990's view of the bridge
    Photo #9 - Late 1990's view of the bridge
    Photo #10 - Late 1990's view of the bridge




    1 2

    Circa 1937
    GREEN HILLS NIGHT CLUB
    22nd & Garfield Avenue
    (On US 71 Highway)




    1 2 3 4

    ROY'S GREEN HILLS SUPER MARKET
    3415 South 22nd Street

    This store was built in 1957
    I went to the grand opening when I was in the 7th grade
    The building was puchased in 2011 or 2012 and turned into a night club with dancing

    Photo #1: 1961 Advertisement
    Photo #2: 2012 Photo of Green Hills building
    Photo #3: 1981 Advertisement
    Photo #4: Newspaper photo when Mattingly's opened next to Green Hills store



    green hills1 green hills2

    RAY'S GREEN HILLS SUPER MARKET
    3602 Mitchell Avenue

    Due to the landlord wanting to raise Ray's rent by a considerable amount, Ray Heitman closed this store and moved operations here to his 3225 North Belt store

    It was a really nice & very large store

    Except for a couple small shops, this once booming shopping center is now pretty much deserted

    Rumor is Hi-Vee stores merchandise here occassionally



    HABER HOTEL
    1214 South 6th Street





    1 2 3 4

    Circa 1849
    HAX-SMITH FURNITURE COMPANY
    4th & Mitchell
    Demolished during I-229 Construction

    Hax-Smith was a furniture manufacturing company from 1849 to 1974
    Louis Hax (1830-1898) is buried in Mount Mora Cemetary in St Joseph
    L. H. Smith was the company secretary
    Louis Hax was an immigrant from Austria
    The Hax furniture Company was disolved in 1974 after being business 125 years
    In addition furniture manufacturing, he was involved in banking, mining & transportation
    Louis Hax had a retail outlet at 510 Felix, which later became W. T. Grant department store






    HEATON BOWMAN FUNERAL HOME
    319-323 South 10th







    Circa 1937
    WYATT PARK PHARMACY
    2619 Lafayette Street
    Circa 1951
    HENRY KOBETT UPHOLSTERER
    2619 Lafayette Street
    Circa 1966
    HECKMAN CARPET SALES
    2619 Lafayette Street







    Circa 1915
    HERMAN BRICK COMPANY
    16th & Pacific Street





    1 2 3

    Circa 1930
    BIERNACKI FURNITURE COMPANY
    812 Warsaw
    Circa 1940
    HEITMAN SANITARY MATTRESS COMPANY
    812 Warsaw
    Circa 1951
    HEITMAN SANITARY MATTRESS COMPANY
    812 Warsaw

    The building no longer exists
    Photo #2 - 1940 St Joseph News Press advertisement









    Circa 1980
    HERNDON BUSINESS EQUIPMENT
    10th & Lafayette Streets







    HY-KLAS WAREHOUSE
    4th & Mitchell Avenue

    Photo - 1951 St Joseph News-Press newspaper article






    Circa 1958
    HUDSON OIL
    4th & Monterey





    1 2 3

    INTERSTATE 229 CONSTRUCTION







    Circa 1955
    IOWA-MISSOURI WALNUT COMPANY
    2nd & Atchison Streets





    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

    I BUY ANYTHING
    2210 Messanie

    Located east of 22nd & Messanie Street, across from Sears on the south side of the street

    You could spend hours walking inside and outside looking at all the junk he had for sale

    (That "junk" would now considered valuable antiques)

    Mr Kelder would buy anything from anyone and have it available for sale

    For many years, there was a giant shotgun hanging over the doorway

    His son, Curly Kelder, once told me that it took many 18-wheelers and many train cars to ship the store's contents to someone who had purchased everything after his father died. It was something like 9 trucks full and a bunch of boxcars

    Photo #1 - submitted by Marcie Vogel,her grandfather had taken this photo in 1944
    Photo #2 - Advertisement
    Photo #3 - Current photo of building
    Photo #4 - I Buy Anything sign
    Photo #5 - St Joseph News-Press article about I Buy Anything by Alonzo Weston
    Photo #6 - A national magazine article about I Buy Anything
    Photo #7 - Giant ball of twine at I Buy Anything's business
    Photo #8 - The giant 1050 lb ball of twine is now kept at Patee House Museum




    INDEPENDENT LUMBER & COAL COMPANY
    711 Hickory

    They used to sell coal for furnaces





    INTERNATIONAL HARVESTER
    4th & Mitchell Avenue




    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14

    JERRE-ANNE CAFETERIA
    2640 Mitchell

    Jerre-Anne Cafeteria was located at 26th & Mitchell and had served a great homemade dinner and fabulous homemade pasteries since it opened in 1930

    Their homemade pies were the best in town, they sold them both wholesale and retail

    Jerre-Anne was more than just another restaurant. It was a piece of St. Joseph history

    Jerre Anne was one of the oldest restaurants in St. Joseph when it closed in July 2008

    It began as a delicatessen that was owned and operated by two sisters: Afra Stolz Lineberry and Frances Carolus

    The sisters began by just offering cool refreshments to the trolley drivers and their passengers, since the trolley's route ended on the corner in front of Jerre-Anne

    The Jerre-Anne was named after Frances' two daughters, Geraldine "Jerre" Carolus Lawhon and Anne Carolus Benitz

    In July 2008, Jerre-Anne closed it's door and went out of business. As of May 2013, the building still sits empty

    Photo #1 - Looking west, 2009 photo
    Photo #2 - Old photo of entrance
    Photo #3 - Jerre-Anne sign
    Photo #4 - St Joseph News-Press article
    Photo #5 - Winter east view of entrance
    Photo #6 - Cakes, Pies and pastries for sale
    Photo #7 - Cafeteria foods for sale
    Photo #8 - Overview of interior
    Photo #9 - Overview of interior
    Photo #10 - Cafeteria foods for sale
    Photo #11 - food & dining areas
    Photo #12 - food & dining areas
    Photo #13 - west dining area
    Photo #14 - August 2,1930 opening adv



    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55

    Circa 1882
    JESSE JAMES HOUSE
    1318 Lafayette
    Circa 1882
    JESSE JAMES ASSASSINATED
    1318 Lafayette
    Circa 1939
    JESSE JAMES HOUSE
    See inside for 50 cents
    South Belt Highway & Locust
    Circa 1977
    JESSE JAMES HOUSE
    12th & Penn
    Patee House Museum
    THE JAMES HOME IN KEARNEY, MO


    In his younger years, Jesse James and his family lived in Kearney, Missouri
    In his final years, he lived and died in St Joseph, Missouri at 1318 Lafayette
    Some photos in this section include the Kearney home
    The outlaw Jesse James was killed in the house on Lafayette on April 3, 1882
    Jesse James house in St Joseph has been located in 3 different locations over the years
    Originally, Jesse James house was located at 1318 Lafayette Street which was pretty much countryside back in the 1800's
    In 1939, the house was moved to the busy Belt Highway location beside the Jesse James service station and an admission was charged to see the inside of the house
    In 1977, the house was moved to a location directly behind Patee House Museum at 12th and Penn
    This is only two blocks away from its original location
    The house has been restored to help preserve it


    Photo #1 - Jesse James house at it's original Lafayette Street location
    Photo #2 - Jesse James house at it's original Lafayette Street location
    Photo #3 - Jesse James house at it's original Lafayette Street location
    Photo #4 - Jesse James house at Patee House museum
    Photo #5 - Jesse James house at it's original Lafayette Street location
    Photo #6 - 1979-1980 Patee House Museum at 12th & Penn
    Photo #7 - Frank James, age 70, charging to see the their old house Kearny Misouri
    Photo #8 - Jesse James house at it's Lafayette Street location
    Photo #9 - Located behind Patee House Museum at 12th & Penn
    Photo #10 - An old photo Jesse James house at 1318 Lafayette Street
    Photo #11 - A drawing made the day after the fatal shooting at 1318 Lafayette location
    Photo #12 - The moving of Jesse James home in 1977 from the Belt Highway to Penn
    Photo #13 - 1979-1980 photo of the backside of the Jesse James home at 12&th & Penn
    Photo #14 - 1979-1980 front side photo at 12th & Penn
    Photo #15 - 1939 newspaper photo of Jesse James home moved to the Belt Highway
    Photo #16 - Jesse James home unpainted
    Photo #17 - Monument on Jesse James Hill, 1318 Lafayette
    Photo #18 - Jesse James home at 1318 Lafayette
    Photo #19 - Postcard
    Photo #20 - 1882 St Joseph Daily Gazette newspaper artist sketch
    Photo #21 - 1939,Moving of Jesse James house from Lafayette to the Belt Highway
    Photo #22 - A back view of the James house extension in Kearney Missouri
    Photo #23 - An old photo of the house
    Photo #24 - A back view of the James house extension in Kearney Missouri
    Photo #25 - A front view of the James house extension in Kearney Missouri
    Photo #26 - 1977 St Joseph News-Press article about moving the house in 1939
    Photo #27 - Jesse James Country poster showing his activities
    Photo #28 - Moving Jesse James house from the Belt to Patee House Museum
    Photo #29 - Jesse James house at the Belt Highway location
    Photo #30 - Jesse James house at the Belt Highway location
    Photo #31 - Jesse James in coffin, surrounded by 4 men
    Photo #48 - St Joseph News Press article
    Photo #50 - 1925 photo of Jesse James home at 1318 Lafayette
    Photo #51 - St Joseph News Press photo of Jesse James home at 1318 Lafayette
    Photo #52 - Wanted poster for Frank & Jesse James - large rewards
    Photo #54 - May 5, 1977 St Joseph News Press photograph & info
    Photo #55 - Bob Ford after shooting Jesse James
    Photo #22 submitted by Carol Stephens
    Photo #48 Submitted by Roger Seward




    Joe Holland Barber Shop

    JOE HOLLAND BARBER SHOP
    2303 South 11th Street

    Photo was submitted by Rodney Keyes




    Circa 1920
    JOE LETTS COAL COMPANY
    Circa 1946
    ZERO ICE & FUEL COMPANY
    1210 South 15th Street





    Circa 1920
    JOHN W. BRUCE
    COAL, WOOD & CEMENT COMPANY
    6th & Olive Street




    Circa 1879-1899
    John Jester Brewery
    1308 Sacramento




    Circa 1894
    G C KRATT CIGAR MANUFACTURING
    1414 South 12th Street







    Circa 1939
    KELLY SHOE SERVICE
    2617 Lafayette
    Circa 1951
    PICKARD SHOE SERVICE
    2617 Lafayette

    Shoe repair shop




    E & M Dress Shop1 2

    Circa 1930
    GLENN McMICHALE PHARMACY
    3302 Mitchell Avenue
    Circa 1937
    GLENN McMICHALE PHARMACY
    3302 Mitchell Avenue
    Circa 1954
    GLENN McMICHALE PHARMACY
    3302 Mitchell Avenue
    Circa 1968
    KIDDIE KORNER
    3302 Mitchell Avenue
    Circa 1981
    KIDDIE KORNER
    3302 Mitchell Avenue

    Located at 3302 Mitchell Avenue
    There has been a lot of different businesses in this building
    Photo #1 - submitted by Rodney Keyes
    Photo #2 - 1981 News Press advertisement






    KING'S CLEANERS
    1021-1023 South 10th Street







    Circa 1912
    KING'S FOUNDRY
    1805 South 8th Street

    Photo - Circa 1912 advertisement
    The building no longer exists






    Circa 1946
    KNEIB COAL & IMPLEMENT COMPANY
    1229 South 15th

    Two coal suppliers in St Joseph were the Fogarty and Kneib Companies
    At the top is the Fogarty Coal yard on 6th Street in about 1930
    Bottom left, the Kneib Coal Company when it was located at 15th & Mitchell
    Bottom right is the Kneib Coal Company when it was located at 1402 Renick




    Karle Carriage1 Karle Carriage2 Karle Carriage3

    Circa 1875
    KARLE CARRIAGE WORKS
    802 South 9th

    Alphonse Karle founded Karle Carriage Works in 1875
    John Karle continued the business from 1963 until his death in 1999
    On October 20,2000 Karle Carriage Works closed after 125 years in business
    The original company repaired broken wagon wheels and other wagon parts

    Then the company began selling carriages, buggies and spring wagons

    As America's modes of transportation changed so did the Karle business

    Karle Carriage Works were in business for five generations

    Karle's services ranged from towing to bodywork

    Karle Carriage Works specialties included the straightening of frames on cars and trucks and the rebuilding of those vehicles




    1 2

    Circa 1942
    MOM'S LUNCH
    1005 Mitchell Avenue
    Circa 1957
    L & L CLEANERS
    1005 Mitchell Avenue





    Circa 1958
    MARY WYNN BEAUTY SHOP
    1007 Mitchell Avenue





    Circa 1942
    ROY DYE, TREE SURGEON
    1009 Mitchell Avenue
    Circa 1958
    BENNY'S CAFE
    1009 Mitchell Avenue





    Circa 1942
    WILBUR WILCOX FILLING STATION
    1015 Mitchell Avenue





    Circa 1942
    CONTINENTAL GARAGE
    1025 Mitchell Avenue





    Circa 1942
    PELL MELL CAFE
    1027 Mitchell Avenue
    Circa 1958
    MARY ANN'S CAFE
    1027 Mitchell Avenue





    Circa 1942
    JOHN HARDESTY FILLING STATION
    1125 Mitchell Avenue







    Circa 1903
    LAND CONSTRUCTION
    503 Seneca





    1 2 3 4 5 6

    LEAVERTON AUTO SUPPLY
    827 South 9th

    In the 1950's & 60's, Leaverton and Polsky Auto Parts were the main auto part stores in St Joseph
    Leaverton's Auto Supply had a major fire in 1985
    Photo #6 - 1981 St Joseph News Press advertisement




    Letts Box1 Letts Box2 Letts Box3 Letts Box4 Letts Box5 Letts Box6

    Circa 1885
    LETTS BOX & COOPERAGE COMPANY
    1802-1822 South 4th St
    (4th & Jackson)

    W.T. Letts, who had immigrated here from England, began this company

    It was later turned over to his son Joe Letts, Sr

    When he retired, his sons Joe Letts, Jr. and Warren Letts took it over the business

    Letts Box Company manufactured wooden boxes, such as egg crates, fruit boxes, chicken coops, pint berry boxes, etc.

    By the mid 1960's, the demand for wooden boxes declined greatly, everyone began using cardboard and paper boxes, the business was dissolved in 1967

    Check out the neat brick street

    The structure no longer exists, it was removed during the construction of I-229

    Photo #1 - Letts Box Company as it appeared in 1918
    Photo #2 - 1958 Letts Fruit crate
    Photo #3 - 1958 Letts Fruit crate
    Photo #5 - 1930 City Directory advertisement
    Photo #6 - 1921 City Directory advertisement
    Photo #1 donated by Rodney Keyes
    Photo #2 donated by Travis Freeman
    Photo #3 donated by Travis Freeman
    Company information provided by W.T. Lett's great granddaughter, Marly Letts






    Circa 1916
    L. G. GENSLER MANUFACTURING
    1401-1403 South 11th Street

    Photo - 1916 St Joseph News Press advertisement






    LOVE'S TRAVEL STOP
    4601 S Leonard Rd

    A fairly new truck stop just off of Interstate 29




    Circa 1951
    LYBARGER ELECTRIC SERVICE
    2640 Lafayette Street







    MADINGER BOOT & SHOE FACTORY
    ST JOSEPH BOOT & SHOE FACTORY
    1301 South 9th

    Circa unknown, before automobiles and paved streets
    Also known as St Joseph Boot & Shoe Factory




    MARTY HARDWARE & SUPPLY STORE
    6209 King Hill Avenue






    Circa 1955
    MARY ANN'S CAFE
    1027 Mitchell

    Mary Ann's was located on the northwest corner of 11th & Mitchell Avenue
    It was across the street from Western Tablet (Westab)
    This was a great place to eat
    The building no longer exists
    Photo - 1983 St Joseph News Press advertisement




    1 2

    MATTINGLY'S
    BEN FRANKLIN
    3500 South 22nd Street

    In 1961, Mattingly's opened a new store in the strip mall just south of Green Hills grocery store that opened in 1957

    In the early 1970's, after Mattinglys closed, Dan Madinger purchased the building and opened a Ben Franklin at this location

    A long time friend of mine, Virginia Roberts, had worked for both companies as a sales clerk

    Photo #1 - Opening of Mattinglys in 1961
    Photo #2 - Ben Franklin advertisement when Madinger owned it




    Marshall Automotive1 Marshall Automotive2 3

    MARSHALL AUTOMOTIVE STORE
    921-923 South 10th Street

    Photo #1 - submitted by Rodney Keyes
    Photo #2 - taken in 1960's after store had closed down
    Photo #3 - 20 year anniversary advertisement






    Circa 1951
    MAXFIELD'S
    2411 Lafayette Street

    Photo - 1951 Maxfield's News Press advertisement




    1 2 3

    Circa 1887
    CARRIE KLOS CONFECTIONARY & TOBACCO
    905 South 10th Street
    Circa 1921
    CARRIE KLOS CONFECTIONARY
    905 South 10th Street
    Circa 1930
    JOHN ALEY RESTAURANT
    905 South 10th Street
    Circa 1940
    SNOW WHITE SYSTEM RESTAURANT
    905 South 10th Street
    Circa 1942
    VACANT
    905 South 10th Street
    Circa 1945
    TEEM'S TIRE COMPANY
    905 South 10th Street
    Circa 1950
    TEEM'S MACK TRUCK SALES
    905 South 10th Street
    Circa 1958
    WHITMORE TRUCK SALES
    905 South 10th Street
    McBRIDE'S YAMAHA
    905 South 10th Street




    1 2 3 4 5

    Circa 1885
    R. L. McDONALD SHIRT FACTORY
    1202 Penn
    1120-1122 Penn

    From 1885 until 1933, the McDonald Shirt factory was located in the Patee House building
    Photo #1 - Circa 1911 lady workers
    Photo #2 - Circa 1903 advertisement
    Photo #3 - R. L. McDonald shirt factory
    Photo #4 - View of South 12th St R. L. McDonald warehouse facade
    Photo #5 - View of South 12th St R. L. McDonald warehouse facade






    Circa 1977
    MEAD
    4725 Easton Road

    Photo - 1978 St Joseph News Press advertisement






    Circa 1978
    MICHELE'S
    2635 Lafayette Street

    Photo - 1978 St Joseph News Press advertisement






    MIDWEST SALES COMPANY
    921 South 9th Street






    MID-WEST SAUSAGE COMPANY
    2402 South 5th Street

    Photo - 1935 Advertisement






    MILK PRODUCERS
    1022 South 10th Street







    Circa 1970
    MODERN IMPROVEMENT
    2510 Messanie Street







    MODERN HARDWARE & REPAIR
    1116 South 26th Street

    Was located on west side of 26th between Seneca & Penn
    Known to have been in business in 1955
    The structure is currently gone




    Moose Davis Firestone

    MOOSE DAVIS FIRESTONE
    22nd & Olive Street

    Photo was submitted by Rodney Keyes




    MULDER'S FOOD MARKET
    1115 Olive Street




    1 2 3

    Circa 1930
    MUCHENBERGER BROTHERS
    WALL PAPER & PAINT COMPANY
    7th & Olive Street

    Photo #3 - 1930 City Directory advertisement




    1 2 3 4 5

    Circa 1936
    MUCHENBERGER CENTER
    500 Sycamore Street

    Originally this was once Muchenberger Wallpaper

    Leo Muchenberger submitted his old wallpaper factory to the city in 1936 with the stipulation it would be used for recreation for the city's youth

    For many years, children were able to use some of the Muchenberger services free of charge, other services required a small payment

    Muchenberger Center at Fifth and Sycamore streets covers two acres and provides a community recreation center with a gym for basketball, volleyball and other games, pool and game rooms, a stage, restrooms and dressing rooms, a kitchen, softball field, playground equipment and wading pool

    In 2012, the city built a new Muchenberger recreation center at 2701 Southwest Parkway

    The old center has been closed down, it is no longer open
    Photo #4 - 1978 newspaper photo




    NEUDORFF HARDWARE
    114 South 4th Street




    NINDERY HARDWARE
    6122 King Hill Avenue






    Circa 1980
    NORRIS & SONS TRASH SERVICE
    1501 South Leonard Road







    NORTON ICE CREAM COMPANY
    1805 Garfield

    Manufacturer of great tasting ice cream
    Photo - 1929 advertisement
    The building still exists




    1 2 3 4

    Circa 1930
    OK FURNITURE COMPANY
    2235 South 6th Street
    (6th & Hickory)
    Circa 1940
    OK FURNITURE COMPANY
    2235 South 6th Street
    (6th & Hickory)
    Circa 1951
    OK FURNITURE COMPANY
    2235 South 6th Street
    (6th & Hickory)
    Circa 1955
    OK FURNITURE COMPANY
    2235 South 6th Street
    (6th & Hickory)
    Circa 1957
    ECONOMY FURNITURE COMPANY
    2235 South 6th Street
    (6th & Hickory)

    THE BUILDING NO LONGER EXISTS




    ONE STOP DEPARTMENT STORE
    5910 King Hill Avenue







    Circa 1907-1913
    O'NEILL'S MILLINERY
    1121 South 10th
    Circa 1914-1930
    O'NEILL'S MILLINERY
    1121 South 10th

    Isabelle O'Neill's Millinery operated at 1121 South 10th from 1907-1913
    In 1914, she then moved the business to 1115 South 10th
    After 1930, there were no more City Directory listings for either the business or a personal entry





    1 2 3 4 5

    Circa 1912
    L. R. KNIGHT DRUG STORE
    2001 Messanie
    Circa 1928
    L. R. KNIGHT DRUG STORE
    2001 Messanie
    Circa 1930
    SHELKOP DRUG STORE
    2001 Messanie
    Circa 1935
    VACANT
    2001 Messanie
    Circa 1938
    VACANT
    2001 Messanie
    Circa 1939
    OWEN P. HENSON HY-KLAS #14
    2001 Messanie
    Circa 1946
    HOLADAY'S HY-KLAS #14
    2001 Messanie
    Circa 1949
    ANDERSON HOLADAY GROCERY
    2001 Messanie
    Circa 1954
    HY-KLAS #14 GROCERY STORE
    2001 Messanie
    Circa 1958
    HY-KLAS #14 GROCERY STORE
    2001 Messanie
    Circa 1960
    ARTHUR CHAPMAN THRIFTEE
    2001 Messanie

    This was a fun challenge figuring this one out

    Susan Angell sent me 2 photos wanting to know the name of the grocery store in the background

    In 1947-1948, Susan's mother, Emma Overton, took the photos of her friends standing at an unknown location

    Susan stated that her mother and the girls attended Central High School so that narrowed the field down

    After researching several possible locations, John Fulmer figured out the location where Susan's mother was standing when taking these photos

    The girls are standing on the southwest corner of Warsaw and Messanie Street

    The wall in the background is the old St Peter & Paul church's wall

    The small wall on the right side belongs to a yard at that location

    The store in the background was located at 20th & Messanie

    Owen Henson Hy-Klas #14 is listed in the 1942 city directory with that address

    In the late 1950's it became Chapman Thriftee

    Following Mr Chapman's death in 1967, Mrs Chapman sold the building and it was subsequently torn down

    The old East Side Human Resource Center building now stands at that location

    East Side Human Resource Center has moved to 18th & Slyvanie

    Photo #1 submitted by Susan Angell
    Photo #2 submitted by Susan Angell
    Photo #3 - blowup of store
    Photo #4 - submitted by John Fulmer
    Photo #5 - Current photo of location submitted by Rodney Keyes






    Circa 1940
    PHILLIPS ICE CREAM COMPANY
    1222 South 10th
    Circa 1951
    PHILLIPS ICE CREAM COMPANY
    1222 South 10th
    Circa 1954
    PHIL-UP ICE CREAM COMPANY
    1222 South 10th
    Circa 1958
    PHIL-UP ICE CREAM COMPANY
    1222 South 10th





    1 2 3 4

    Circa 1889
    PARK BANK
    10th & Patee

    One of the oldest banks in St Joseph Missouri
    Chartered in 1889




    Patee Hall1 Patee Hall2 3 Patee Hall4 Patee Hall5 Patee Hall6 Patee Hall7 patee2x8 Patee Hall9 Patee Hall10 Patee Hall11 Patee Hall12 Patee Hall13 Patee Hall14 Patee Hall15 Patee Hall16 Patee Hall17 Patee Hall18 Patee Hall19 Patee Hall20

    Circa 1855
    PATEE MARKET
    PATEE HALL
    PATEE MARKET HEALTH CENTER
    904 South 10th Street

    In 1855 John Patee submitted a square block of land to the city for a public market

    In 1906 construction began on a new Patee Market and was completed in 1909

    The building is located on 10th street, between Olive & Lafayette

    As of 2012, the building has offices for the following services:

    Health Administration, Animal Control and Rescue, Clinic Services, Environmental & Food Safety, Community Health Services, Women-Infants-Children (WIC), Social Welfare Board, Birth/Death Certificates, Epidemiology, Health Permits, Maternal and Child Health, Health Department

    Photo #1 - A horse watering trough is visible
    Photo #2 - The fancy horse watering trough
    Photo #3 - Early century photo
    Photo #4 - Early century photo
    Photo #5 - Early postcard
    Photo #18 - 1907 taken in front of Patee Market, later becomes Patee Hall
    Photo #19 - 1917 Postcard
    Photo #20 - April 29, 1910 St Joseph Gazette advertisement for the new Patee Market
    Photos #8-17 - 2013 photo taken by David Osgood




    Patee Hall1 Patee Hall2 Patee Hall3 Patee Hall4 Patee Hall5 Patee Hall6 7 8 9 10



    Circa 1858
    PATEE HOUSE HOTEL
    1202 Penn
    Circa 1865
    PATEE FEMALE COLLEGE
    1202 Penn
    Circa 1869
    PATEE HOUSE HOTEL
    1202 Penn
    Circa 1875
    ST JOSEPH FEMALE COLLEGE
    1202 Penn
    Circa 1882
    WORLD'S HOTEL
    1202 Penn
    Circa 1885
    R. L. McDONALD SHIRT FACTORY
    1202 Penn
    Circa 1933
    SUN GARMENT FACTORY
    1202 Penn
    Circa 1953
    H. D. LEE COMPANY
    1202 Penn
    Circa 1957
    VACANT
    1202 Penn
    Circa 1965
    PATEE HOUSE MUSEUM
    1202 Penn
    Circa 2019
    PATEE HOUSE MUSEUM
    1202 Penn

    John Patee opened his luxurious four-story brick hotel in 1858

    It was built in 1858 as a luxury hotel

    Patee House served as the Pony Express headquarters from 1860 to 1861

    Pony Express operators Russell, Majors and Waddell had their main office here

    The Pony Express riders stayed in the hotel

    During the Civil War, the Union Army occupied the building

    It was used as their Provost Marshal's office and holding war trials in the ballroom

    When the Union Army took over the hotel, John Patee was backing the Confederacy

    John Patee decided to sell the building in a nation-wide lottery

    When 100 tickets came back unsold on April 28, 1865, Patee bought the 100 tickets himself and won back his own hotel

    In 1882, it was called World's Hotel

    Chronological History of the Museum
    Patee Hotel 1858 - 1865
    Patee Female College 1865 - 1868
    Patee Hotel (again) 1869 - 1872
    St. Joseph Female College 1875 - 1880
    World's Hotel and Epileptic Sanitarium 1881 - 1883
    R.L. McDonald Factory 1885 - 1933
    Sun Garment Factory 1933 - 1953
    H.D. Lee Co. 1953 - 1957
    Vacant 1957 - 1963
    Patee House Museum 1965 to present
    Photo #1 - submitted by Wheeler Schmidt
    Photo #10 - Pony Express Centenial Plaque at Patee Museum




    Patee House Museum1 Patee House Museum2

    PATEE HOUSE MUSEUM
    10th & Patee

    Located at 10th & Patee, this building contains lots of very interest artifacts from the yesteryears of St Joseph's history. Jesse James house sits outside on the property
    2008 Photos submitted by Terry McGinnis






    PATEE PARK 1960 CELEBRATION
    9th & Penn

    Patee Park bank can be seen in the background




    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17

    PATEE PARK
    PONY EXPRESS PARK
    9th & Penn

    Patee Park is bounded by Seneca, Penn, 9th and 10th streets

    The park has a fountain, playground equipment, antique steam engine on display, a gazebo, shelter and flower gardens

    The park is located across the street from the historic Pony Express Stables

    This park was originally called Patee Park

    The park was renamed to Pony Express park

    Photo #1 - CB & Q Northern 4-8-4 Steam Locomotive
    Photo #2 - CB & Q Northern 4-8-4 Steam Locomotive
    Photo #3 - Patee Park fountain - Circa 1900
    Photo #4 - Early view of Patee Park fountain
    Photo #5 - CB & Q Northern 4-8-4 Steam Locomotive
    Photo #6 - CB & Q Northern 4-8-4 Steam Locomotive
    Photo #7 - CB & Q Northern 4-8-4 Steam Locomotive
    Photo #8 - Steam Locomotive information & specs
    Photo #9 - Donation plaque of locomotive to the city
    Photos #10-17 - May 1962 St Joseph Gazette newspaper photos and articles about moving of the loco & tender
    Photos #5-9 taken in 2014 by Rodney Keyes
    Photos #10-17 Newspaper articles scanned and submitted by David Kneib





    Growney Grocery1 Growney Grocery2 Growney Grocery3

    PAUL GROWNEY GROCERY
    519 South 29th Street

    Located on South 29th Street, between Messanie and Angelique
    This was a popular small family grocery store
    It was owned and operated by Paul Growney & Mrs Growney from 1917 to 1970
    The store was later purchased by Otto Pinzino & his wife
    Otto and his wife operated for a few years as Pinzino Grocery
    Photo #1 - Submitted by Eleanore Growney
    Photo #2 - Letterhead submitted by Elenore Growney
    Photo #3 - 2008 Photo submitted by Terry McGinnis




    1 2

    PENN STREET SQUARE ANTIQUE MALL
    1122 Penn Street

    Antique Dealers, established in 1985
    The Penn Street Square Antique Mall closed it's doors on Feb. 29, 2012




    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34

    Circa 1929
    PONY EXPRESS BRIDGE
    And US Highway 36

    This was the Pony Express Bridge that once spanned the Missouri River at St. Joseph. Anyone traveling west on US 36 Highway had to cross this bridge
    The bridge was constructed in 1929
    The bridge was removed in 1984 at the age of 55 years
    The East Span was demolished on February 17, 1984 at 9:13 AM
    The West Span was demolished on March 14, 1984 at 10:02 AM
    Photos #13-25 were taken by Steve Roberts
    The Pony Express bridge was once a beautiful bridge but it was slowly deteriorating
    In 1983, they began replacing the dilapidated Pony Express Bridge that spanned the Missouri River with a new twin span bridge
    Back in the 1960's, we made a lot of trips over the old bridge to Wathena, Kansas. Every weekend was a trip for many 18 year olds to Jack's Tavern in Wathena. Many of those who went to Junior College made trips between classes. It was a neat looking bridge, but it was in terrible condition
    The new bridges are a major improvement

    Photo #1 - The Pony Express Bridge opening ceremony in 1929
    Photo #2 - The bridge as seen from the river
    Photo #3 - The new bridges under construction and the old bridge prior to it's razing
    Photo #4 - Distant view of the new Missouri River bridge
    Photo #5 - Close up of the new bridge and the old bridge prior to razing
    Photo #6 - Taken in 1982 prior to demolition, new piers installed
    Photo #7 - Pony Express bridge demolition
    Photo #8 - 1979 Newspaper photo: Crews installing signals to control traffic
    Photo #9 - Postcard when the bridge was in it's glory
    Photo #10 - The Pony Express Bridge
    Photo #11 - Pony Express bridge demolition
    Photo #12 - Pony Express Bridge in it's glory
    Photos #13-25 of the bridge demolition were taken by Steve Roberts
    Photo #26 - Edmond C Olson Sr Center Line Striping - August 20, 1929
    Photo #27 - Edmond C Olson Sr Center Line Striping - August 20, 1929
    Photo #28 - Edmond C Olson Sr Center Line Striping - August 20, 1929
    Photo #29 - Looking west towards the river and Kansas, the Pony Express Bridge is visible
    Photo #30 - The old and new US 36 Highway Pony Express Bridges side by side
    Photo #31 - The new US36 bridge as seen from Kansas
    Photo #32 - Kansas City Times newspaper photo
    Photo #33 - 1929 NewsPress photo - workment building the Kansas side of the bridge
    Photo #34 - 1964 St Joseph News Press photo - underside of US 36 Highway






    Circa 1968
    PONY EXPRESS ROLLER RINK
    902 Penn

    The structure is gone, only a vacant lot remains




    1 2 3 4

    ] Circa 1978
    PONY EXPRESS BOWLING ALLEY
    902 Penn
    Circa 1982
    PONY EXPRESS BOWLING ALLEY
    902 Penn

    The structure is gone, only a vacant lot remains
    Photo #2 - 1978 St Joseph News Press advertisement
    Photo #3 - 1982 St Joseph News Press advertisement
    Photo #4 - 1981 St Joseph News Press advertisement




    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25

    Circa 1858
    PONY EXPRESS STABLES
    (Pike's Peak Stables)
    914 Penn
    Circa 1950's
    RESTORED PONY EXPRESS STABLES
    914 Penn
    Circa 1960's
    PONY EXPRESS MUSEUM
    914 Penn

    By utilizing the shortest route and using mounted riders rather than traditional stagecoaches, they proposed to establish a fast mail service between St. Joseph, Missouri, and Sacramento, California, with letters delivered in 10 days, a duration many said was impossible. The initial price was set at $5 per 1/2 ounce (14 grams), then $2.50, and by July 1861 it went down to $1. The founders of the Pony Express hoped to win an exclusive government mail contract, but that did not ever come about
    Russell, Majors, and Waddell organized and put together the Pony Express in two months in the winter of 1860. The undertaking assembled 120 riders, 184 stations, 400 horses, and several hundred personnel during January and February 1861
    The Pony Express Stables, which was originally called Pike's Peak Stables, is significant as the starting point of the Pony Express which carried the mail from St. Joseph, Missouri to Sacramento, California, between April, 1860 and October, 1861. The first rider, who was either Billy Richardson or Johnny Fry, left the old Pike's Peak Stables on April 3, 1860 on the first run of the Pony Express
    The Pony Express Stables in St. Joseph, Missouri, is a one story structure originally built entirely of wood in 1858, and in 1888, rebuilt incorporating brick exterior walls into the already existing fabric.
    The exterior walls (north, east and west) are constructed of coursed brick, two bricks thick; the south (rear) wall consists of 2 x 4 inch rough sawn wood framing with studding approximately 16 inches on center. This wall rests on a brick foundation and is covered on the exterior with 1/4 inch asbestos board.
    The stables, currently owned by the St Joseph Museum, are located at 914 Penn Street
    The structure faces north, towards Patee Park in Saint Joseph, Missouri
    In 1858, Ben Holladay constructed the original pine clad building
    At the time, it was known as the Pike's Peak Stable
    It's purpose was to serve his transportation business to Colorado
    The original stable measured 60 x 120 feet
    The building's present dimensions are 58' 4" x 55' 3"
    The original stable housed approximately 200 horses
    Thirty years later, the St. Joseph Transfer Company remodeled the stables after they had been damaged by fire
    During remodeling, while the roof retained its original configuration and shingles, the walls were resided with brick
    In 1950, the Goetz Foundation restored 55 feet of the building by using original roof timbers and bricks
    Today, the building serves as the Pony Express Museum
    Numerous tenants have occupied the stables over the years
    On March 28, 1950 - the upper floors of the First Ward Tavern on St Joseph Avenue were removed. The bricks were used to remodel the Pony Express stables. Photo #14 shows the removal in progress

    SUMMARY OF BUILDING USE & OCCUPANTS:
    1858-1860 Ben Holladay Stables
    1860-1861 C. O. C. & PP Express (Pony Express)
    1861-1887 Stables of various owners
    1887-1901 St Joseph Transit Company
    1901-1903 Stables and also vacant at times
    1903-1912 Western Mattress & Excelsior Company
    1912-1933 Voltz Manufacturing & Lee Roofing Company
    1933-1950 Vacant
    1950-1960 Goetz Brewing owned it- restored the 55 foot front
    1960-City of St Joseph turned it into the Pony Express Museum

    Photo #1 - Artist sketch published in the 1860's
    Photo #2 - As it looked originally in 1860's
    Photo #3 - As it looked originally in 1860's
    Photo #4 - Restored and made into a museum
    Photo #5 - Restored and made into a museum
    Photo #6 - Restored and made into a museum
    Photo #7 - Pony Express Monument
    Photo #8 - Restored and made into a museum
    Photo #9 - Restored and made into a museum
    Photo #10 - Restored and made into a museum
    Photo #11 - Restored and made into a museum
    Photo #12 - 1930-1940 photo,Voltz Mfg on wall
    Photo #13 - Pony Express Stables
    Photo #14 - Removing of First Ward's bricks
    Photo #19 - June 1951 - 50 Maryville children and 20 adults tour the remodeled stables
    Photo #20 - 1915 Voltz Advertisement
    Photo #21 - 1860 Pony Express Postmark
    Photo #22 - 1861 Pony Express advertisement
    Photo #23 - Photograph of 4 early Pony Express riders
    Photo #24 - 1950 St Joseph Gazette photograph
    Photo #25 - 1950 St Joseph Gazette article about photo #24




    1 2

    Circa 1947
    PRYOR PLUMBING & HEATING
    1901 Messanie Street

    Located at 1901 Messanie Street
    Photo #1 - submitted by Rodney Keyes
    Photo #2 - 1947 City Directory advertisement






    Circa 1947
    PUMPHREY'S DRY CLEANING
    2201 Lafayette Street

    The structure is gone, Chesser's Service Station later occupied the address




    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12

    Circa 1926
    QUAKER OATS
    LIFELINE FOODS
    2811 South 11th

    Every day the smell of the oats and puffed wheat was present in the area

    The Quaker Oats cereals manufacturing plant opened in 1926

    The plant produced hot and cold cereals, as well as pancake mixes

    For 75 years, Quaker Oats was one of the largest employers in St Joseph

    The longtime cereals manufacturing facility closed for good in May of 2001

    Quaker Oats pulled out of St Joseph in 2001, putting over 600 employees out of work
    Lifeline Foods now occupies the huge facility

    LifeLine Foods is a leading innovative company producing products for both domestic and international markets

    The items produced originate from two primary business enterprises; corn-based food ingredients and ethanol

    The key advantage to LifeLine's business model is the unique ability to extract maximum value from the corn kernel and capitalize on both the food and ethanol production







    GRAIN ELEVATOR
    Atchison Street, between 9th & 10th

    I used to buy pigeon food at this Grain Elevator, I don't remember the name
    It was located Atchison Street and east of the railroad tracks
    Photo submitted by Roger Seward







    Circa 1915
    I. F. RAMSEY UNDERTAKERS
    Corner of 9th & Olive Street

    Photo - 1915 City Directory advertisement




    1 2


    Circa 1953
    RAUTH CONSTRUCTION COMPANY
    3403 Doniphan Street
    Circa 2018
    RAUTH CONSTRUCTION COMPANY
    26th & Patee Street

    John Rauth proprietor







    RAY & LARRY'S AMBULANCE SERVICE
    7th & Angelique

    This was a short-lived private ambulance company

    However, Ray and Larry's Ambulance Service is well remembered by many people

    Originally owned by Raymond Brady, he joined forces with one of his rivals, a man named Larry

    I believe they were located somewhere around 6th or 7th & Angelique or Messanie






    Circa 1951
    ROLAND TIRE SERVICE
    2611 South 6th Street

    Photo - 1951 Roland Tire Service News Press advertisement







    Circa 1955
    RUDDY'S TV & APPLIANCE SERVICE
    1208 South 25th Street

    Photo - 1955 Ruddy's News Press advertisement






    SOUTH US 169 HIGHWAY
    South of Redstone Lumber

    This section of US 169 highway was removed
    The overpass was removed when the Belt Highway was extended
    The road now dead ends where the overpass once began




    1 2 3

    REDSTONE LUMBER COMPANY
    3605 South 169 Highway

    Redstone Lumber was located on the east side of old South 169, just north of a small bridge that passed over some railroad tracks
    The State of MO extended South Belt Highway and created a new South US 169 section that also connects with US Highway 371 and I-29
    The old US 169 section was closed off at the old bridge and the bridge was removed
    The new addition is a great asset to travelers

    Photo #1 - Paul Bunyon statue that once marked their store front in 1964
    Photo #2 - South Belt Highway once dead ended here. Old Highway 169 is shown at the bottom right of the photo, Redstone Lumber was further down the highway
    Photo #3 - 1970 newspaper advertisement




    1 2

    Circa 1925
    RAWLINGS ICE COMPANY
    16th & Mitchell Avenue




    1 2

    R. L. McDONALD SHIRT FACTORY
    1120 Penn






    Circa 1902
    GEORGE O. RICHARDSON MACHINERY CO.
    R. F. Maxwell, President
    W. M. Beller, Sec & Treasurer
    310-314 South 4th Street
    Circa 1905
    GEORGE O. RICHARDSON MACHINERY CO.
    R. F. Maxwell, President
    W. M. Beller, Sec & Treasurer
    501 Olive Street
    Circa 1908
    GEORGE O. RICHARDSON MACHINERY CO.
    R. F. Maxwell, President
    W. M. Beller, Sec & Treasurer
    501 Olive Street
    Circa 1910
    GEORGE O. RICHARDSON MACHINERY CO.
    W. M. Beller, President
    511 Olive Street
    Circa 1915
    GEORGE O. RICHARDSON MACHINERY CO.
    511 Olive Street
    Circa 1918
    GEORGE O. RICHARDSON MACHINERY CO.
    511 Olive Street
    Circa 1923
    GEORGE O. RICHARDSON MACHINERY CO.
    511 Olive Street




    1 2

    Circa 1950
    US NAVEL RESERVE TRAINING CENTER
    803 South 13th Street
    RUTH HOUSTON LEARNING CENTER
    803 South 13th Street

    Photo #1 - 1950 St Joseph News Press Photograph






    Circa 1971
    BRENTWOOD COMPANY
    22nd & Mitchell

    This was also a Beauty University and a Safeway Store
    My wife and I bought our 1st waterbed from Bill Gilchrist
    Photo - 1981 newspaper advertisement




    1 2 3 4

    SAFEWAY GROCERY STORE
    1307 S. 22nd
    GILCREST WATER BEDS
    1307 S. 22nd
    Circa 1971
    BRENTWOOD COMPANY
    1307 S. 22nd
    PERFECTIONS BEAUTY SHOP
    1307 S. 22nd
    BEAUTY SUPPLY & SCHOOL
    1307 S. 22nd
    MIDTOWN PAWN SHOP
    1307 S. 22nd

    This was also a Beauty University and a Safeway Store
    My wife and I bought our 1st waterbed from Bill Gilchrist
    Photo #1 - 1956 policeman is directing traffic at 22nd & Mitchell Avenue
    Photo #3 - 1981 newspaper advertisement






    Circa 1921
    ST JOSEPH WELDING COMPANY
    811 Olive Street

    Photo - 1921 St Joseph News Press advertisement






    ST JOE COAL COMPANY
    16th & Penn

    They sold coal for home furnaces and ice blocks for ice boxes before refrigeration






    ST JOE HARLEY-DAVIDSON
    402 South 9th Street

    This was the home of St Joe Harley-Davidson for many years
    This store closed when the McCreary's build a brand new store on South 169 very close to I-29




    1 2

    Circa 1921
    ST JOSEPH STRUCTUAL STEEL COMPANY
    8th & Atchison Street
    Circa 1930
    ST JOSEPH STRUCTUAL STEEL COMPANY
    8th & Atchison Street

    Photo #1 - 1921 City Directory advertisement
    Photo #2 - 1930 City Directory advertisement






    SAVERINO SAFE, KEY & LOCK COMPANY
    1001 South 10th Street





    Saverino Lock &  Key1 Saverino Lock &  Key2

    SAVERINO SAFE, KEY & LOCK COMPANY
    2402 Messanie

    Saverino is the oldest locksmith company in St Joseph
    The Saverino boys are still in business in 2015
    Saverino's Lock & Key is owned and operated by the Saverino brothers
    One the best locksmiths in town
    Got a key that you can't get duplicated? The Saverino boys can duplicate it
    Bicycles are also sold & repaired here also




    SCANLAN'S HARDWARE
    238 Illinois





    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12

    Circa 1907
    SCHREIBER MILLING & GRAIN COMPANY
    1300 South 8th Street
    (8th & Mitchell)
    Demolished in 2014 after sitting empty many years
    William M. Schreiber was born November 24, 1919 in St. Joseph, Missouri to Hazel and Allen B. Schreiber.
    William M. Schreiber passed away on February 27, 2017
    William and his brother Allen owned and operated Schreiber Mills Inc. which was founded by their father in 1907.
    In 2014, the razing of the Schreiber Mills facility had commenced
    The 2014 photos (#3-5) were taken by David Osgood
    We drove by it on January 21, 2015 and some of it is still standing
    Sure is taking a long time to raise this structure
    On Aug 24, 2015, the remains was destroyed by fire
    Photos #6-8 were taken in 2015
    Photo #9 - 1922 St Joseph News Press advertisement




    1 2 3 4

    Circa 1870
    SEAMAN & SCHUSKE METAL WORKS
    1604 Frederick Avenue
    1215 South 4th Street

    "Oldest Sheet Metal Shop West of the Mississippi"

    Charles H. Seaman was a dealer in tinware and groceries

    Charles H. Seaman was born in 1830 in England, where he learned to work with tin

    After living for fifteen years in New York, he came west to St. Joseph in 1870 and opened a tin shop in the 1600 block of Frederick Avenue

    Like many other merchants, he conducted his business at several locations on Frederick Avenue

    Charles H. Seaman and his son built a highly successful business

    The son, a partner in the firm of Seaman and Schuske, constructed a two-story brick building with an elaborate cast metal storefront in 1899
    (probably a product of the firm)

    This building survives in nearly pristine condition at 1604 Frederick Avenue, currently occupied by Ragdon Corporation

    SHEET METAL SPECIALTIES:
    Custom industrial, Architectural, HVAC, Laser Cutting & Plasma Cutting, Custom HVAC Fabrication

    ROOFING SPECIALTIES:
    Flat roofs, Torchdown, Heatwelded, Spray-on, Slate, Clay Tile




    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

    SEARS & ROEBUCK
    5th & Felix
    Circa 1955
    SEARS & ROEBUCK
    22nd & Messanie Street

    Sears was orginally downtown at 5th & Felix
    Sears officially opened at 22nd & Messanie street on August 16, 1956
    In later years, Sears moved to East Hills Shopping Center

    Photo #1 - The Sears escalators
    Photo #2 - An old Sears business card
    Photo #3 - Grand Opening advertisement Aug 15, 1956
    Photo #4 - 1956 Newspress photo of the escalators
    Photo #5 - Grand Opening advertisement Aug 15, 1956
    Photo #6 - Garage entrances visible
    Photo #7 - Advertisement of 5th & Felix Sears store opening
    Photo #8 - Nov, 5, 1955 St Joseph News Press photo Sears construction







    SECTORS DISTRIBUTING
    4629 Easton Road

    Coors Beer becomes available in St Joseph in 1978




    heckel1 heckel2

    SEEBURG MUFFLER
    2345 Mitchell Avenue

    In the late 1970's, Steve Hadorn opened Seeburg Muffler shop at this location
    The building was previously a Texaco Home Oil service station
    Photo #1 submitted by Rodney Keyes






    SEITZ-CAMPBELL FEED & FUEL COMPANY
    19th & Lafayette Street

    Photo - 1930 St Joseph Newspress Advertisement






    7-ELEVEN CONVENIENCE STORE
    A & B PAWN
    26th & Messanie Street

    7-Eleven built this building in the late 1970's
    A year later, they moved to 22nd & Messanie because the kids were stealing them blind
    I delivered Frito Lay products to both stores and I saw kids stealing items at both stores
    Both stores were highly understaffed and the kids took advantage of it
    In later years, this building became A & B Pawn Shop
    Photo submitted by Terry McGinnis




    Circa 1920
    SEITZ-CAMPBELL FEED, FUEL & COAL
    9th & Patee







    SHADY LANE GREENHOUSE
    2 ½ Miles East on south 169 Highway







    SHANIN PHARMACY
    PAPPY'S GRILLE
    2501 Messanie Street

    Originally owned & operated by Al Shanin
    Back in the 1960's, lots of kids, mostly high school students, would come in only to play the pinball machine after school. If they didn't buy something, they would be usually escorted out of the drug store

    It had a full service soda fountain and a couple of tables in the eating area

    After Al's death, the pharmacist Thad Hall purchased the business and ran it for many years

    The building was sold & remodeled as Pappy's Grille

    It is still Pappy's Grille in 2015




    Shanty Town

    SHANTY TOWN
    11th & Atchison

    Shanty Town, used to be located across street from Quaker Oats back in the 1930's during the Depression




    Spark Of Beauty

    CIrca 1960
    STYLE MART BEAUTY SALON
    1312 South 27th Street
    SPARK OF BEAUTY & BARBER SHOP
    1312 South 27th Street

    Located at 1312 South 27th Street, just south of Jerre-Ann's

    I used to get my haircut here in the early '60s
    I can't remember what it was called back then
    Photo was submitted by Rodney Keyes




    Staffords

    STAFFORD's GENERAL MERCHANDISE
    2314 South 11th St

    This store was located at 2314 South 11th St
    It was owned & operated by Byron Stafford
    Photo was taken in 1957
    Photo was submitted by Rick Stafford






    STANDARD OIL BUILDING
    4th & Monterey





    STAR BEAUTY SHOP
    1101 Olive Street





    1 2 3

    Circa 1901
    STAR BREWING COMPANY
    Circa 1907
    PETER J. SCHENK BREWERY
    10th & Jackson Street

    Two breweries occupied the building at 10th & Jackson
    Star Brewing Co. 1901-1907
    Peter J. Schenk Brewery 1907-1919
    The fate of the brewery buildings is unknown




    1 2

    Circa 1980
    STETSON FACTORY OUTLET
    3601 Leonard Road
    Circa 1987
    STETSON FACTORY OUTLET
    4811 Easton Road

    Photo #1 - 1980 St Joseph News Press advertisement
    Photo #2 - 1987 St Joseph News Press advertisement






    Circa 1981
    STEVENS HAT MANUFACTURING
    4500 Stetson Trail





    1 2 3 4 5

    STONIES DRY CLEANING SERVICE
    JOHNSTON AIR & FURNACE
    22nd & Messanie Street

    This was once Stonies Cleaners, a very popular dry cleaners company
    It was later occupied by Johnston Furnace/Air Conditioning Company
    Reggie Johnston ran the furnace company, he graduated from Central High in 1960 or 1961
    Reggie passed away in 2012






    Circa 1901
    STERLING PICKLING WORKS
    8th & Seneca

    The Sterling Pickling Works stood at 8th & Seneca
    It was operated from 1901 to 1953 by M. J. & Charley Heerlein
    Photo - a postcard in the book St Joseph Missouri A Postcard History






    Circa 1940
    STOP AND SWOP
    8th & Monterey

    Photo - 1940 St Joseph News Press advertisement




    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

    Circa 1887
    STUEBNER CLEANING COMPANY

    1103 South 18th Street
    Circa 1887
    STUEBNER MATTRESS
    1101 South 18th
    Circa 1887
    STUEBNER'S CARPET CLEANING
    1103 South 18th Street
    Circa 1918
    STUEBNER CLEANING & MERCHANDISE COMPANY
    1103 South 18th Street

    August (Gus) Stuebner (1869-1971)
    In 1887, Mr Stuenber established a steam cleaning business specializing in carpet & rug cleaning

    They advertised feather and mattress renovation
    Mr Stuebner sold the business in 1946

    Workers would lay out carpets on the floor and or hang them vertically, large or small, and then clean them

    A friend of mine used to work here cleaning the carpets in the late 1960's

    He showed me how they cleaned the rugs

    Back in the old days, many people did not have wall to wall carpeting, most people just had removable rugs

    People would have their mattresses, featherbeds and feather pillows rebuilt & restuffed

    I imagine in today's world, people prefer to buy new rather than repairing the old ones

    The buildings are still standing and are for sale

    Photo #1 - Old advertisement for Stubner's Mattress & Rug Cleaning
    Photo #2 - Stubner Mattress
    Photo #3 - Stubner Carpet Cleaning & sales
    Photo #4 - Stubner Carpet Cleaning & sales
    Photo #5 - Stubner Carpet Cleaning & sales
    Photo #6 - Stubner Carpet Cleaning & sales
    Photo #8 - 1940 St Joseph News Press advertisement
    Photo #9 - 1912 St Joseph News Press advertisement
    Photo #10 - 1918 St Joseph Gazette advertisement






    SUN MANUFACTURING CO
    12th & Penn

    Once a manufacturer of shirts






    1932
    AYR LAWN MANSION
    2 Blocks west of South 11th Street




    1 2 3

    SUNNY SLOPE NURSING HOME
    3325 South 11th Street




    1 2

    Circa 1959
    TRI-COUNTY HOME IMPROVEMENT CO.
    1425 Mitchell Avenue

    Photo #1 - 1959 St Joseph News Press advertisement
    Photo #2 - 1958 City Directory advertisement






    Circa 1980
    WALL NUTZ
    St Joseph Frame Station
    2615 Lafayette

    Photo - 1980 St Joseph News Press advertisement




    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12

    Circa 1879
    WYETH-TOOTLE MANSION
    Circa 1947
    ST JOSEPH MUSEUM
    1100 Charles Street

    William and Eliza Wyeth requested legendary architect E.J. Eckel to design the 1879 Wyeth-Tootle Mansion to resemble the castles they had seen on the Rhine River as they were traveling in Germany
    Over one million bricks were used in the construction and the front portion of the building was covered with native sandstone
    The original St Joseph Museum was located at 19th & Felix
    It was in the McAlister/A. J. August mansion and had outgrown the mansion
    This mansion was purchased from the Tootle family in 1947 by William Goetz and the Goetz Brewery for $35,000 and was gifted to the St. Joseph Museum
    Mr. Goetz also purchased and gifted the Harry L. George Native American collection, which is the most significant part of the Museum's collections
    The Museum board raised $35,000 to renovate the structure into a museum
    In 1948, voters approved a tax levy for supporting a municipal museum
    In 1953, the St. Joseph Museum deeded the mansion to the City of St Joseph
    Besides having run out of space for more exhibits, the mansion also lacked climate control for proper storage of the many delicate Native American artifacts
    An opportunity was offered to take over the Glore Psychiatric Museum
    The Glore Museum had been operated by the State Hospital on Frederick Avenue
    This move provided a ten-fold increase in space and a better climate control
    In 2004, most of the exhibits were relocated to the Glore Museum site
    This move allowed for the restoration of the mansion's interior
    The dining room is now furnished with the gift of the Wyeth table service
    Some years ago, one of the bedrooms was restored on the second floor
    Other second floor rooms have been renovated for temporary exhibits
    Exhibits such as "Enterprising St. Joseph" featuring products developed by local companies
    Also a recreation of the architect Edmund J. Eckel's office has been completed
    The City of St. Joseph has been restoring the exterior of the mansion in phases, beginning with the front elevation
    The Wyeth-Tootle Mansion is owned by the City of St. Joseph and operated as a Museum under contract with the St. Joseph Museums, Inc.

    The above information was provided by David W. Lewis Jr.
    (Museum Board President)


    Photo #1 - Old color photo
    Photo #2 - 2008 Color photo
    Photo #3 - Interior photo
    Photo #4 - 1950's photo
    Photo #5 - Old photo
    Photo #6 - Current Photo
    Photo #7 - Very old photo
    Photo #8 - Old postcard
    Photo #9 - Color photo
    Photo #10 - St Joseph Museum
    Photo #11 - Museum Hill Association
    Photo #12 - Museum Hill Association




    1 2

    WYETH-TOOTLE CARRIAGE HOUSE
    1100 Charles Street

    The Wyeth-Tootle Mansion had one of the largest carriage houses in St Joseph
    It is currently being used as storage for the St Joseph Museums

    Photo #1 - Museum Hill Association Photo
    Photo #2 - Museum Hill Association building description




    1 2 3 4 5

    UNION DEPOT HOTEL
    1304-1308 South 6th

    A block of businesses that are no longer in business
    Union Depot Hotel with a cafe, Lou J Meyers saloon, a barber shop and a pharmacy
    A horse can be seen in front of the unknown building at the left end
    In the mid 1920's the pharmacy was Jones & Pilgram's Pharmacy






    Circa 1987
    VERY CUSTOM HAIR DESIGN
    3510 Messanie Street

    Photo - 1987 St Joseph News Press advertisement




    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36

    Circa 1890-1891
    ST JOSEPH UNION DEPOT COMPANY
    aka UNION STATION
    1221 South 6th

    The first depot opened 1890-1891 (See top picture in photo #5)

    On February 10, 1895, the original depot burned down

    In 1896, a new depot was built to replace the original - see photo #1

    November 1934, the "Silver Streak Zephyr" made it's maiden run
    K.C., St.Joseph, Omaha & Lincoln

    Railroad lines serviced here: Santa Fe - Burlington Route - Chicago Great Western
    Rock Island - Missouri Pacific - Union Pacific

    During the late 1950's and early 1960's, the Burlington Route, Chicago Great Western and Rock Island moved out of the Union Depot into their own stations

    Soon after, all passenger trains were discontinued thus the depot was not needed

    This once beautiful structure was located on South 6th Street, just north of Mitchell

    It had marble floors and gold plated bathroom fixtures

    At one time, 50 to 90 passenger trains came through this station daily

    The depot sat empty for many years
    Burlington razed the building in 1960 without notifying anyone
    See photo #34

    The Union Depot contained the following companies:
    St Joseph Depot Company, Union Station Cafe, Chicago Burlington & Quincy Railroad station, Chicago Rock Island & Pacific Railroad station, Union Pacific Railroad passenger station, Atchison Topeka & Santa Fe Railroad passenger station, Chicago Great Western Railroad passenger station, St Joseph Union Depot baggage room, Yellow Cab Company and Western Union Telegraph Company


    Photo #1 - 1886 St Joseph Union Depot
    Photo #2 - 1934 "Silver Streak Zephyr" maiden run
    Photo #3 - Engineer L.P. Miller and his grandchild
    Photo #4 - Engineer L.P. Miller and his grandchild
    Photo #5 - St Joseph's 2 Union Depots
    Photo #6 - CB & Q Doodlebug at Union Station
    Photo #7 - 1959 photo of depot inside
    Photo #8 - Trolley at depot
    Photo #9 - Union Station Restaurant
    Photo #10 - Union Station Cafe
    Photo #11 - Hannibal & St Joseph RR mail car
    Photo #12 - 1862 Engine #35 & mail car
    Photo #13 - Zephyr Vista Dome advertisement
    Photo #14 - Rear view of Union Depot
    Photo #15 - City bus unloading at the Union Depot
    Photo #16 - CB & Q Doodlebug at Union Station
    Photo #17 - CB & Q 0-6-0 switcher in 1938
    Photo #18 - CB & Q 2-6-2 locomotive at Depot
    Photo #19 - 1955 Burlington Zephyr at Depot
    Photo #20 - St Joseph Union Depot about 1920
    Photo #21 - Depot scene in the 1950's
    Photo #22 - Hannibal & St Joseph RR mail car
    Photo #23 - The original Union Depot
    Photo #24 - View looking east from yards
    Photo #25 - Union Depot Cafe lunch counter
    Photo #26 - President Taft at Union Depot
    Photo #27 - Circa 1911 Union Depot backside
    Photo #28 - Francis Kneib & CB&Q EMD E7
    Photo #29 - 1941 Zephyr coming into Union Depot
    Photo #30 - Color Postcard
    Photo #31 - Short order Lunch Counter
    Photo #32 - Restaurant area
    Photo #33 - 1935 St Joseph News Press photograph
    Photo #34 - Jan 1,1960 News Press photograph of the depot remains
    Photos #2,3,4 were submitted by Ken West
    Photo #24 submitted by Rick Stafford
    Photo #28 submitted by David Kneib






    US POST OFFICE1 2

    Circa 1929
    US POST OFFICE
    2637 Lafayette Street
    Circa 1951
    US POST OFFICE
    2637 Lafayette Street

    Photo #1 - submitted by Rodney Keyes
    Photo #2 - 1929 St Joseph News-Press article about the new post office




    1 2

    SEROCKI'S MARKET
    SWOPE'S MARKET
    UNITED STATES POST OFFICE PARKING LOT
    2401 Olive Street

    Louis Swope was the last owner of this store
    He made his own polish sausage and it was really really good
    Louis told me he made his sausage using the best ingredients he could locate
    He purchased most of his meats from Nodaway Packing company
    Unfortunately, Mr Swope died unexpectedly and the store was razed
    Louis Swope, his store and his polish sausage is missed by many people
    The lot became a parking lot for the new US Post Office next door
    Photo #1 - 1960 St Joseph News-Press newspaper photo
    Photo #2 - March 1960 St Joseph News Press photo
    Photo #1 - submitted by Carol Stephens




    USHLER'S HARDWARE
    1810 Olive Street




    Vavra Bakery1 Vavra Bakery2

    VAVRA'S BAKERY
    1202 Sycamore Street

    Located at 1202 Sycamore Street
    Photo was submitted by Rodney Keyes




    Virgil's Muny Inn

    VIRGIL'S MUNY INN
    33rd & Mitchell

    Located on northwest corner of 33rd & Mitchell
    2008 Photo submitted by Terry McGinnis




    1 2 3 4 5 6

    WALKER MANUFACTURING COMPANY
    18th & Penn

    This large company sat on the NW corner of 18th & Penn
    Walker's made dampers for furnaces
    The plant moved it's operations to Georgia and shut the plant down
    After the plant had closed, hazardous waste was stored here and caused quite a stir




    1 2 3 4

    WALPOLE'S DRUG STORES
    FARLEY PLUMBING
    1805 Olive

    in 1937, Walpole Drug Stores had 4 drug stores in St Joseph
    The building is currently occupied by Farley Plumbing




    1 2

    WALPOLE'S DRUG STORES
    2407 Messanie

    1937 newspaper advertisements
    Walpole had 4 stores in St Joseph in 1937






    Circa 1950
    WEAVER OVERHEAD DOOR COMPANY
    2521 Lafayette Street




    1 2 3 4 5

    Circa 1951
    WEISENBORN DAIRY
    3601 Mitchell Avenue
    Circa 1957
    WEISENBORN DAIRY
    3601 Mitchell Avenue
    Paul G. Weisenborn was the President of the dairy
    Check out how the old milk cartons opened




    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33

    Circa 1906
    WESTERN TABLET & STATIONERY CO
    4th & Mary
    Circa 1964
    WESTAB
    1300 South 12th Street
    Circa 1966
    MEADE
    1300 South 12th Street

    Founded in St. Joseph in 1906 by Henry Dayton and William Albrecht, the Western Tablet & Stationery Company was to become a national giant in the consumer paper industry by the mid-1920s, a position it would retain well into the 1960s.
    Western Tablet set up its company operations in 1906 in a building at South 4th and Mary Street, but soon outgrew this small structure
    In 1910, it moved to a new building located in the block bounded by South 13th Street, Mitchell Avenue, South 12th Street, and Renick Avenue. The growth of the company quickly outpaced additions made in 1912 and 1916, thus facilitating the need in 1920 for an expansion to another site.
    A block of land was acquired across South 12th Street from Building #1, and construction begun in 1920 on the six story, 157,880 square foot "Building #2". When completed, Building #2 immediately became the center for all of the company's office administration and most of its product manufacturing, finishing and packaging operations.
    Western Tablet's astonishing growth though the 1920s required still more space for the storage and distribution of its products, resulting in the acquisition of "Building #3" which was built in 1920" for the Missouri Valley Sack Company, Western Tablet acquired it in 1924; and the construction of "Building #4" was built in 1925 and demolished in 1965
    The company fueled it's growth through its "stock in trade" by manufacturing of inexpensive packaged stationery goods and the more ubiquitous ruled writing tablet. Without question, the most familiar products produced by Western Tablet were its "Spiral", "Big Chief" and "Hytone" composition books, an item arguably used by nearly every school student and aspiring author in America from the 1920s through the 1960s.
    The Hytone and Spiral composition tablets are trademarked items still widely used in America, particularly among American grade school and college students; these products are manufactured today by the Meade Company, who purchased Western Tablet & Stationery in 1966
    The venerable old Western Tablet & Stationery Company was reorganized in 1964 and given the name "WESTAB" to impart a more "modern" image. It is not known if this move was done to attract the public's attention or to attract an outside buyer for the firm, but whatever the case, WESTAB was purchased by the Mead Products Corporation in 1966
    For another thirty years, more or less, the St. Joseph Division continued to be successful and profitable part of the Mead Corporation. By the mid-1990s, though, periodic reorganizations and "downsizing" of the St. Joseph facility were made in attempts to increase profitability and efficiency. The efforts apparently did not meet with the Mead Corporation's expectations; the St. Joseph facility was closed in 2004, and its buildings put up for sale.
    A rehabilitation project is now underway that will convert the building to apartments and retail space, thus providing it with the opportunity to be preserved as an important part of St. Joseph's heritage in a new role for its community.
    Recently discovered, a 1906 Western Tablet letter with it's address at 4th & Mary (See photo #17)
    The Big Chief writing tablet was originated by William Albrecht (1879-1945). The Albrecht family had a stationery business in Quincy, Illinois. In 1906, Mr Albrecht opened the Western Tablet Company in St Joseph, Missouri
    Western Tablet Company became the world's largest paper tablet producer. In the 1920's, Western Tablet moved its headquarters to Dayton,Ohio. Most of the manufacturing remained in St. Joseph
    Western Tablet trademarked the Big Chief in 1947. The Big Chief line peaked it's sales in the 1960's. In the 1960s, another Westab invention, the spiral notebook, claimed a big market share. In later years, Mead sold the Big Chief line to Springfield Tablet of Springfield, Missouri
    In January 2001, Everett Pad and Paper of Everett, Washington purchased the Big Chief inventory from Springfield
    Everett Paper closed down their plant and the Big Chief tablet production was halted
    Until 2004, Westab was one of St Joseph's major employers
    The plant in St. Joseph where the tablets were produced was permanently closed in 2004
    In 2012, American Trademark Publishing of Brookshire, Texas resumed the production of the Big Chief Writing Tablet
    Westab always displayed a huge Santa Claus, sleigh and raindeer on it's rooftop during the Christmas season
    The Santa Claus rig was purchased by the city and is currently used in Krug Park during the Christmas season
    The Westab building has now been converted into apartments
    The following was written by Marshall White, St Joseph News-Press:
    "Operation Santa Claus" began 50 years ago when Harold Smith, Western Tablet plant engineer, drew plans for Santa, a sleigh and eight tiny reindeer. Welders, machinists, electricians and painters assisted in the construction. The result was a 100-plus-foot creation with Rudolph and the reindeer each being about 8 feet long and 6 feet tall. Santa and his team were hoisted up on towers that carried the childhood dream into reality and a landmark for city children until four years ago, when Meade, the company that bought Western Tablet, closed its doors
    Thanks to the East Hills Optimist Club and the St. Joseph Parks Department, Rudolph still leads Santa and the other reindeer each year at the Holiday Park in Krug Park."

    Photo #1 - Westab bridge crossing over 11th Street between 2 buildings
    Photo #2 - Big Chief painting on an interior wall
    Photo #3 - 1948 drawing of the Western Tablet Company complex
    Photo #4 - 1956 aerial view
    Photo #5 - 2004 Interior view of the vacant building
    Photo #6 - One view from 11th & Mitchell
    Photo #7 - The Santa Claus rig once on top of Westab
    Photo #8 - 1978 night aerial view of Mead plant
    Photo #9 - Western Tablet as seen from Mitchell Avenue
    Photo #10 - 1927 Western Tablet advertisement
    Photo #11 - Various Big Chief tablet covers over the years
    Photo #12 - A sample of the paper used in a Big Chief writing tablet
    Photo #13 - This appears to be an old card with a photo of some Westab employees
    Photo #14 - 1940's Aerial View with Westab complex in the center of the photo
    Photo #15 - 1967 News-Press advertisement
    Photo #16 - Westab's Santa & reindeer now happily lives in Krug Park bowl
    Photo #17 - 1906 letter with Westab's address of 4th & Mary Street




    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

    WHITAKER CABLE
    1002 South 9th
    3501 Leonard Road

    Manufacturer of automobile items that were made of wire

    Opened the first St Joseph plant on Frederick Avenue in 1940

    Moved to 1002 South 9th Street in 1947

    Built a new plant at 3501 Leonard Road

    Whitaker Cable closed in the winter of 1981, 200 jobs were lost

    Photo #1 - Employees working - unknown circa
    Photo #2 - Whitaker Cable advertisement
    Photo #3 - Advertisement for job opening
    Photo #4 - Box for automotive battery cable made by Whitaker Cable
    Photo #5 - Whitaker Cable product catalog
    Photo #6 - A very old advertisement before the St Joseph plant opened
    Photo #7 - 1963 inside view of the Leonard Road plant
    Photo #8 - Aerial view of the Leonard Road Plant
    Photo #9 - Leonard Road Plant






    WING PRINTING COMPANY
    413 South 4th

    Paul Wing proprietor






    WOODBURY FRUIT MARKET
    9th & Mitchell

    This was once a great fruit market
    Used to have a huge cattle tub filled with water and Black Diamond watermellons out front
    They used to let you plug the mellons and the cost was 3 cents per pound the last time I purchased one back in the 1960's
    Photo submitted by Rodney Keyes




    1 2 3

    Circa 1932
    G N G Confectionary
    1107 Mitchell Avenue
    Circa 1935
    G N G Confectionary
    1107 Mitchell Avenue
    Circa 1939
    Star Lunch
    1107 Mitchell Avenue
    Circa 1953
    Star Lunch
    1107 Mitchell Avenue
    Circa 1957
    Wonder Bread Thrift Store
    1107 Mitchell





    Circa 1951
    WYATT PARK BARBER SHOP
    2611 Lafayette Street





    Circa 1951
    WYATT PARK BEAUTY SHOP
    2639 Lafayette Street





    WYATT PARK CHRISTIAN CHURCH

    WYATT PARK CHRISTIAN CHURCH
    28th & MItchell Avenue

    Located at 28th & Mitchell Avenue
    2008 Photo submitted by Terry McGinnis




    1 2

    Circa 1918
    VACANT
    2021 South 11th Street
    Circa 1924
    WILLIAM SCUDDER CONFECTIONARY
    2021 South 11th Street
    Circa 1930
    JOSEPH GLOGGNER GROCERY
    2021 South 11th Street
    Circa 1937
    BEATY'S SERVICE & GROCERY
    2021 South 11th Street
    Circa 1940
    BEATY GROCERY STORE #19
    2021 South 11th Street
    Circa 1942
    VACANT
    2021 South 11th Street
    Circa 1946
    SCHNEIDER FURNACE & APPLIANCE
    2021 South 11th Street
    Circa 1950
    SCHNEIDER FURNACE & APPLIANCE
    2021 South 11th Street
    Circa 1958
    STROPE FURNACE & HARDWARE
    2021 South 11th Street
    Circa 1970
    ZACK CARTER FURNITURE
    2021 South 11th Street

    Photo #1 - 1950 St Joseph News Press advertisement
    Photo #2 - 1970 St Joseph News Press advertisement




    1 2 3

    Circa 1942
    SAFEWAY GROCERY #342
    2108 South 11th Street
    (11th & Pacific)
    Circa 1958
    SAFEWAY GROCERY #342
    2108 South 11th Street
    (11th & Pacific)
    HOWARD KING'S AF SUPER
    2108 South 11th Street
    (11th & Pacific)

    This was once a thriving Safeway located on the SW corner of 11th & Pacific
    Howard "Ace" King opened a grocery store here in the late 1970's & 80's
    It was called King's AF Super
    Ace passed away November 12, 2014

    Photo #1: Older photo of Safeway grocery store
    Photo #2: Recent 2010 photo of the same building
    Photo #3 - 1952 newspaper advertisement, remodeling of Safeway store at 11th & Pacific






    Circa 1987
    VEDA'S FLOWERS
    1116 Elizabeth Street

    Photo - 1987 St Joseph News Press advertisement




    PLEASE SIGN MY GUESTBOOK



    Feel free to email me with any photo donations, comments or questions
    Rick Drozd rickdrozd@gmail.com


    Return To Main Menu